French Language Health Services

The Local Health System Integration Act, 2006

The purpose of the legislation is to provide an integrated health system to improve the health of Ontarians through better access to health services, coordinated health care and effective and efficient management of the health system at the local level by local health integration networks (LHINs).

Excerpts from the Local Health System Integration Act (LHSIA) related to French language health services are below:

  • The health system should be guided by a commitment to equity and respect for diversity in communities in serving the people of Ontario and respect the requirements of the French Language Services Act in serving Ontario’s French-speaking community. (LHSIA, Preamble (f))
  • The Minister of Health and Long-Term Care shall establish a French language health services advisory council to advise the Minister about health and service delivery issues related to Francophone communities and priorities and strategies for the provincial strategic plan related to those communities. (LHSIA, s. 14 (2))
  • A local health integration network shall engage the community of diverse persons and entities involved with the local health system about that system on an ongoing basis, including about the integrated health service plan and while setting priorities. (LHSIA 4, s. 16 (1)).
  • In carrying out community engagement under subsection (1), the local health integration network shall engage the French language health planning entity for the geographic area of the network that is prescribed. (LHSIA, s. 16 (4)).

The LHINs are responsible for the following health care sectors: hospitals, long-term care homes, community support service providers, community health centres, psychiatric facilities, and mental health and addiction service providers.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Bureau des services de santé en français

La Loi de 2006 sur l’intégration du système de santé local

Cette loi vise à établir un système de santé intégré afin d’améliorer la santé des Ontariens et des Ontariennes grâce à un meilleur accès aux services de santé, à des soins de santé coordonnés et à une gestion efficiente et efficace du système de santé à l’échelon local par les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé (RLISS).

Voici des extraits de la Loi de 2006 sur l’intégration du système de santé localqui se rapportent aux services de santé en français :

  • […] Le système de santé devrait être guidé par un engagement à l’égard de l’équité et un respect de la diversité des collectivités lorsqu’il dessert la population de l’Ontario et [respecter] les exigences de la Loi sur les services en français lorsqu’il dessert les collectivités francophones. (Préambule, f))
  • Le ministre crée […] un conseil consultatif des services de santé en français pour le conseiller sur les questions relatives à la santé et à la prestation de services qui concernent les collectivités francophones et sur les priorités et stratégies à intégrer au plan stratégique provincial à l’égard de ces collectivités. (par. 14 (2)).
  • Les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé engagent de façon soutenue la collectivité des diverses personnes et entités qui oeuvrent au sein du système de santé local au sujet du système, notamment le plan de services de santé intégrés, et lors de l’établissement des priorités. (par. 16 (1))
  • Lorsqu’il engage la collectivité comme le prévoit le paragraphe (1), le réseau local d’intégration des services de santé engage […] l’entité de planification des services de santé en français de la zone géographique du réseau qui est prescrite. (par. 16 (4))

Les RLISS sont responsables des secteurs de soins de santé suivants : les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée, les services de soutien communautaire, les centres de santé communautaire, les établissements psychiatriques, et les services de toxicomanie et de santé mentale.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h