Immunization

Immunizations for School Attendance

As a parent, keeping your kids safe and healthy is your number one priority. All children attending school between ages 4 to 17 need to be immunized according to Ontario's Immunization Schedule. Immunization protects children from many serious diseases that are easily spread in schools.

What's new?

Starting in the 2014/15 school year, children need to have proof of immunization against meningococcal disease, whooping cough and chickenpox to attend school. This is in addition to existing requirements for proof of immunization against many other diseases (see checklist below). The number of shots (doses) required for tetanus, diphtheria, polio and mumps has also been updated. Children who are not fully immunized may not be allowed to attend school.

What you need to do

Check with your health care provider or local public health unit to make sure your child has all the vaccines needed to attend school. If your child has followed the immunization schedule, no further vaccines will be needed.

Did you know that it's your responsibility to report your child's updated immunization records to your local public health unit? Your health care provider does not report these records for you.


Q. What diseases do children and adolescents need to be immunized against to attend school in Ontario?

A. Children and adolescents attending primary or secondary school in Ontario must have proof of immunization against the following diseases:

  • Diphtheria
  • Tetanus
  • Polio
  • Measles
  • Mumps
  • Rubella
  • Meningococcal Disease - NEW requirement for 2014/15 school year
  • Pertussis (whooping cough) - NEW requirement for 2014/15 school year
  • Varicella (chickenpox) - NEW requirement for 2014/15 school year, for children born in 2010 or later

Q. Why are children and adolescents required to be immunized against certain diseases to attend school in Ontario?

A. We are committed to improving the health and safety of school children in Ontario. Requiring proof of immunization for meningococcal disease, whooping cough and chickenpox will help further protect children from vaccine-preventable diseases and reduce the risk of disease outbreaks in schools. The updated immunization requirements for school attendance will now be up-to-date with Ontario's current immunization schedule. This is based on current clinical guidelines for the best protection of the population against vaccine-preventable diseases.

Q. When do parents need to have proof their children are immunized against these added vaccine-preventable diseases?

A. Parents should report their child's immunization records to their local public health unit prior to the start of the 2014/15 school year.

If a student requires a catch-up immunization to meet the updated requirements for school attendance, most are available from your regular health care provider. For some vaccines, catch-up immunization clinics will be offered by health units during the school year.

Q. How does a child's immunization record get reported to the local public health unit?

A. Parents are responsible for reporting their child's immunization records to their local public health unit. Parents should contact their local public health unit if they are unsure whether their child's immunization records have been reported.

Q. How will students be able to get these required vaccines?

A. The majority of students will not require any additional vaccines. If children have followed the routine immunization schedule, they will already have received all the vaccines they need to attend school. Parents will just need to make sure they have reported these immunizations to their local public health unit.

Q. If a child has received all of the recommended vaccines on the current immunization schedule will any further action need to be taken? Will they require additional vaccines?

A. Children and adolescents who have followed the immunization schedule will not require any additional vaccines - they will have already received all the vaccines they need. More than 70 per cent of students are already immunized against the three new designated diseases. Parents must just make sure they have reported these immunizations to their local public health unit.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Immunisation

Vaccins exigés pour fréquenter l'école

En tant que parent, la santé et la sécurité de vos enfants sont votre priorité absolue. Tous les enfants scolarisés âgés de 4 à 17 ans doivent être vaccinés selon les calendriers de vaccination de l'Ontario. La vaccination protège les enfants de nombreuses maladies graves qui se propagent facilement en milieu scolaire.

Quoi de neuf?

Dès la rentrée 20142015, pour pouvoir fréquenter l'école, les enfants devront fournir une preuve de vaccination contre la méningococcie, la coqueluche et la varicelle* en plus de nombreuses autres maladies (voir liste ci-dessous). Par ailleurs, le nombre de doses requis pour la vaccination contre le tétanos, la diphtérie, la polio et les oreillons a également été modifi é. Les enfants qui n'ont pas reçu tous leurs vaccins pourraient ne pas être autorisés à fréquenter l'école.

