Mental Health and Addictions

Facts About the Consent and Capacity Board

The Consent and Capacity Board is an independent body created by the provincial government. It conducts hearings under the Mental Health Act, the Health Care Consent Act, and the Substitute Decisions Act. Board members are either psychiatrists, lawyers or members of the general public. The Board sits with one, three, or five members. Hearings are recorded in case a transcript is required.

What matters may come before the Board 

The board has authority to hold hearings to deal with the following matters :

Health Care Consent Act
Mental Health Act
Substitute Decisions Act

How are applications made to the Board 

Application forms may be available from health or residential facilities. Completed applications should be faxed to the Board's regional office. Health practitioners and officials of health and residential facilities are expected to fax forms to the Board within one hour of completion. If necessary, call 1-800-461-2036 for application forms, specific information sheets and contact information for the Board.

When and where will the hearing be 

The parties will receive a notice from the Board with the time and place of the hearing. If you are not a party, you may ask the Board for the time and place. The hearing will usually take place within a week after the Board receives the application and will be held in the facility where the person who is the subject of the hearing resides or receives treatment or at some other place convenient to the parties.

How much does it cost 

There is no charge to the participants for the services of the Board. The Board is publicly funded and requests that all participants assist in keeping costs down.

What will happen at the hearing 

Each party may attend the hearing and invite anyone they want to come. Family members and friends are also encouraged to attend. The presiding member will introduce everyone and explain how the hearing will work, who the official parties are and the order in which people will speak.

Each party may have a lawyer, call witnesses and bring documents.

Each party and the Board members may ask questions of each witness.

At the end of the hearing, each party will be invited to summarize and the presiding member will then end the hearing.

What happens after the hearing 

The Board will meet in private to make its decision. The Board will issue its decision within one day. The Board may also issue written reasons explaining its decision. Written reasons will be issued if any of the parties request them. This request must be made within thirty days of the hearing.

Can the Board's decision be appealed 

Any of the parties may appeal the Board's decision to the General Division of the Ontario Court.

(NOTE :   Different rules apply to a hearing held to decide if a person is to be denied access to his/her own records in a psychiatric facility.)
For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

La santé mentale

Faits concernant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité

La Commission du consentement et de la capacité est une institution indépendante nommée par le gouvernement provincial. Elle mène des audiences en vertu de la Loi sur la santé mentale, de la Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé et de la Loi sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui. Les membres de la Commission peuvent être des psychiatres, des avocats ou des membres du public. Un, trois ou cinq membres y siègent. Les audiences sont généralement enregistrées au cas où une transcription serait nécessaire.

Quelles sont les questions présentées à la Commission?

La Commission peut tenir des audiences pour traiter des questions suivantes :

Loi sur le consentement aux soins de santé
Loi sur la santé mentale
Loi sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui

Comment se font les demandes (requêtes) à la Commission?

Des formules de demande peuvent être obtenues auprès des établissements de santé ou de logement. Les demandes remplies devraient être envoyées par télécopieur au bureau régional de la Commission. Les praticiens de la santé ou d'autres représentants d'établissements de santé ou de logement doivent télécopier les formules à la Commission dans l'heure qui suit. Pour obtenir des formules de demande, des feuillets de renseignements particuliers ou des renseignements sur les personnes-ressources, communiquez avec la Commission en composant le 1 800 461-2036.

Quand et où se tiendra l'audience?

Les parties recevront un avis de la Commission les avisant de l'heure et du lieu de l'audience. Si vous n'êtes pas partie à l'audience, vous pouvez demander ces renseignements à la Commission. L'audience se tient habituellement une semaine après que la Commission a reçu la demande, dans l'établissement où la personne faisant l'objet de l'audience habite et reçoit son traitement ou à un autre endroit qui convient aux parties.

Combien coûtent ces services?

Les participants n'ont pas à débourser de l'argent pour les services de la Commission. Celle-ci est financée à même les fonds publics et elle demande à tous les participants de l'aider à minimiser les coûts du processus.

Que se passera-t-il à l'audience?

Chaque partie peut participer à l'audience et inviter qui elle veut. On encourage aussi les membres de la famille et les amis à assister. Le Président présentera toutes les personnes qui assistent à l'audience et expliquera le déroulement de l'audience, quelles sont les parties officielles et l'ordre dans lequel chacune parlera.

Chaque partie peut avoir un avocat, appeler des témoins et apporter des documents.

Chaque partie et les membres de la Commission peuvent questionner tous les témoins.

À la fin de l'audience, chaque partie sera invitée à résumer, et le Président mettra alors fin à l'audience.

Que se passe-t-il après l'audience?

La Commission se réunira à huis clos pour prendre sa décision. Elle donnera sa décision dans les 24 heures, et pourra également présenter les raisons écrites de la décision. La Commission devra présenter ses raisons écrites si une des parties en fait la demande. Cette demande doit se faire dans les trente jours qui suivent l'audience.

Puis-je en appeler de la décision de la Commission?

N'importe quelle partie peut en appeler de la décision de la Commission à la Cour de l'Ontario (Division générale).

(Remarque : Des règles différentes s'appliquent à une audience cherchant à décider si l'accès aux dossiers doit être refusé à une personne résidant dans un établissement psychiatrique.)
Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h