Hepatitis C

Hepatitis C is an infection caused by the hepatitis C virus, or HCV. In later stages it can seriously damage the liver by causing cirrhosis and liver cancer.

The hepatitis C virus is carried in the blood, and you can become infected with hepatitis C if you come into contact with the blood of an infected person. The highest risk of infection is from sharing used needles, syringes or other drug-using equipment.

You cannot be infected by hepatitis C through everyday contact such as holding hands, hugging, kissing or by sharing toilets, tableware, or kitchen utensils.

More than 110,000 people in Ontario are infected with the hepatitis C virus. Symptoms often do not appear for many years, and about 35,000 Ontarians do not realize they are infected.

Many people infected with the hepatitis C virus can be treated successfully with therapeutic drugs.

Symptoms

Most people do not experience any symptoms when they first become infected, and symptoms may not appear until 10 or 20 years later when the disease has progressed. Most people who have developed chronic hepatitis C will not have symptoms until their liver disease becomes serious.

Upon becoming infected, some people may feel ill for short periods, and in rare cases may become jaundiced (yellowing of the skin and eyes).

How hepatitis C is different from hepatitis A and hepatitis B

Hepatitis C is much more serious than hepatitis A and significantly more serious than hepatitis B.

Hepatitis A is spread from person to person if hands are not washed after going to the toilet, or through contaminated food or water. Hepatitis A does not lead to long-term infection or long-term liver damage. In rare cases the disease can cause death. There is a vaccine against hepatitis A.

Hepatitis B is spread through contact with contaminated blood or body fluids: from infected mother to baby, by sexual contact or by the sharing of contaminated equipment for injection-drug use. Some people infected with hepatitis B will develop long-term infection and are at increased risk of serious liver disease.

There is a vaccine against hepatitis B.

Hepatitis C is spread through contact with the blood of someone who is infected with the hepatitis C virus. The highest risk of infection is from sharing used needles, syringes or other drug-using equipment. Those who become infected have a very high risk of developing chronic hepatitis C, which can lead to serious liver damage. Some people with cirrhosis develop liver cancer or liver failure.

There is NO vaccine against hepatitis C.

Hepatitis C genotypes: A family of viruses

The hepatitis C virus is not just a single organism but a 'family' of related viruses, in the same way that the bear is a family of mammals. Each member 'virus' of the hepatitis C 'family' is called a 'genotype', and every genotype is different from the others (in the same way that a black bear is different from a polar bear).

There are 11 known genotypes of the hepatitis C virus, and each one can be further classified into a 'subtype', depending on where in the world it is usually found. The letter after the genotype number ('a' or 'b' for instance) indicates that genotype 1a and 1b are the most common in Canada.

How hepatitis C is transmitted: Risk Factors

Hepatitis C is spread through direct contact with the blood of an infected person. Currently, the greatest risk of becoming infected by the hepatitis C virus in Canada is through drug-using equipment, including equipment used for injecting, snorting and smoking drugs. If you have EVER shared drug-using equipment - even if it was a long time ago, and even if you only did it once or twice - you could have been exposed to hepatitis C.

However, there are other ways in which you could have been exposed to the virus:

  • If you had a blood transfusion or were treated with a blood product before 1992, you may have been exposed to hepatitis C. For example if you had an operation before 1992, you may have received blood infected with the hepatitis C virus. Currently, all blood and blood products are carefully screened for hepatitis C.

Less common ways in which hepatitis C can be transmitted:

  • From infected mother to baby, before or during birth
  • Sexual activity that includes contact with blood or the exchange of blood
  • Medical and dental treatment where non-sterile equipment is used
  • Tattooing, piercing or acupuncture with non-sterile equipment
  • Sharing razors, toothbrushes, tweezers, manicure or pedicure equipment such as nail clippers, which may be contaminated with infected blood
Disease progression and the liver

If you have been infected with the hepatitis C virus, you have a 75% chance of developing chronic hepatitis C. It may affect you in the following ways:

  • You may live your life without developing liver damage
  • You may develop mild to moderate liver damage
  • You have about one chance in five of developing severe liver damage (cirrhosis) over a period of 20 years or more
  • If your liver is damaged by cirrhosis, you can get liver cancer or experience liver failure requiring a transplant
Resources
For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Hépatite C

L’hépatite C est une infection causée par le virus de l’hépatite C ou VHC. À un stade avancé, le foie peut être gravement atteint puisque le virus cause la cirrhose et le cancer du foie.

Le virus de l’hépatite C se trouve dans le sang et vous pouvez l’attraper si vous entrez en contact avec le sang d’une personne infectée. Le plus grand risque d’infection est lié au partage d’aiguilles, de seringues et d’autres articles utilisés pour la consommation de drogues.

Les contacts ordinaires quotidiens, comme se tenir par la main, serrer quelqu’un dans ses bras, l'embrasser ou utiliser les mêmes toilettes, la même vaisselle ou les mêmes ustensiles de cuisine qu'une personne infectée.