Ce que vous devez faire

Vérifi ez auprès de votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou de votre bureau de santé publique local que votre enfant a bien reçu tous les vaccins requis pour pouvoir fréquenter l'école. Si vous avez respecté les calendriers de vaccination, votre enfant n'aura pas besoin de vaccins supplémentaires.

Savezvous que vous êtes responsable d'aviser votre bureau de santé publique local que le dossier d'immunisation de votre enfant est à jour? Ce n'est pas à votre fournisseur de soins de santé de s'en occuper.


Contre quelles maladies les enfants et les adolescents doivent-ils se faire vacciner pour fréquenter l'école en Ontario?

R. : Les enfants et les adolescents qui fréquentent une école primaire ou secondaire en Ontario doivent présenter une preuve d'immunisation contre les maladies suivantes :

  • Diphtérie
  • Tétanos
  • Polio
  • Rougeole
  • Oreillons
  • Rubéole
  • Méningococcie - NOUVELLE exigence pour l'année scolaire 2014-2015
  • Coqueluche - NOUVELLE exigence pour l'année scolaire 2014-2015
  • Varicelle - NOUVELLE exigence pour l'année scolaire 2014-2015 (enfants nés en 2010 et après).

Pourquoi les enfants et les adolescents doivent-ils se faire vacciner contre certaines maladies pour fréquenter l'école en Ontario?

R. : Nous avons pris l'engagement d'améliorer la santé et la sécurité des enfants scolarisés en Ontario. L'exigence d'une preuve d'immunisation contre la méningococcie, la coqueluche et la varicelle contribuera à mieux protéger les enfants contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination et à réduire le risque d'éclosion de maladies dans les établissements scolaires. Les exigences d'immunisation pour la fréquentation scolaire mises à jour correspondent désormais aux calendriers de vaccination de l'Ontario actuels. Ces modifications s'inspirent des lignes directrices cliniques actuelles pour une protection optimale de la population contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Quand les parents doivent-ils soumettre la preuve d'immunisation de leurs enfants contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination?

R. : Les parents devraient soumettre le dossier d'immunisation de leur enfant à leur bureau de santé publique local avant le début de l'année scolaire 2014-2015.

Si un enfant a besoin d'une vaccination de rattrapage pour satisfaire les nouvelles exigences d'immunisation afin de fréquenter l'école, la plupart des vaccins peuvent être administrés par votre fournisseur de soins de santé habituel. Pour certains vaccins, des cliniques de vaccination de rattrapage seront offertes par les bureaux de santé publique pendant l'année scolaire.

Comment le dossier d'immunisation d'un enfant est-il soumis au bureau de santé publique local?

R. : Les parents sont responsables de soumettre le dossier d'immunisation de leur enfant à leur bureau de santé publique local. Les parents doivent contacter leur bureau de santé publique local s'ils ne savent pas si le dossier d'immunisation de leur enfant a été soumis.

Comment les élèves peuvent-ils obtenir les vaccins requis?

R. : La majorité des élèves n'auront pas besoin de vaccins supplémentaires. Si les enfants ont suivi le calendrier de vaccination systématique, ils auront déjà reçu tous les vaccins nécessaires pour fréquenter l'école. Les parents doivent seulement s'assurer qu'ils ont bien transmis ces vaccinations à leur bureau de santé publique local.

Si un enfant a reçu tous les vaccins recommandés au calendrier de vaccination actuel, doit-il faire autre chose? Aura-t-il besoin d'autres vaccins?

R. : Les enfants et les adolescents qui ont suivi le calendrier de vaccination n'auront pas besoin de recevoir d'autres vaccins - ils ont déjà reçu tous les vaccins nécessaires. Plus de 70 % des élèves sont déjà vaccinés contre les trois nouvelles maladies désignées. Les parents doivent seulement s'assurer qu'ils ont bien transmis ces vaccinations à leur bureau de santé publique local.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h