Public Information

Ministry Programs

Ontario Health Insurance Plan

Photo of people

OHIP Out of Country Services

Prior Approval: Questions & Answers

Ontario has a shortage of family physicians.  What can a patient do if they don’t have a family physician [and they are seeking out-of-country medical services]?

Any licensed Ontario physician can complete and submit a prior approval application to the ministry on your behalf.  This includes physicians who work in walk-in clinics and hospital emergency departments. 

If you are looking to find a physician who may be accepting new patients in your area, it may be helpful to visit the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario website.


Is my Ontario health card valid outside of my Local Health Integration Network (LHIN)?

Yes, your Ontario valid health card entitles you to receive insured health services anywhere throughout Ontario. 

Physicians are not required to complete an Out of Country prior approval application for patients who require insured health services in Ontario.


Why is PSA testing not covered by OHIP?

PSA testing is a lab service and is therefore the responsibility of the ministry’s Laboratories Branch.  Information regarding this service is, however, available on the ministry’s website

Information provided on this site advises :

* Men must attend a hospital to have the specimen drawn to avoid a charge.


How do Ontarians know what the wait time is for treatment in Ontario?

The wait times for certain procedures in Ontario can be found on the ministry website.

You may also call the ministry INFOline at 1-888-779-7767 or send an e-mail inquiry to transforminghealth@moh.gov.on.ca.


When reviewing a patient’s application for OOC prior approval, the ministry should also take into consideration the person’s quality of life. Is that currently factored in when processing the application?

The diagnosis/medical problem and the treatment being requested are considered within the context of each individual patient’s circumstances. Ministry staff carefully review the submitted documentation and if indicated, contact the referring Ontario physician and other Ontario physicians who have been involved in the patient’s care. The ministry’s decision, however, must meet the criteria established by Ontario law.


Where can I get travel insurance that doesn’t have exclusions for pre-existing medical conditions?

The ministry is not in a position to recommend one private insurance plan over another.

If you would like information about obtaining private travel insurance you may contact the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association who can provide a list of available travel and private insurance plans.  Contact information for this organization is provided below :

Website : www.clhia.ca/index_en.htm
Address : 1 Queen Street East, Suite 1700
Toronto, ON M5C 2X9
Telephone : (416) 777-2221
Fax : (416) 7771895
Consumer Assistance : 1-800-268-8099 or www.clhio.ca

Why is my ODB coverage not valid in another province?  Why can’t seniors bring receipts back to Ontario and get reimbursement?

The Drug Program Branch has a clear policy regarding this.  Prescriptions must be written by an Ontario prescriber, dispensed by an Ontario pharmacy and provided to an Ontario resident.  If you would like further information or clarification, please write to the Drug Program Branch at :

MOHLTC
Ontario Public Drug Programs Branch
Queen's Park
Toronto, Ontario M7A 1R3


Why do some patients get approved for funding of OOC cancer treatment but other patients get denied?

Each application for out of country prior approval is adjudicated independently and is based on each patient’s individual circumstances and the information provided by the referring Ontario physician. The severity of the patient’s condition, the presence of additional medical problems, and the opinions of Ontario experts are all considered when reviewing an application. The ministry’s decision, however, must meet the criteria established by Ontario law.


How long does it take for experimental treatment to become accepted treatment in Ontario?

With ongoing advancements in health technology and treatment it is expected that Ontario will continue to see changes in the services that are generally accepted in province. The amount of time it takes before a treatment or service is accepted in Ontario varies considerably. Unfortunately, it is not possible to predict with certainty what treatment(s) will be introduced in the province or when.


Can I get laser treatment for a port wine stain in Ontario?

Yes, pulse dye laser treatment for port wine stain on the face or neck is an insured service in Ontario.  Removal of port wine stains from other parts of the body may be an insured service, but requires prior ministry approval first.  Your physician should be able to provide information regarding where this service is performed in

Ontario and can apply to the ministry for prior approval of removal of port wine stain from areas of the body other than the face or neck.


Additional Remarks :

1-30 days to review?  Is this some kind of joke?  When there is an emergency, there is no time to wait for approval.

The OOC Unit has a process in place to expedite “urgent” requests for medical services out-of-country – these applications can be processed in less than one hour if all the medical documentation is submitted with the application.  The 1-30 day turnaround time relates only to prior approval applications and was provided as an estimate only.  In the majority of cases, the ministry processes these applications in an average of 8 days or less. 

Patients in need of emergency treatment are transferred immediately to an OOC facility if necessary, without delay through Criticall (from the referring Ontario hospital).

Please note, Ministry staff in the OOC Unit is available to assist patients and physicians with this application process.  If you would like to speak to staff in the Unit, please call the 1-888-359-8807.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

Programmes du ministère

Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Services de santé hors pays couverts par l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario

Approbation préalable : Foire aux questions

Il y a une pénurie de médecins de famille en Ontario. Que doivent faire les patients n’ayant pas de médecin de famille [qui veulent obtenir des services de santé hors pays]?

N’importe quel médecin autorisé de l’Ontario peut remplir et envoyer une demande d’approbation préalable de votre part, qu’il s’agisse de médecins dans les cliniques sans rendez-vous ou les services d’urgence des hôpitaux.

Pour trouver un médecin près de chez vous qui accepte de nouveaux patients, vous pouvez consulter le site Web de l’Ordre des médecins et des chirurgiens de l’Ontario à l’adresse : http://www.cpso.on.ca/Doctor_Search/dr_srch_hm.htm (site en anglais seulement).


Ma carte Santé de l’Ontario est elle valide en dehors de mon réseau local d’intégration des services de santé?

Oui. Une carte Santé de l’Ontario valide vous donne le droit de recevoir des services de santé assurés partout en Ontario.

