Reports on Long-Term Care Homes

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home?

A LTC Home provides residential accommodation and care to individuals 18 years of age and older who require assistance with activities of daily living at frequent intervals throughout the day and/or 24/7 nursing care, in a Home-like environment. All LTC Homes are funded and regulated by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

Why is the government doing web-based publishing of inspection reports and orders on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes?
It is a priority for the government to pprovide resident-centered, high quality care that meets the needs of residents and their families and improves the quality of life in LTC Homes. The publication of all inspection reports and orders is part of the government’s commitment to public accountability and transparency.  It is also a legislative requirement of the Long-Term Care Homes Act. The reports are published so that everyone has access to information about LTC Homes
Is a Retirement Home a Long-Term Care Home?

No.  Retirement Homes are NOT funded by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, are NOT licensed or approved under the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 and are NOT included in the information contained on the website Reports on Long-Term Care Homes.

What are Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes?

The Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes website is provided by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) and contains information including public versions of inspection reports and any orders that have been issued for all LTC Homes in the province.

All reports are available to print by clicking on the PDF report, clicking on the “File” option at the upper left-hand side of the page, and choosing “Print.” Any technical issues regarding accessing or printing reports can be emailed to commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca. Alternately you can call the ServiceOntario toll-free line at 1-866-532-3161 for assistance in getting a report.

To request French Translation(s) of a LTC Home’s inspection report(s) (and orders where applicable) please contact the ServiceOntario toll-free line at 1-866-532-3161.

Can I choose and apply for a Home for my loved one or for myself from the Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes website?
No. Information on this website is intended as first step to help people in Ontario gather information about LTC Homes. Your local Community Care Access Centre (CCAC) will determine whether you are eligible and help you to complete an application and choose a LTC Home. You are also encouraged to visit each Home that you are considering before making a final decision
What will the Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes website tell me?

The Reports on Long-Term Care Homes website is a searchable database of all LTC Homes in Ontario with information about each one. You can find LTC Homes within a desired area and see a list of features in a Home, like the Home’s accreditation status. In addition, public versions of inspection reports and any orders that have been issued for each LTC Home will be available for printing. However, the information provided in the Reports on Long-Term Care Homes is NOT enough to determine if a Home is the best one for you or your loved one. You are also encouraged to visit each Home that you are considering before making a final decision.

What are the next steps in selecting a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home for a loved one or for me?

You should contact your local Community Care Access Centre (CCAC) for more information about eligibility for admission and choosing a LTC Home. You are also encouraged to visit a number of LTC Homes in order to determine, first-hand, which one is best suited to meet the needs and lifestyle for you or your loved one. There are a number of checklists available when visiting a LTC Home:

When considering a visit to a Home, you should telephone the LTC Home’s operator or administrator ahead of time to book an appointment. This is also a good time to discuss any questions about the Home, including any information about the Home you may have found on this website.

What information is not provided on the Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes website?

This website will NOT:

  • recommend a LTC Home to you
  • rank or rate Homes against one another
  • issue a report card that grades LTC Homes on their current status in meeting Ministry standards
Can I register a concern/complaint through this website?
No, complaints cannot be made through this website. If you have a concern or complaint about a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home, you should follow the Home’s process for making a complaint. You are also encouraged to call ServiceOntario at 1-866-434-0144 to register your concern or complaint.
Does the Ministry rank or rate Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes in the Reports on Long-Term Care Homes website?

No.  The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care provides the public with access to information about the performance of each LTC Home operator in meeting requirements under the Long Term Care Homes Act, 2007 and its regulations, as determined during a specific inspection.

How do the inspection reports on Long-Term Care Homes published on this site differ from the public version of the inspection report(s) (and orders where applicable) posted in each Home?

The public version of the inspection report(s) (and orders where applicable) posted in each Long-Term Care Home is the same as the public version posted on this site.

Where does the Ministry get the information for the Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes for this website?

Information for the Reports on LTC Homes for this website is taken from a number of sources:

  • The information contained in each Home Profile was provided by each LTC Home.
  • Accreditation Canada and the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities have provided accreditation information. LTC Homes voluntarily apply to be accredited through Accreditation Canada and CARF Accreditation determines the extent to which the Home is meeting national standards for care delivery and operations and is used by a Home and other organizations to better the quality of their services.
Is the information on the Reports on Long-Term Care Homes current?

Inspection reports (and orders, where applicable) are published to this site once they have been finalized, reviewed and issued to the licensee.  There is about a two month delay between the issuance of the inspection report and the time of publishing to complete this process.

