HIV and AIDS

Gay and Bisexual Men

As of 2008, there were an estimated 15,072 gay or bisexual men infected with HIV in the province. This accounts for 57 per cent of all HIV infected people in Ontario. In 2008, gay and bisexual men represented 46 per cent, or 745, of the 1,618 new HIV infections.

Ontario's Gay Men's Sexual Health Alliance

Ontario's Gay Men's Sexual Health Alliance is a coalition of gay men and their allies including representatives from community-based AIDS service organizations, public health units, HIV researchers, policy makers, people with HIV and other interested individuals.

The mission of the GMSH is to foster a systemic, evidence-informed, skilled, consistent and effective response to the sexual health needs of Ontario's diverse communities of gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men (MSM) to reduce the transmission of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections and improve gay men's overall health and well-being. The GMSH fosters an approach to sexual health work that is gay-affirming, sex-positive and integrates risk and harm reduction approaches.

The GMSH was created by a steering committee composed of gay men and their allies including government representatives, researchers, community representatives and people infected by HIV/AIDS.

The GMSH provides funding for :

  • outreach workers who work in local community-based AIDS service organizations in communities across the province.
  • a provincial HIV prevention social marketing campaign.
  • the development of policies and resources to strengthen the community-based response to the sexual health needs of gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men.

For more on the GMSH visit the Gay Men's Sexual Health Alliance website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

VIH et SIDA

Hommes homosexuels et bisexuels

En 2008, on estimait que 15 072 hommes homosexuels ou bisexuels étaient infectés par le VIH en Ontario. Ce nombre représente 57 p. 100 de l'ensemble des personnes atteintes du VIH dans la province. En 2008, les hommes homosexuels ou bisexuels représentaient 46 p. 100, ou 745, des 1 618 nouveaux cas d'infection à VIH.

Alliance pour la santé sexuelle des hommes gais de l'Ontario

L'Alliance pour la santé sexuelle des hommes gais est une coalition d'hommes homosexuels et de leurs alliés, comprenant des représentants d'organismes de services liés au sida, de bureaux de santé publique, de chercheurs sur le VIH, de décideurs, de personnes infectées par le VIH et d'autres personnes intéressées.

L'Alliance a pour mission de promouvoir une intervention systémique, éclairée, uniforme, efficace et fondée sur des preuves pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé sexuelle des différentes communautés gaies, bisexuelles et HRSH (hommes qui ont des rapports sexuels avec d'autres hommes) afin de réduire la propagation du VIH et d'autres infections transmissibles sexuellement et d'améliorer la santé et le bien-être globaux des hommes homosexuels. L'Alliance préconise une démarche en matière de santé sexuelle qui est ouvertement gaie, témoigne d'une attitude positive envers l'expression de la sexualité et intègre la réduction des risques et des méfaits.

L'Alliance a été créée par un comité directeur composé d'hommes homosexuels et de leurs alliés, dont des représentants du gouvernement, des chercheurs, des membres de la collectivité et des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida.

L'Alliance fournit du financement pour :

  • les travailleurs de proximité qui œuvrent dans des organismes communautaires de la province offrant des services liés au sida;
  • une campagne provinciale de marketing social visant la prévention du VIH;
  • l'élaboration de politiques et de ressources pour renforcer l'intervention communautaire mise en œuvre pour répondre aux besoins en matière de santé sexuelle des hommes homosexuels et bisexuels et des hommes ayant des relations sexuelles avec d'autres hommes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Alliance pour la santé sexuelle des hommes gais, visiter le site Web.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h