HIV and AIDS

Women who are Represented in or Engage in High risk activities with the Above Communities

There were 4,749 women living with HIV in Ontario in 2008. This accounts for 18 per cent of all people living with HIV in Ontario, and represents a 71 per cent increase since 1999.  25% of HIV diagnoses in 2008 were among women.

Women and HIV/AIDS Strategy

The Women and HIV/AIDS work group, a working group made up of ministry staff, researchers, community representatives and people infected and affected by HIV/AIDS, is developing a strategy to address the growing rates of HIV infection among women in Ontario. 

Research has been a key component in the development of the strategy, which has included consultation with women of varied backgrounds, an extensive literature review, and a survey of agencies providing services to women. An early result of this process has been the creation of a series of fact sheets on women and HIV.

The Ontario Women's Study research team, which is affiliated with the Women and HIV/AIDS work group, is developing an Ontario-wide research program that will take into account the varied life experiences of women who are vulnerable to HIV infection.

Prenatal HIV Screening Program

For information about Ontario's Prenatal Screening Program go to HIV/AIDS: Prenatal Testing Program.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

VIH et SIDA

VIH et SIDA chez les femmes

En 2008, 4 749 femmes étaient porteuses du VIH en Ontario, représentant 18 p. 100 de toutes les personnes vivant avec le VIH dans la province et une augmentation de 71 p. 100 depuis 1999. En outre, les femmes comptaient pour 25 p. 100 des cas d'infection à VIH diagnostiqués en 2008.

Stratégie de lutte contre le VIH et le sida à l'intention des femmes

Le groupe de travail sur les femmes et le VIH/sida, composé de membres du personnel du ministère, de chercheurs, de représentants de la collectivité et de personnes infectées et touchées par le VIH/sida, élabore une stratégie destinée à faire face au taux croissant d'infection à VIH chez les femmes en Ontario.

La recherche a été un élément clé de l'élaboration de la stratégie, qui comprenait des consultations auprès de femmes de différents milieux, une analyse documentaire intensive et un sondage auprès des organismes qui fournissent des services aux femmes. Ce processus a donné lieu à une série de fiches de renseignements sur les femmes et le VIH.

L'équipe de recherche de l'Ontario Women's Study, qui est affiliée avec le groupe de travail sur les femmes et le VIH/sida, élabore un programme provincial de recherche qui tiendra compte des différentes expériences de vie des femmes susceptibles d'être infectées au VIH.

Programme de dépistage prénatal du VIH

Pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet du programme de dépistage prénatal du VIH de l'Ontario, veuillez consulter la section Programme de dépistage prénatal.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h