Note:  the Ministry is in the process of publishing all inspection reports and orders and will be up to date within two months of the issuance of the inspection report by June 2012.

What is non compliance? What are actions/orders? Has this changed?

You may notice that a Home has a number of Written Notifications of Non-Compliance. Non-compliance under the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 (LTCHA) cannot be compared with ‘unmets’ that were reported before July 1, 2010.  In the past, an inspector (compliance advisor) may have verbally noted an issue with the Home or included it under observations, but may not have issued an ‘unmet’. Only serious issues of non-compliance were generally noted as ‘unmets’.  Today, all issues of non-compliance are identified and included in the inspection report.  If non-compliance presents a serious risk to residents, then there is usually an order issued along with the inspection report.

As a result of the province’s significant legislative changes (which took effect July 1, 2010), you may see that your Home, which previously may have had very few or no unmet standards, now has some Written Notifications along with actions/sanctions based on the severity, scope and licensee’s past history of compliance.  This does not necessarily mean that the care in the Home has changed but may simply be a reflection of the new requirements under the new legislation.

What are the different types of actions/orders that can be issued to a Home?

If an inspector finds non-compliance with requirements, the inspector must take at least one of the following actions:

  1. Issue a Written Notification (WN)
  2. Request a written Plan of Correction, to be implemented voluntarily (VPC)
  3. Make a Compliance Order or a Work and Activity Order
  4. Issue a WN and refer the matter to the Director for further action by the Director.

The Director has the power to make same two types of Orders that an inspector can make, as well as the following Orders:

  • reducing or withholding funding;
  • requiring the LTC home operator to retain someone to manage or assist in managing the home; and
  • revoking the LTC Home’s licence, which may also include an Order to take control of the home.

In addition to these Order-making powers, the Director has the power to

  • direct a Community Care Access Centre to cease admissions to a Home because of a risk to residents; and
  • take steps to operate or take control of a municipal LTC Home
Why would a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home receive an Order from a LTC Home inspector or the Director?

Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes are required to abide by provincial legislation, regulations, standards and policies to ensure residents receive the best possible care. The Ministry arranges regular inspections of every LTC Home to verify that they are in compliance with the requirements outlined in the legislation. The Ministry may impose orders on a Home in a variety of circumstances, including, but not limited to: (i) recurring or ongoing non-compliance; and (ii) presence of severe problems that put residents at risk.

Once orders have been imposed on a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home, how long do they stay in place?

All orders specify the required compliance date. The Long-Term Care Home is required to come into compliance by the compliance date. A follow-up inspection is scheduled to ensure the Home is compliant with the LTCHA and Regulations.

What can I do to ensure that my loved one is safe in a Long-Term Care (LTC) Home where the Director has suspended admissions to the Home or there is a serious sanction (for example, revocation of licence)? What are my options?

If you have concerns for the safety of a loved one living in an LTC Home under a suspension of admissions or sanctions, you have the following options:

  • Seek clarification relating to any of your concerns from the local service area office of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  • Contact the local CCAC to discuss the possible transfer and relocation of your loved one to another Home.
  • Request that your loved one be removed/discharged from the LTC Home into the care of a trusted relative.
Does the information on the Reports on Long-Term Care Home website tell me whether or not a Home is meeting care standards or is providing good care?

Information available on the website does not rank or rate Homes and should not be seen as a ‘report card’ that grades Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes in meeting care standards.

The information available shows a LTC Home operator’s compliance or non-compliance status in accordance with the requirements set out in the legislation and regulations.

Information provided in the Inspection reports (and orders where applicable) is NOT enough to determine if a Home is the best one for you or your loved one. Please contact the LTC Home operator or Administrator, or your local Community Care Access Centre for other types of information available about the Home. You are also encouraged to visit any LTC Home that you are considering, before making a final decision.

Who issues Inspection Findings?

Inspectors employed by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care inspect to ensure compliance with the Act and regulations.  At the end of each inspection an inspector prepares an inspection report.  If an inspector finds that the Home has not complied with a requirement of the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007 or its regulations, the inspector must identify the non-compliance in the inspection report.

When does a LTC Home inspector inspect a Home?

LTC Home inspectors may inspect a Home to follow up on a complaint or a reported critical incident on a previously issued order, or to conduct a comprehensive inspection.  The inspector uses the applicable Inspection Protocols to assess the issue and to determine whether the Home is compliant with the legislation.

What happens after a LTC Home inspector finds "non compliance”?

