Public Information

Childhood Obesity

Healthy Kids Panel

Terms Of Reference

Background

Childhood obesity is a serious health issue that is strongly linked to increased risks of hypertension, type 2 diabetes, heart disease, gallbladder disease, stroke, and certain types of cancer, including breast and colon cancer.  Broad engagement and action from a variety of partners and sectors is required to effectively address this problem.  Partnerships that include parents and caregivers, educators and legislators, industry and media are essential to supporting health in the next generation.  

In Ontario’s Action Plan for Health Care, the government committed to bringing together a panel of content area and strategy experts, health care leaders, non-profit organizations, and industry to inform the development of a strategy that will reduce childhood obesity in Ontario by 20 per cent in five years. This is an aspirational and ambitious goal, and the Panel will provide advice how the province can best meet this goal. The Panel’s report to the Minister is expected by December 21, 2012. 

Purpose

To provide the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care with a report outlining:

Audience

The target audience for the report is the government and, through the government, other stakeholders/spheres of influence.

Scope

The scope of the Panel’s work includes:

* Multi-sector refers to recommendations that address all areas with a role to play in impacting childhood obesity and child health (such as the private sector, government (including across government approach), the local community, the public and the broader public sector).

Timelines & Deliverables

Membership

Co-Chairs:

Members:

Chairs’ Responsibilities

Members’ Responsibilities

Support

Secretariat support will be provided by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.  The secretariat will act as the liaison between the Panel and the Ministry.

Secretariat support services will include:

Ongoing meetings will take place between the Co-Chairs and secretariat to assess support and resource requirements.

A professional writer will attend the Panel meetings to collate recommendations and draft the report on behalf of the Panel.

Engagement Approach

Part of the work of the Panel will include engaging with thought leaders and experts with a variety of perspectives. The members have access to a diverse group of sectors and communities (including demographic communities such as children, youth, parents and recent immigrants).  Members are encouraged to engage these networks to gain a better understanding of childhood obesity from different perspectives and to better inform the Panel’s recommendations. The Panel will develop an engagement plan.

Proceedings And Attendance

The Panel will meet on a monthly basis. Location and details of meetings will be determined by the Panel Co-Chairs with logistical support from the secretariat. 

Agenda items are set by the Co-Chairs with input from the Panel members.  As applicable, materials will be emailed to members by the secretariat in advance of each meeting. 

Delegates are not permitted.

Payment

There shall be no salary or per diem paid as a result of this appointment to the Panel.

The Ministry may, in its sole discretion, reimburse Panel members for expenses, if applicable, in accordance with any Ontario Government directives and guidelines that are applicable at the time of payment (including, for greater certainty, the Travel, Meal and Hospitality Expenses directive) for all reasonable expenses associated with any meetings Panel members are required to attend.

Public Communications

Members must notify the Co-Chairs if they are making media appearances and statements about the Panel and its work prior to being made.

Co-Chairs must notify the Ministry regarding media appearances and statements about the Panel prior to being made.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

L’obésité chez l'enfant

Comité d’experts pour la santé des enfants

Mandat

Contexte

L’obésité chez les enfants est un grave problème de santé qui est étroitement lié aux risques accrus d’hypertension, de diabète de type 2, de cardiopathies, de maladie de la vésicule biliaire, d’accident vasculaire cérébral et de certains types de cancer, dont le cancer du sein et du côlon. Des engagements généraux et des mesures de divers partenaires et secteurs sont nécessaires pour attaquer efficacement ce problème. Des partenariats qui englobent les parents et les fournisseurs de soins, le personnel enseignant et le législateur, l’industrie et les médias sont essentiels afin d’appuyer la santé de la prochaine génération.

Dans le Plan d’action en matière de soins de santé, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’est engagé à établir un comité d’experts composé de spécialistes en matière de contenu et de stratégie, de dirigeants du secteur de la santé, d’organismes sans but lucratif et d’industries afin de contribuer à l’élaboration d’une stratégie visant à réduire l’obésité chez les enfants de 20 % d’ici cinq ans. Il s’agit d’un objectif inspirant et ambitieux, et le comité offrira des conseils sur la meilleure façon pour la province d’atteindre cet objectif. Le comité remettra son rapport à la ministre d’ici le 21 décembre 2012.

But

Fournir à la ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée un rapport contenant :

Groupe Visé

Le groupe visé par le rapport est le gouvernement et, par son entremise, les autres intervenants et sphères d’influence.

Portée

La portée des travaux du comité comprend :

* Les recommandations multisectorielles sont celles qui s’adressent à tous les secteurs ayant un rôle à jouer dans les domaines de l’obésité chez les enfants et de l’amélioration de la santé des enfants (comme le secteur privé, le gouvernement [incluant une approche intergouvernementale], la collectivité locale, le public et le secteur parapublic).

Échéancier Et Rapport

Composition

Coprésidents :

Membres :

Responsabilités Des Coprésidents

Responsabilités Des Membres

Soutien

Les services de secrétariat seront assurés par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Le secrétariat agira comme point de liaison entre le comité et le ministère.

Les services de secrétariat comprendront :

Les coprésidents et le secrétariat tiendront des réunions fréquentes afin de déterminer le soutien et les ressources nécessaires.

Un rédacteur professionnel assistera aux réunions du comité afin de préparer les recommandations et de rédiger l’ébauche du rapport au nom du comité.

Méthode De Consultation

Une partie du travail du comité consiste à consulter des leaders d’opinion et des experts ayant une variété de perspectives. Les membres ont accès à un groupe diversifié de secteurs et de collectivités (y compris des collectivités démographiques, comme les enfants, les jeunes, les parents et les immigrants récents). Les membres sont invités à échanger avec ces réseaux afin de mieux comprendre l’obésité chez les enfants, de différents points de vue, ce qui leur permettra d’élaborer des recommandations plus étoffées. Le comité élaborera un plan de consultation.

Délibérations Et Assiduité

Le comité tiendra une réunion mensuelle. Le lieu et les détails des réunions seront déterminés par les coprésidents du comité et le soutien logistique sera assuré par le secrétariat.

Les articles à l’ordre du jour sont déterminés par les coprésidents avec les commentaires des membres du comité. Le cas échéant, le secrétariat acheminera à l’avance par courrier électronique les documents nécessaires pour chaque réunion.

Les délégués ne sont pas autorisés.

Paiement

Aucun salaire et aucune indemnité quotidienne ne sont versés à la suite de la nomination au comité.

La ministre peut, à sa discrétion exclusive, rembourser aux membres du comité, le cas échéant, conformément aux directives et lignes directrices du gouvernement de l’Ontario en vigueur au moment du paiement (y compris, pour une plus grande certitude, la Directive sur les frais de déplacement, de repas et d’accueil) les dépenses raisonnables qui sont engagées pour assister aux réunions auxquelles ils sont tenus de participer.

Communications Publiques

Les membres doivent informer les coprésidents, au préalable, de leur intention de faire une intervention ou une déclaration dans les médias au sujet du comité et ses travaux.

Les coprésidents doivent informer le ministère, au préalable, de toute intervention ou  déclaration dans les médias au sujet du comité.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h