Measles-Mumps-Rubella-Varicella (MMRV) Vaccine

Immunization is one of the most effective ways to protect yourself and your family against vaccine preventable diseases.

What is measles?

Measles is a highly contagious viral infection that is spread through the air from person to person.

Measles lives in the nose and throat mucus of an infected person. It can spread to others through coughing and sneezing. Also, measles virus can remain for up to two hours on a surface or in an airspace where the infected person coughed or sneezed. If other people breathe the contaminated air or touch the infected surface, then touch their eyes, noses, or mouths, they can become infected.

Symptoms of measles begin seven to 21 days, usually 10 to 14 days, after exposure to a case of measles and include fever, runny nose, cough, drowsiness, irritability and red eyes. Small white spots (known as "Koplik's spots") can appear on the inside of the mouth and throat, but are not always present. Then, three to seven days after the start of the symptoms, a red blotchy rash appears on the face and then progresses down the body.  Measles is contagious one day before fever develops and usually 4 days before the rash appears. Measles remains contagious until four days after the appearance of the rash.

Most people fully recover from measles within two to three weeks. But measles can cause complications in up to 25 per cent of people, such as pneumonia, ear infections, diarrhea, hearing loss, encephalitis (brain swelling), seizures, or, rarely, even death.  Measles can be especially dangerous for infants, those with weakened immune systems and pregnant women.

What is mumps?

Mumps is a contagious disease that is caused by the mumps virus. Mumps is spread by droplets of saliva or mucus from the mouth, nose, or throat of an infected person, usually when the person coughs or sneezes. Items used by an infected person, such as cups or utensils can also be contaminated with the virus, which may spread to others if those items are shared. In addition, the virus may spread when someone with mumps touches items or surfaces without washing their hands and someone else then touches the same surface and rubs their mouth or nose. 

Symptoms typically appear 16 to 18 days after infection, but this period can range from 12 to 25 days after infection. Mumps is best known for the swelling of the cheeks and jaw that it causes, which is a result of parotitis (inflammation of the salivary glands). Mumps also causes fever and headache. Mumps can be contagious from seven days before and up to five days after the salivary glands begin to swell. Up to half of people who get mumps have very mild or no symptoms, and therefore do not know they were infected with mumps.

People who show symptoms usually recover after a week or two, but mumps can occasionally cause serious complications.  The most common complication is orchitis (swelling of the testicles) in males who have reached puberty; rarely does this lead to fertility problems. Other rare complications include encephalitis (swelling of the brain) and/or meningitis (swelling of the tissue covering the brain and spinal cord) and oophoritis (swelling of the ovaries) in females who have reached puberty and deafness. Mumps infection during the first trimester of pregnancy may increase the risk of a miscarriage.

What is rubella?

Rubella is a contagious disease caused by a virus. Rubella is spread by contact with an infected person, through coughing and sneezing.

Symptoms typically appear about 14 to 21 days after being exposed to someone who was contagious.

The infection is usually mild with fever, rash, headache, malaise, mild runny nose (coryza) and red eyes (conjunctivitis).  The rash usually starts on the face and spreads to the rest of the body.  These symptoms last approximately three days. Rubella is contagious one week before and at least four days after the appearance of the rash. About half of the people who get rubella do not have symptoms. 

Complications are not common, but they occur more often in adults. Aching joints occur in many cases, especially among young women.  In rare cases, rubella can cause serious problems, including encephalitis (swelling of the brain).  Rubella is most dangerous for a pregnant woman's unborn baby. Infection during pregnancy can cause miscarriage, or birth defects like deafness, blindness, intellectual disability, and heart defects.

What is varicella (chickenpox)?

Chickenpox is a contagious disease caused by a virus. Chickenpox spreads very easily from person to person. It is passed from an infected person to others through coughing or sneezing. A person can also get chickenpox after touching a blister or the liquid from a blister.