When a LTC Home inspector finds non-compliance with a requirement under the LTCHA or its regulations, the inspector must then determine what Action to take, including what Order to make, as appropriate, see the Q/A above that sets out Actions/Orders of an inspector. The finding of non-compliance along with the Action or Order is identified in the Inspection Report.  An Order is served on the licensee, separate from the inspection report.

How can I receive a printed copy of the information on the website?

You can obtain a printed copy of the information available on the website in any one of the following ways:

  • Print it from this website;
  • Call the ServiceOntario toll-free at 1-866-532-3161; or
  • Contact the LTC Home that you would like to get information about.
How can I access a LTC Home's information in the Reports, in French?

To request French Translation(s) of a LTC Home’s inspection report(s) (and orders where applicable) please contact ServiceOntario’s toll-free line at 1-866-532-3161. Translated reports can also be request by filling in the "Report Request Template" and emailing the completed template to commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca.

Are Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes Accessible Documents for Ontarians with Disabilities?

Due to technical issues, the PDF Reports on Long-Term Care (LTC) Homes website are currently not compliant with the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 and the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001. The Ministry of Health is currently working to resolve these issues as quickly as possible.

In the meantime, to request an accessible PDF of a LTC Home’s inspection report(s) (and orders where applicable) please contact Service Ontario’s toll-free line at 1-866-532-3161. Accessible reports can also be requested by filling in the "Report Request Template" and emailing the completed template to commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca. Requested individual reports will be provided within 14 business days of the ministry receiving a request.

How can I provide feedback to the government about the information on the website?

The Reports on Long-Term Care Homes website is designed to strengthen public accountability and transparency. Your feedback is important. Here are ways to communicate with us:

  • General comments or questions
    Please visit our "Contact Us" page for general questions and comments. Note that this is not intended to support feedback about a specific Home.
  • Questions about a specific Home
    For comments, questions or concerns about a specific Home, please call your local Community Care Access Centre (CCAC) for the type of information available, or telephone ServiceOntario at 1-866-434-0144.
For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Rapports sur les foyers de soins de longue durée

Foire aux questions

Qu’est-ce qu’un foyer de soins de longue durée (SLD)?

Un foyer de SLD offre  de l’hébergement et des soins aux personnes âgées de 18 ans et plus qui ont besoin d’aide régulièrement pendant la journée pour accomplir les activités de la vie quotidienne, et/ou de soins infirmiers jours et nuit tous les jours de la semaine, le tout dans un cadre où l’on se sent chez soi. Tous les foyers de SLD sont financés par le gouvernement et réglementés par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.

Pourquoi le gouvernement publie-t-il les rapports sur les foyers de SLD sur Internet?
Le gouvernement se fait une priorité de fournir des soins de haute qualité qui répondent aux besoins des résidents et de leurs famille et améliorent la qualité de vie dans les foyers de SLD. La publication de tous les rapports d’inspection et des ordres fait partie de la politique de reddition de comptes au public et de transparence. C’est également une exigence de la LFSLD. Les rapports sont publiés afin que tout le monde ait accès aux renseignements sur les foyers de SLD.
Une maison de retraite est-elle un foyer de soins de longue durée?

Non. Les maisons de retraite ne sont NI financées par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée NI agréées ou approuvées en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée, et AUCUN renseignement les concernant ne figure sur le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD.

Que sont les rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD est fourni par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) et contient des renseignements incluant les versions publiques des rapports d’inspection et les ordres éventuels transmis à tous les foyers de SLD de la province.

Il est possible d’imprimer ces rapports en cliquant sur le rapport en format PDF, puis sur l’option « Fichier » dans le coin supérieur gauche de la page, et en choisissant « Imprimer ».  Les problèmes techniques concernant l'accès aux rapports ou leur impression peuvent être envoyés à commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca. Vous pouvez aussi appeler sans frais la Ligne INFO du Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 434-0144 pour avoir de l’aide pour obtenir un rapport.

Appelez sans frais la Ligne INFO du Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 434-0144 pour demander la traduction en français des rapports d’inspection (et des ordres éventuels). Vous pouvez aussi demander les rapports traduits en remplissant le formulaire de demande de rapport et en l’envoyant à commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca.

Puis-je choisir un foyer et faire une demande d’admission pour un proche ou pour moi-même à partir du site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Non. Les renseignements figurant sur le site Web des rapports sont uniquement destinés à aider les consommateurs à obtenir des renseignements sur les foyers de SLD. Le centre d’accès aux soins communautaires (CASC) de votre région déterminera si vous êtes admissible et vous aidera au besoin à remplir une demande et à choisir un foyer de SLD. Nous vous invitons également à visiter chaque foyer qui semble vous convenir avant de prendre une décision définitive.

