HIV and AIDS

Aboriginal Peoples of Ontario

Ontario data on HIV rates amongst Aboriginal communities is limited but indicates a growing problem. An analysis of AIDS cases reported to 2004 in Ontario found that while Aboriginals made up about 1.1% of all cases in Ontario, this proportion has increased over time (from 0.0% of cases in 1981-1984 to 3.2% of cases in 2000-2004). Similar increases in the proportion of HIV diagnoses represented by Aboriginals in Toronto and Ottawa suggest a growing problem.

The Public Health Agency of Canada's HIV/AIDS data for 2008 indicates that Aboriginal peoples in Canada are over-represented in Canadian HIV/AIDS statistics.  Although representing only 3.8% of the Canadian population, Aboriginal peoples comprised an estimated 12.5% of new HIV infections and 8.0% of prevalent HIV infections in Canada.  Overall, the rate of new HIV infections for Aboriginal peoples is estimated to be about 3.6 times higher than among non-Aboriginal people in Canada.

Ontario Aboriginal HIV/AIDS Strategy

The Ontario Aboriginal HIV/AIDS Strategy was created by a steering committee composed of government representatives, researchers, community representatives and people infected and affected by HIV/AIDS.

The goal of the strategy is to provide culturally respectful and sensitive programs and strategies to respond to the growing HIV/AIDS epidemic among Aboriginal Peoples in Ontario, through promotion, prevention, long-term care, treatment and support initiatives consistent with harm reduction principles.

The strategy is a provincially mandated AIDS service organization that provides outreach and support services, through regional outreach workers, to off-reserve Aboriginal Peoples who are living with or affected by HIV/AIDS.

For more information on the strategy, or to contact strategy outreach workers, send an email to : info@oahas.org

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

VIH et SIDA

Autochtones de l'Ontario

Quoique limitées, les données de l'Ontario sur les taux d'infection à VIH dans les communautés autochtones indiquent un problème croissant. Une analyse des cas de sida signalés en 2004 en Ontario révèle que même si les Autochtones représentent environ 1,1 p. 100 de tous les cas en Ontario, cette proportion s'est accrue avec le temps (passant de 0,0 p. 100 de cas en 1981-1984 à 3,2 p. 100 en 2000-2004). Des hausses semblables dans la proportion de diagnostics d'infection à VIH chez les Autochtones à Toronto et à Ottawa impliquent un problème grandissant.

Les données sur le VIH/sida de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada pour 2008 révèlent une surreprésentation des Autochtones au Canada dans les statistiques canadiennes sur le VIH/sida. Ainsi, bien qu'ils ne représentent que 3,8 p. 100 de la population canadienne, les Autochtones comptaient pour environ 12,5 p. 100 des nouveaux cas d'infection à VIH et 8,0 p. 100 des infections prévalentes au VIH au Canada. Globalement, on estime que le taux de nouveaux cas d'infection à VIH chez les Autochtones est 3,6 fois supérieur à celui qui prévaut chez les non-Autochtones au Canada.

Stratégie ontarienne de lutte contre le VIH et le sida à l'intention des Autochtones

La stratégie ontarienne de lutte contre le VIH et le sida à l'intention des Autochtones a été élaborée par un comité directeur formé de représentants du gouvernement, de chercheurs, de représentants de la collectivité et de personnes atteintes et touchées par le VIH et le sida.

L'objectif est d'offrir des stratégies et des programmes adaptés et respectueux de la culture pour lutter contre l'épidémie de VIH et de sida qui sévit chez les Autochtones de l'Ontario, par la sensibilisation, la prévention, des soins de longue durée, des traitements et des initiatives de soutien conformes aux principes de réduction des méfaits.

Le projet consiste en un organisme de services liés au sida auquel la province a donné le mandat de fournir des services d'approche et de soutien aux Autochtones vivant à l'extérieur des réserves qui sont atteints ou touchés par le VIH et le sida grâce à des travailleurs de proximité.

Pour en savoir plus sur la stratégie ou pour communiquer avec les travailleurs de proximité, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : info@oahas.org.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h