Symptoms typically appear 10 to 21 days after infection, usually 14 to 16 days after infection.  The classic symptom of chickenpox is a rash that turns into itchy, fluid-filled blisters that eventually turn into scabs. The rash may first show up on the face, chest, and back then spread to the rest of the body. In children, the first sign of disease is often rash, while in adults, mild fever and malaise may occur one to two days before the rash.  Some people who have been immunized against chickenpox can still get the disease. However, the symptoms are usually milder with fewer blisters and mild or no fever. Chickenpox is contagious as long as five days but usually one to two days before the rash and until all blisters have formed scabs, usually about five days after the rash.

Complications of chickenpox can include dehydration, pneumonia, encephalitis and blood stream infections (sepsis). The risk of these complications increases with age. Chickenpox infection during pregnancy can cause miscarriage, congenital varicella syndrome (CVS) and other complications.

Why is the MMRV vaccine important?

The MMRV vaccine offers parents an option to have their child immunized against four diseases in one vaccine. This vaccine reduces the number of injections for children.

In Ontario, measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella vaccination is required for school attendance under the Immunization of School Pupils Act (ISPA). Parents are required to provide a record of immunization or a valid exemption before their child attends school.

How well does the MMRV protect against measles, mumps, rubella and/or chickenpox?

Almost all children who receive two doses of vaccine against these four diseases are protected against all of them. Protection from measles, mumps and rubella after getting the vaccine is life-long.

Who is eligible to receive the publicly funded vaccine?

In Ontario, children are eligible to receive the publicly funded MMRV vaccine from four to 12 years of age to protect against measles, mumps, rubella and chickenpox.

At what age should the MMRV vaccine be given?

The MMRV vaccine is offered to children between four to six years of age as part of their routine immunization schedule. The vaccine is currently approved for children up to 12 years of age.

Who should not get the MMRV vaccine?

Children should not receive the vaccine if they have:

  • allergies to the vaccine or any component of the vaccine;
  • known allergies to neomycin; or
  • previously experienced an allergic reaction to any measles, mumps, rubella and/or varicella vaccines.

Please consult with your health care provider if you have:

  • a weakened immune system or take medications that suppress the immune system;
  • a personal or family history of febrile seizures;
  • previously had a severe allergic reaction to eggs, or anything that contained eggs;
  • received blood or blood products; or
  • a severe infection with a high fever greater than 38.5°C.

You should always discuss the benefits and risks of any vaccine with your health care provider or local public health unit prior to receiving the vaccine.

Is the MMRV vaccine safe?

The MMRV vaccine is safe and effective; most children will have no reaction. Some common side effects from the MMRV include redness, swelling and tenderness in the area where the needle is given. Fever, and/or a rash can occur four to 12 days after getting the vaccine. The rash can be a blotchy red rash (measles-like) and/or spots that look like blisters (chickenpox). Severe reactions are rare.

There have been studies that showed a possible increased risk of febrile seizures in children who received the MMRV vaccine as a first dose when younger than two years of age. These studies were conducted in the United States for the MMRV vaccine ProQuad™. The rate of febrile seizures in Priorix-Tetra™ has not been reported to be higher than if MMR and varicella vaccines are given separately.  As children get older their risk for febrile seizures lessens. Children who are four to six years of age do not experience febrile seizures as often as children less than four years of age.

Please report any side effects or severe vaccine reaction to your health care provider or local public health unit.

When should I call my health care provider?

Call your health care provider or go to the nearest hospital emergency department if your child has any of the following reactions within three days of receiving the vaccine:

  • hives;
  • swelling of the face or mouth;
  • trouble breathing, hoarseness or wheezing;
  • high fever (over 40°C);
  • convulsions or seizures; or
  • other serious symptoms (e.g., paraesthesia).

Who should I talk to if I have any questions?

Talk to your health care provider or call your local public health unit.

How should my child's immunization be recorded?