Qu’apprend-on sur le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de soins de longue durée est une base de données que vous pouvez interroger pour obtenir des renseignements sur tous les foyers de SLD en Ontario. Il permet de trouver des foyers de SLD dans une région donnée et d’afficher la liste des caractéristiques de chacun (p. ex., s’ils sont agréés). En outre, vous pourrez imprimer les versions publiques des rapports d’inspection et ordres éventuels. Toutefois, les renseignements fournis sur le site des rapports ne sont PAS suffisants pour déterminer si un foyer particulier est l’endroit idéal pour vous-même ou pour un proche. Nous vous encourageons également à visiter chaque foyer qui semble vous convenir avant de prendre une décision définitive.

Quelles sont les étapes à suivre pour choisir un foyer de SLD pour un proche ou pour moi-même?

Vous devriez communiquer avec votre centre d’accès aux soins communautaires (CASC) pour savoir si vous êtes admissible et pour choisir un foyer de SLD. Nous vous conseillons fortement de visiter plusieurs foyers afin de déterminer en toute connaissance de cause celui qui convient le mieux à vos besoins et à votre mode de vie ou à ceux d’un proche. À cet égard, il existe des aide-mémoire que vous pouvez utiliser lorsque vous visitez des foyers de SLD. Ce site Web contient des liens vers quelques-uns de ces aide-mémoire.

Avant de visiter un établissement, nous vous suggérons de prendre rendez-vous par téléphone avec son exploitant ou son administrateur. C’est aussi une bonne occasion de poser des questions sur le foyer, notamment sur les renseignements que vous pourriez avoir trouvés sur ce site Web.

Quels types de renseignements ne se trouvent PAS dans le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Ce site Web :

  • ne vous recommandent PAS un foyer de SLD en particulier;
  • ne classe pas et n’évalue PAS les foyers de SLD;
  • ne produit PAS de fiches de rendement sur le niveau de conformité actuel de chaque foyer de SLD par rapport aux normes du Ministère.
Puis-je déposer une plainte ou communiquer mes préoccupations par l’entremise de ce site Web?

Non. Il est impossible de déposer une plainte sur ce site Web. Si vous avez une préoccupation à propos d’un foyer de SLD, vous devriez suivre la procédure de plainte de chaque foyer. Nous vous encourageons aussi à appeler la Ligne ACTION des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 434-0144 pour signaler votre préoccupation ou plainte.

Le ministère classe-t-il ou évalue-t-il les foyers de SLD sur le site des rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Non. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée donne au public accès à des renseignements sur le rendement de chaque exploitant de foyer de SLD en matière de conformité à la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée et à ses règlements déterminée lors d’une inspection.

En quoi les rapports d’inspection des foyers de SLD publiés sur ce site diffèrent-ils de la version publique des rapports d’inspection (et des ordres éventuels) affichés dans chaque foyer?

La version publique des rapports d’inspection (et des ordres éventuels) affichés dans chaque foyer de SLD est la même que celle affichée sur ce site Web.

D’où proviennent les renseignements fournis par le ministère sur le site des rapports sur les foyers de SLD?

Les renseignements affichés sur le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD proviennent de diverses sources :

  • Les renseignements figurant dans chaque Profil de foyer sont fournis par chaque foyer de SLD.
  • Les renseignements concernant l’agrément des foyers sont fournis par Agrément Canada et le CARF. Les foyers de SLD demandent volontairement l’agrément d’Agrément Canada et du CARF. L’agrément détermine le degré de conformité du foyer aux normes nationales au chapitre de la prestation des soins et de l’exploitation de l’établissement. Les foyers et d’autres organismes l’utilisent pour améliorer la qualité de leurs services.
Les renseignements figurant sur le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD sont-ils à jour?

Les rapports d’inspection (et les ordres, le cas échéant) sont publiés sur ce site quand ils ont été finalisés, examinés et transmis au titulaire du permis. Il s’écoule environ deux mois entre la date ou le rapport d'inspection a été transmis au titulaire de permis et la publication de ce rapport sur le site Web.

Note:  Le ministère est sur le point de publier tous les rapports d'inspection et les ordres. Donc,  d'ici juin 2012, le site sera mis à jour dans un délai de deux mois suivant la date ou le rapport d'inspection aura été transmis au titulaire de permis.