Les médecins n’ont pas à présenter de demande d’approbation préalable de services de santé hors pays pour les patients qui ont besoin de services de santé assurés en Ontario.


Pourquoi l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario ne couvre-t elle pas le test de dépistage de l’APS?

Le test de dépistage de l’APS est un service de laboratoire qui relève de la Direction des laboratoires du ministère. On peut trouver des renseignements sur ce service dans le site Web du ministère.

Le site donne les renseignements suivants :

*Les hommes doivent aller à l’hôpital pour le prélèvement afin d’éviter les frais.


Comment les gens de l’Ontario peuvent ils savoir quels sont les temps d’attente pour se faire traiter en Ontario?

Les temps d’attente pour certains traitements en Ontario sont indiqués dans le site Web suivant du ministère.

Vous pouvez également appeler la Ligne Info du ministère, au 1 888 779‑7767 ou envoyer des questions par courriel à transforminghealth@moh.gov.on.ca.


Lorsqu’il étudie la demande d’approbation préalable d’un patient, le ministère devrait tenir compte de la qualité de vie de la personne. Le fait il à l’heure actuelle?

Le diagnostic ou problème médical et le traitement demandé sont évalués en fonction de la situation de chaque patient. Le personnel du ministère passe soigneusement en revue les documents envoyés et, dans les cas où c’est indiqué, il communique avec le médecin traitant de l’Ontario et d’autres médecins de l’Ontario ayant eu à s’occuper du patient. La décision du ministère doit néanmoins respecter les critères prescrits par les lois de l’Ontario.


Où puis-je trouver une assurance de voyage qui ne comporte pas d’exclusions pour les problèmes de santé préexistants?

Le ministère ne peut pas recommander un régime d’assurance privé plutôt qu’un autre.

Pour obtenir de l’information sur les régimes d’assurance privés, vous pouvez vous adresser à Ombudsman des assurances de personnes, qui peut vous fournir une liste des régimes d’assurance de voyage privés. Voici les coordonnées de cet organisme.

Site Web : www.olhi.ca
Adresse : 401, rue bay, C.p. 7
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 2Y4
Téléphone : Au Toronto 416-777-9002-sans frais 1-888-295-8112
À Montréal au 514-282-2088-sans frais au Québec: 1-866-582-2088
Assistance aux consommateurs : Personnes ayant une déficience auditive peuvent contacter via le Service de relais Bell gratuit au 1-800-855-0511.
Ou visitez leur site Web : www.olhi.ca

Pourquoi ma Carte de médicaments gratuits de l’Ontario n’est elle pas valide dans les autres provinces? Pourquoi les personnes âgées ne peuvent elles rapporter les reçus en Ontario pour se faire rembourser?

La Direction des programmes de médicaments a une politique bien claire à ce sujet. Pour être admissible, une prescription doit être établie par un prescripteur de l’Ontario et exécutée par une pharmacie de l’Ontario, et le produit doit être remis à un habitant de l’Ontario. Si vous voulez avoir plus de détails ou des précisions, écrivez à la Direction des programmes de médicaments à l’adresse suivante :

MSSLD
Direction des programmes de médicaments
Queen's Park
Toronto (Ontario)  M7A 1R3


Pourquoi des traitements contre le cancer hors pays sont ils approuvés pour certains patients mais pas pour d’autres?

Chaque demande d’approbation préalable de services de santé hors pays est évaluée séparément en fonction de la situation du patient et de l’information fournie par le médecin traitant de l’Ontario. La gravité de l’état du patient, l’existence d’autres problèmes médicaux et l’opinion des experts de l’Ontario sont tous des facteurs qui sont pris en considération pour l’évaluation de la demande. La décision du ministère doit respecter les critères prescrits par les lois de l’Ontario.


Combien faut il de temps pour que des traitements expérimentaux soient approuvés en Ontario?

Avec les progrès constants de la technologie et des traitements dans le domaine de la santé, on s’attend à ce que les services généralement acceptés en Ontario continuent d’évoluer. Les délais d’introduction de nouveaux traitements ou services dans la province varient considérablement. Malheureusement, il est impossible de prévoir avec certitude quels traitements seront approuvés par la province et quand.


Puis-je faire traitement une tache de vin au laser en Ontario?

Oui. Le traitement au laser par colorant pulsé des taches de vin sur le visage ou le cou est un service assuré en Ontario. L’enlèvement de taches semblables sur d’autres parties du corps est parfois assuré, sous réserve de l’approbation préalable du ministère. Votre médecin devrait pouvoir vous indiquer où le traitement est offert en Ontario et il peut présenter une demande d’approbation préalable au ministère pour les taches de vin sur d’autres parties du corps que le visage et le cou.


Autres

Le délai est de 1 à 30 jours pour l’évaluation des demandes. Ce n’est pas sérieux! Dans les cas d’urgence, on n’a pas le temps d’attendre une approbation.

L’Unité des services de santé hors pays a un processus accéléré pour les demandes « urgentes » de services de santé hors pays. Ces demandes peuvent être traitées en moins d’une heure, à condition que tous les documents médicaux nécessaires les accompagnent. Le délai de 1 à 30 jours s’applique aux demandes d’approbation préalable et n’est qu’une estimation. Dans la majorité des cas, le ministère traite ces demandes dans un délai d’en moyenne 8 jours ou moins.

Les patients qui ont besoin d’un traitement d’urgence sont transférés immédiatement à un établissement approuvé pour les services de santé hors pays au besoin, par l’intermédiaire de CritiCall (à partir de l’hôpital d’origine).

À noter que le personnel du ministère à l’Unité des services de santé hors pays peut aider les patients ainsi que les médecins à suivre le processus de demande. Si vous voulez parler à quelqu’un à l’Unité, composez le 1 888 359-8807.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h