After you or your child receives any immunization, make sure the health care provider updates the personal immunization record (the "Yellow Card"). This will be your record to keep so that you know what immunizations you have received.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Publications en ligne

Vaccin antirougeoleux, antiourlien, antirubéoleux et anti-varicelle (RROV)

L'immunisation est l'un des moyens les plus efficaces de vous protéger et de protéger votre famille contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Qu'est-ce que la rougeole?

La rougeole est une infection virale très contagieuse qui se transmet d'une personne à une autre par l'air.  La rougeole vit dans le mucus du nez et de la gorge d'une personne infectée. La toux et les éternuements peuvent constituer des vecteurs de transmission. Le virus de la rougeole peut également survivre jusqu'à deux heures sur une surface ou dans l'air de l'environnement où la personne infectée a toussé ou éternué. D'autres personnes qui respirent l'air contaminé ou qui touchent la surface infectée peuvent devenir à leur tour infectées si elles touchent ensuite leurs yeux, leur nez ou leur bouche.

Les symptômes de la rougeole apparaissent de 7 à 21 jours, généralement de 10 à 14 jours, après l'exposition à une personne infectée et comprennent la fièvre, l'écoulement nasal, la toux, la somnolence, l'irritabilité et des rougeurs aux yeux. De petites éruptions blanches (taches de Koplik) peuvent apparaître à l'intérieur de la bouche et dans la gorge, mais ne sont pas toujours présentes. De 3 à 7 jours après l'apparition des symptômes, une éruption de taches rouges apparaît ensuite sur le visage et se propage progressivement vers le bas du corps. La rougeole est contagieuse un jour après l'apparition de la fièvre et généralement 4 jours avant l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée. Elle demeure contagieuse jusqu'à 4 jours après l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée.

La plupart des gens se rétablissent complètement de la rougeole en 2 à 3 semaines. Jusqu'à 25 % des gens peuvent cependant présenter des complications liées à la rougeole comme la pneumonie, des infections de l'oreille, la diarrhée, la perte de l'ouïe, l'encéphalite (œdème cérébral), des convulsions ou, dans de rares cas, la mort. La rougeole peut être particulièrement dangereuse chez les nourrissons, les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli et les femmes enceintes.

Qu'est-ce que les oreillons?

Les oreillons sont une maladie contagieuse causée par le virus des oreillons. Les oreillons se transmettent par des gouttelettes de salives ou le mucus de la bouche, du nez ou de la gorge d'une personne infectée, habituellement lorsque celle-ci tousse ou éternue. Les articles utilisés par une personne infectée, comme une tasse ou des ustensiles, peuvent aussi être contaminés par le virus, lequel peut se transmettre à d'autres personnes s'ils sont partagés. De plus, le virus peut aussi se propager lorsqu'une personne infectée touche des articles ou des surfaces sans s'être lavé les mains et que quelqu'un d'autre se frotte ensuite la bouche ou le nez après avoir touché cette même surface.

Les symptômes apparaissent généralement de 16 à 18 jours après l'infection, mais cette période peut s'étendre de 12 à 25 jours après l'infection. Les oreillons sont connus pour le gonflement des joues et de la mâchoire qu'ils entraînent, qui est le résultat d'une parotidite (inflammation des glandes salivaires). Les oreillons peuvent aussi causer de la fièvre et des maux de tête. Ils peuvent être contagieux 7 jours avant et jusqu'à 5 jours après que les glandes salivaires commencent à enfler. Jusqu'à la moitié des personnes qui attrapent les oreillons n'ont que des symptômes très légers ou pas de symptômes du tout, et ignorent donc qu'elles ont été infectées par cette maladie.

Les personnes présentant des symptômes se rétablissent après une semaine ou deux, mais les oreillons peuvent parfois entraîner des complications graves. La complication la plus fréquente est l'orchite (gonflement des testicules) chez les hommes ayant atteint l'âge de la puberté, conséquence n'entraînant que rarement des problèmes de fertilité. L'encéphalite (oedème du cerveau), la méningite (oedème du tissu recouvrant le cerveau et la moelle épinière), l'ovarite (gonflement des ovaires) chez les femmes ayant atteint l'âge de la puberté et la surdité sont d'autres complications rares des oreillons. Les oreillons peuvent accroître le risque de fausse couche durant le premier trimestre de grossesse.