En Ontario, plus de 110 000 personnes sont infectées par ce virus. Bien souvent, les symptômes se manifestent au bout de nombreuses années, et environ 35 000 Ontariens ne savent pas qu’ils sont infectés.

Il est possible d’administrer des médicaments et de guérir beaucoup de gens infectés par le virus de l’hépatite C.

Symptômes

La majorité des gens ne ressentent aucun symptôme au début de l’infection; les symptômes peuvent se manifester dix ou vingt ans plus tard quand la maladie a évolué. Ainsi, chez la plupart des personnes qui ont une hépatite C chronique, les symptômes commencent à apparaître quand la maladie du foie devient sérieuse.

Après avoir été infectées, certaines personnes peuvent être malades pendant de courtes périodes, et dans de rares cas, avoir la jaunisse (jaunissement de la peau et des yeux).

Différence entre l’hépatite C et les hépatites A et B

L’hépatite C est plus grave que l’hépatite A et beaucoup plus grave que l’hépatite B.

L’hépatite A se transmet par contact avec une personne qui ne s’est pas lavé les mains après avoir été à la toilette, ou par de la nourriture ou de l’eau contaminée. Elle n’entraîne pas d’infection ou de lésion hépatique à long terme. Elle est rarement mortelle.
Il existe un vaccin contre l’hépatite A.

L’hépatite B se propage par contact avec du sang ou des liquides corporels contaminés : de la mère au bébé, par contact sexuel ou le partage de matériel contaminé de consommation de drogues. Certaines personnes infectées par le virus de l’hépatite B développent une infection à long terme et ont un risque accru de maladie du foie sérieuse.
Il existe un vaccin contre l’hépatite B.

L’hépatite C se propage par contact avec le sang d’une personne infectée par le virus de l’hépatite C. Le plus grand risque d’infection est lié à l’utilisation commune d’aiguilles, de seringues ou d’autre matériel de consommation de drogues. Les personnes infectées ont un très grand risque de développer une hépatite C chronique, ce qui peut provoquer de sérieux dommages du foie. Certaines personnes atteintes de cirrhose développent un cancer du foie ou une insuffisance hépatique.
Il n’existe pas de vaccin contre l’hépatite C.

Génotypes de l’hépatite C : Une famille de virus

Le virus de l’hépatite C n’est pas simplement un organisme unique mais fait partie d’une « famille » de virus connexes, tout comme l’ours fait partie de la famille des mammifères. Chaque « virus » de la « famille » de l’hépatite C est appelé un « génotype », et chaque génotype est différent des autres (tout comme un ours noir est différent d’un ours blanc).

Il existe 11 génotypes connus du virus de l’hépatite C, et chacun peut être classé dans un « sous-type », selon la partie du monde où il se trouve. La lettre placée après le numéro d'un génotype (« a » ou « b », par exemple) indique que le génotype 1a et 1b est le plus répandu au Canada.

Moyens de transmission de l’hépatite C : Facteurs de risque

L’hépatite C se transmet par contact direct avec le sang d’une personne infectée, À l’heure actuelle, le plus grand risque d’infection par le virus de l’hépatite C au Canada est l’utilisation de matériel servant à injecter, inhaler et fumer des drogues. Si vous avez DÉJÀ partagé du matériel de consommation de drogues, même s’il y a longtemps et même si vous ne l’avez fait qu’une fois ou deux, vous pourriez avoir été exposé au virus de l’hépatite C.

Cependant, vous pourriez avoir été exposé au virus dans d’autres circonstances :

  • Si vous avez eu une transfusion sanguine ou avez été traité avec un produit sanguin avant 1992. Par exemple, si vous avez eu une opération avant 1992, vous avez peut-être reçu du sang infecté par le virus de l’hépatite C. À l’heure actuelle, tout le sang et tous les produits sanguins font l’objet d’un dépistage soigneux du virus de l’hépatite C.

Circonstances moins communes de transmission de l’hépatite C :

  • De la mère infectée au bébé avant ou pendant l’accouchement
  • Des activités sexuelles qui incluent un contact avec du sang ou l’échange de sang
  • Un traitement médical ou dentaire avec du matériel non stérile
  • Des tatouages, du perçage ou de l’acupuncture avec du matériel non stérile
  • Le partage de rasoirs, de brosses à dents, de pinces à épiler, de matériel de manucure ou de pédicure, comme des coupe-ongles, qui peuvent être contaminés par du sang infecté.
Évolution de la maladie et le foie

Si vous avez été infecté par le virus de l’hépatite C, le risque de développer une hépatite C chronique est de 75 %. Elle peut avoir les effets suivants :

  • Vous pouvez vivre sans jamais avoir de lésion hépatique
  • Vous pouvez avoir des lésions hépatiques légères à modérées
  • Vous avez une chance sur cinq d’avoir une lésion hépatique sévère (cirrhose) sur une période de 20 ans ou plus
  • Si une cirrhose a endommagé le foie, vous risquez d’avoir un cancer du foie ou une insuffisance hépatique qui exigera une transplantation.
Ressources
Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h