Qu’entend-on par « non-respect »? En quoi consistent les mesures et les ordres? Est-ce que cela a changé?

Vous avez peut-être remarqué qu’un foyer possède un numéro d’avis écrit de non-respect. Selon la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée (LFSLD), le non-respect ne peut pas être comparé à la mention « insatisfaisant » qui était déclaré avant le 1er juillet 2010. Par le passé, un inspecteur (conseiller-inspecteur) pouvait souligner oralement un problème relevé dans le foyer ou l’inclure dans des observations, sans toutefois indiquer la mention « insatisfaisant ». Seuls les problèmes sérieux de non-respect faisaient généralement l’objet de la mention « insatisfaisant ». Aujourd’hui, tous les problèmes de non-respect sont indiqués et inclus dans le rapport d’inspection. Si le non-respect présente un risque sérieux pour les résidents, un ordre est habituellement donné avec le rapport d’inspection.

À la suite des importantes modifications législatives provinciales (qui sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2010), il se peut que vous constatiez que votre foyer, qui avait autrefois très peu de mentions « insatisfaisant » ou aucune, a maintenant quelques avis écrits ainsi que des mesures ou sanctions fondées sur la gravité, la portée et les antécédents de conformité du titulaire du permis. Cs avis ne signifient pas nécessairement que les soins prodigués dans le foyer ont changé mais reflètent simplement les nouvelles exigences découlant de la nouvelle législation.

Quels sont les divers types de mesures et d’ordres?

Si un inspecteur constate le non-respect de certaines exigences, il peut prendre au moins une des mesures suivantes :

  1. Donner un avis écrit
  2. Demander un plan écrit de redressement volontaire
  3. Donner un ordre de conformité ou un ordre de travaux et d’activités
  4. Donner un avis écrit et transmettre la question au directeur afin qu’il donne les suites appropriées

Le directeur a le pouvoir de donner les deux types d’ordres que l’inspecteur ainsi que les ordres suivants :

  • Réduire ou retenir le financement
  • Obliger l’exploitant du foyer de SLD à retenir une personne pour gérer ou aider à gérer le foyer
  • Révoquer le permis du foyer, qui peut aussi s’accompagner d’un ordre de prise de la direction du foyer.

En plus de ces pouvoirs de donner des ordres, le directeur a le droit :

  • d’ordonner au centre d’accès aux soins communautaires de cesser les admissions dans un foyer à cause d’un risque pour les résidents
  • de prendre des mesures pour exploiter ou prendre la direction d’un foyer municipal de SLD.
Pourquoi un foyer de SLD recevrait-il un ordre de l’inspecteur ou du directeur?

Les foyers de SLD sont tenus de se conformer aux lois, aux règlements, aux normes et aux politiques de la province pour veiller à ce que les résidents reçoivent les meilleurs soins possible. Le Ministère organise des inspections régulières de tous les foyers de SLD pour vérifier qu’ils sont exploités conformément aux exigences de la législation. Il peut imposer un ordre dans diverses circonstances, notamment en cas (i) de non-respect récurrent ou continu, et (ii) de présence de problèmes graves représentant un risque pour les résidents.

Combien de temps un ordre imposé à un foyer de SLD demeure-t-il en vigueur?

La date de conformité exigée est indiquée sur l’ordre. Le foyer de SLD est tenu d’établir la conformité au plus tard à la date indiquée. Une inspection de suivi est ensuite prévue pour confirmer que le foyer se conforme à la LFSLD et aux règlements.

Comment m’assurer qu’un proche est en sécurité dans un foyer de SLD qui est sous le coup d’une sanction? Quelles sont les options à ma disposition?

Si vous vous préoccupez pour la sécurité d’un proche résidant dans un foyer sous le coup d’une sanction, vous avez les choix suivants :

  • Demander au bureau régional du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée des éclaircissements sur vos préoccupations.
  • Communiquer avec le CASC local pour discuter de la possibilité d’un transfert ou d’une relocalisation de votre proche dans un autre foyer.
  • Demander que votre proche parte ou obtienne son congé du foyer et soit pris en charge par un parent digne de confiance.
L’information accessible sur le site des rapports précise-t-elle si un foyer satisfait aux normes de soins ou s’il fournit une bonne qualité de soins?

L’information contenue sur ce site ne classe pas et n’évalue pas les foyers et il ne faudrait pas les considérer comme une fiche de rendement qui évalue si les foyers de SLD respectent les normes de soins.