Qu'est-ce que la rubéole?

La rubéole est une maladie contagieuse causée par un virus. La rubéole se transmet par contact avec une personne infectée, lorsqu'elle tousse et éternue. Les symptômes apparaissent généralement de 14 à 21 jours après l'exposition à une personne contagieuse.

L'infection est généralement bénigne et se traduit par de la fièvre, une éruption cutanée, un sentiment de malaise, un écoulement nasal (rhinite) et des rougeurs dans les yeux (conjonctivite). L'éruption cutanée débute habituellement sur le visage et se propage au reste du corps. La durée des symptômes est d'environ 3 jours. La rubéole est contagieuse une semaine avant et jusqu'à au moins 4 jours après l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée. Environ la moitié des gens qui attrapent la rubéole n'ont aucun symptôme.

Les complications ne sont pas fréquentes et surviennent le plus souvent chez les adultes. Des douleurs articulaires surviennent dans plusieurs cas, en particulier chez les jeunes femmes. Dans de rares cas, la rubéole peut entraîner de graves problèmes, notamment une encéphalite (gonflement du cerveau). La rubéole est particulièrement dangereuse pour l'enfant à naître d'une femme enceinte. L'infection durant la grossesse peut causer une fausse couche, des anomalies congénitales comme la surdité, la cécité, la déficience intellectuelle et des cardiopathies.

Qu'est-ce que la varicelle?

La varicelle est une maladie contagieuse causée par un virus. Elle se transmet très facilement d'une personne à l'autre. Une personne infectée peut en contaminer d'autres en toussant ou en éternuant. On peut également attraper la varicelle en touchant une vésicule ou le liquide qu'elle contient.

Les symptômes apparaissent généralement de 10 à 21 jours après l'infection, habituellement de 14 à 16 jours après l'infection. Le symptôme classique de la varicelle est une éruption cutanée qui se transforme en vésicules remplies de liquide, vésicules qui se transforment éventuellement en croûte. L'éruption cutanée peut d'abord apparaître sur le visage, la poitrine et le dos avant de se propager sur le reste du corps. Chez les enfants, le premier signe de la maladie est souvent l'éruption cutanée, alors que chez les adultes, une légère fièvre et un sentiment de malaise peuvent survenir 1 à 2 jours avant l'éruption cutanée. Certaines personnes qui ont été immunisées contre la varicelle peuvent tout de même contracter la maladie. Les symptômes sont cependant habituellement plus légers avec un nombre de vésicules moins important et peu ou pas de fièvre. La varicelle peut être contagieuse jusqu'à 5 jours avant, mais généralement 1 à 2 jours avant l'éruption cutanée et jusqu'à ce que toutes les vésicules aient formé une croûte, habituellement environ 5 jours après l'éruption cutanée.

Les complications de la varicelle peuvent comprendre la déshydratation, la pneumonie, l'encéphalite et l'infection de la circulation sanguine (septicémie). Le risque de ces complications augmente avec l'âge. La varicelle durant la grossesse peut entraîner une fausse couche, le syndrome de varicelle congénitale (SVC) et d'autres complications.

Pourquoi le vaccin RROV est-il important?

Le vaccin RROV offre aux parents l'option de faire immuniser leur enfant contre quatre maladies avec un seul vaccin. Ce vaccin réduit le nombre d'injections que reçoivent les enfants.

En Ontario, la vaccination contre la rougeole, les oreillons, la rubéole et la varicelle est obligatoire pour fréquenter l'école aux termes de la Loi sur l'immunisation des élèves. Les parents doivent fournir une fiche d'immunisation ou une exemption valide avant que leur enfant n'entre à l'école.

Quel degré de protection le vaccin RROV assure-t-il contre la rougeole, les oreillons, la rubéole et la varicelle?

Presque tous les enfants qui reçoivent deux doses du vaccin contre ces quatre maladies sont protégés contre elles. Après la vaccination, la protection contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole est permanente.

Qui est admissible au vaccin défrayé par les deniers publics?

En Ontario, les enfants sont admissibles à recevoir le RROV défrayé par les deniers publics entre l'âge de 4 à 12 ans afin d'être protégés contre la rougeole, les oreillons, la rubéole et la varicelle.

à quel âge le vaccin RROV doit-il être administré?

Le vaccin RROV est offert aux enfants âgés de quatre à six ans dans le cadre de leur calendrier d'immunisation systématique. Actuellement, le vaccin est approuvé jusqu'à l'âge de 12 ans.

Qui ne doit pas recevoir le vaccin RROV?

Les enfants ne doivent pas recevoir le vaccin s'ils présentent les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • allergie au vaccin ou à un de ses composants;
  • allergie connue à la néomycine;
  • antécédents de réaction allergique à un vaccin antirougeoleux, antiourlien, antirubéoleux ou anti-varicelle.

Veuillez consulter votre fournisseur de soins si vous présentez l'une des conditions suivantes :

  • un système immunitaire affaibli ou prise de médicaments qui dépriment le système immunitaire;
  • des antécédents personnels ou familiaux de poussées fébriles;
  • des antécédents de réaction allergique grave aux oeufs ou à tout aliment contenant des oeufs;
  • transfusion de sang ou de produits sanguins;
  • une infection grave avec une fièvre supérieure à 38,°C.

Avant de vous faire vacciner, discutez toujours des avantages et des risques associés au vaccin en question avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou votre bureau de santé.

Le vaccin RROV est-il sûr?

Le vaccin RROV est sûr et efficace et n'entraînera aucune réaction chez la plupart des enfants. Des rougeurs, un gonflement et une douleur à l'endroit où le vaccin a été administré font partie des effets secondaires les plus fréquents. De la fièvre et une éruption cutanée peuvent survenir de 4 à 12 jours après l'administration du vaccin. L'éruption cutanée peut prendre la forme de plaques rouges (semblables à la rougeole) et (ou) des taches ressemblant à des vésicules (varicelle). Les réactions graves sont rares.

Certaines études ont démontré un risque potentiellement accru de poussées fébriles chez les enfants qui ont reçu une première dose du vaccin RROV avant l'âge de deux ans. Ces études ont été menées aux états-Unis pour le vaccin RROV ProQuad™. Le taux de poussées fébriles avec le vaccin Priorix-Tetra™ n'est pas supérieur à celui constaté lorsque le vaccin ROR et le vaccin anti-varicelle sont administrés séparément. Le risque de poussées fébriles s'atténue lorsque les enfants grandissent. Les enfants de 4 à 6 ans ont moins souvent de poussées fébriles que les enfants âgés de moins de 4 ans.

Veuillez signaler tout effet secondaire ou toute réaction grave au vaccin à votre fournisseur de soins de santé à votre bureau de santé.

Quand dois-je communiquer avec mon fournisseur de soins de santé?

Appelez votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou rendez-vous au service des urgences le plus proche si votre enfant présente l'une des réactions suivantes dans les trois jours qui suivent l'administration du vaccin :

  • urticaire;
  • enflure du visage ou de la bouche;
  • difficulté à respirer, enrouement ou respiration sifflante;
  • forte fièvre (plus de 40°C);
  • convulsions ou crises d'épilepsie;
  • autres symptômes graves (p. ex., paresthésie).

À qui dois-je m'adresser si j'ai d'autres questions?

Adressez-vous à votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou appelez votre bureau de santé publique

Votre dossier de protection

Après que vous ou votre enfant ayez été vaccinés, assurez-vous que le médecin mette à jour la fiche d'immunisation personnelle (carte jaune). Vous devrez la conserver afin d'être au fait des vaccins que vous avez reçus.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h