Les renseignements indiqués reflètent le rendement de l’exploitant du foyer de SLD au regard de la législation et des règlements.

Les renseignements fournis dans les rapports d’inspection (et les ordres éventuels) ne suffisent PAS à déterminer si un foyer particulier est l’endroit idéal pour vous-même ou pour un proche. Communiquez avec l’exploitant ou l’administrateur du foyer de SLD ou avec le centre d’accès aux soins communautaires local pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires au sujet d’un foyer. Nous vous encourageons également à visiter chaque foyer qui semble vous convenir avant de prendre une décision définitive.

Qui produit les constats d’inspection?

Les inspecteurs du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée vérifient la conformité à la Loi et aux règlements et préparent un rapport à la fin de chaque inspection. S’ils déterminent que le foyer ne satisfait pas aux exigences de la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée ou à ses règlements, ils doivent indiquer le cas de non-respect dans le rapport d’inspection.

Dans quelles circonstances une inspection est-elle menée dans un foyer?

Les inspecteurs des foyers de SLD peuvent effectuer une inspection à la suite d’une plainte ou d’un incident grave, ou pour donner suite à un ordre précédent, ou encore pour effectuer une inspection complète.  L’inspecteur applique les protocoles d’inspection pertinents pour évaluer la situation et déterminer si le foyer se conforme à la législation.

Que se passe-t-il après qu’un avis de non-respect a été délivré par un inspecteur de foyers de SLD?

Lorsqu’un inspecteur de foyers de SLD constate le non-respect d’une exigence de la LFSLD ou de ses règlements, il doit déterminer la mesure à prendre ou l’ordre à donner (voir les questions et réponses ci-dessus portant sur les mesures et ordres d’un inspecteur). Le constat de non-respect et la mesure requise figurent dans le rapport d’inspection. Les ordres sont communiqués séparément du rapport d’inspection au titulaire du permis.

Comment obtenir un exemplaire imprimé de l’information contenue sur le site Web?

Vous pouvez obtenir un exemplaire imprimé des renseignements disponibles sur le site Web par un des moyens suivants :

  • Imprimer ces renseignements à partir du site Web;
  • Appeler la Ligne INFO des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 532‑3161;
Communiquer avec le foyer de SLD sur lequel vous aimeriez avoir des renseignements.
Comment obtenir les rapports publics sur les foyers de SLD en français?

Pour demander la version française des rapports d’inspection des foyers de SLD (et des ordres éventuels), appelez la Ligne INFO des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 434‑0144 (sans frais)  ou en française remplissant le formulaire de demande de rapport  et en l’envoyant à commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca

Les Rapports publics sur les foyers de soins de longue durée (SLD) sont-ils des documents accessibles aux personnes handicapées de l'Ontario?

En raison de problèmes techniques, le site Web des Rapports publics sur les foyers de SLD en format PDF ne respecte pas actuellement la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario. Le ministère de la Santé travaille actuellement en vue de résoudre ces problèmes le plus rapidement possible.

Dans l’intervalle, en vue de demander l’accès à un rapport d’inspection d’un foyer de SLD (et aux ordres, s’il y a lieu) en format PDF, veuillez communiquer sans frais avec le ministère au moyen de la ligne INFO sur les soins de longue durée, au 1 866 532-3161. Vous pouvez faire des demandes de rapports accessibles en remplissant le modèle de demande de rapport et en le faisant parvenir par courriel à l’adresse commentsltch@moh.gov.on.ca. Les rapports individuels demandés seront transmis dans les 14 jours ouvrables suivant la date de réception de la demande par le ministère.

Comment transmettre mes observations au gouvernement à propos du contenu de ce site Web?

Le site Web des rapports sur les foyers de SLD vise à renforcer la reddition de comptes au public et la transparence. Vos commentaires sont importants. Voici différents moyens par lesquels vous pouvez communiquer avec nous :

  • Commentaires et questions d’ordre général
    Le site Web contient une section « Commentaires » qui permet de transmettre vos commentaires ou vos questions d’ordre général à l’administrateur du site Web au Ministère. Toutefois, veuillez noter que cette section n’est pas destinée à recevoir des commentaires au sujet d’un foyer en particulier.
  • Questions sur un foyer particulier
    Pour transmettre des commentaires, des questions ou des préoccupations concernant un foyer particulier, appelez le centre d’accès aux soins communautaires (CASC) local ou la Ligne ACTION des Soins de longue durée au 1 866 434-0144.
Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h