Print

Ontario Health Informatics Standards Council

The Ontario Health Informatics Standards Council (OHISC) was established by The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care in 2002. The council is responsible for governing and/or guiding the use of health informatics (HI) standards in the province. Council membership is made up of experts from across the healthcare system.

The mandate of the council is to provide expert advice and the recommendations to the MOHLTC about health informatics standards for use in Ontario.

Health Informatics Standards

Health informatics (HI) standards are common sets of rules that allow different computer systems to communicate quickly and effectively with each other. Most importantly, they present health information in the same way between systems, no matter who built the system.

HI standards help exchange and use information in the healthcare system. They enable quality system-to-system sharing of electronic information across the system in a consistent and comparable fashion for the benefit of patients, providers and insurance companies.

HI standards are needed to enable consistent and reliable sharing of large volumes of complex health information. Patients depend on providers having their health information to deliver care. This can only happen when this information can be shared between providers using systems that enable accurate information flow.

Governance

OHISC is made up of up to 24 experts from across the health care system in Ontario. The council is led by a Chair, who is appointed by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

Potential candidates may submit an application form and brief letter of intent in order for their membership to be considered by the council.  Once approved, each member serves a three-year term of membership. Council membership may be renewed by the recommendation of the Membership Sub-Committee and approval of OHISC.

For the list of current members, please see the council membership page.

Standards Submission

To submit a standard for OHISC evaluation, please review the OHISC Submission & Evaluation guide.

All packages should be sent electronically to the OHISC Secretariat at ohisc@ontario.ca.

You will be notified within 2 business days upon receipt of your submission. If you have not heard from the OHISC secretariat within that time frame, please feel free to contact the secretariat to confirm that your submission is under review.

For more information

Ontario Health Informatics Standards Council
c/o OHISC Secretariat
1075 Bay Street, 13th floor
Toronto ON M5S 2B1
phone:  416-314-9480
e-mail:   ohisc@ontario.ca

Additional Resources

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

Conseil ontarien des normes d’informatique de la santé

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) a constitué le Conseil ontarien des normes d’informatique de la santé (CONIS) en 2002. Le conseil régit et oriente l’utilisation de normes d’informatique de la santé dans la province. Il se compose d’experts de l’ensemble du système de santé.

Le conseil a pour mandat de fournir des conseils éclairés et des recommandations au MSSLD concernant les normes d’informatique de la santé à utiliser en Ontario. 

Normes d’informatique de la santé

Les normes d’informatique de la santé (IS) sont des ensembles communs de règles qui permettent à des systèmes informatiques différents de communiquer rapidement et efficacement entre eux. Surtout, ces normes permettent de présenter les renseignements sur la santé de la même façon quel que soit le système ou son fabricant.

Les normes d’IS facilitent l’échange et l’utilisation de données dans le système de santé. Elles permettent le partage de données électroniques de qualité entre systèmes de façon comparable et uniforme, pour le bénéfice des patients, des fournisseurs et des sociétés d’assurances.

Les normes d’IS sont essentielles pour assurer l’échange uniforme et fiable de grandes quantités de données complexes sur la santé. Les fournisseurs doivent disposer de renseignements sur la santé des patients afin de pouvoir leur prodiguer des soins; cela n’est possible que s’ils peuvent se communiquer ces renseignements au moyen de systèmes qui permettent la circulation de données exactes.

Gouvernance

Le CONIS se compose de 24 experts de l’ensemble du système de santé de l’Ontario. Il est dirigé par un président nommé par le MSSLD.

Pour poser leur candidature au conseil, il faut soumettre un formulaire de demande et une brève lettre d’intention. Le membre dont la candidature a été retenue siège pour un mandat de trois ans, qui peut être reconduit sur l’avis du sous-comité des membres avec l’approbation du CONIS.

Pour connaître la liste des membres actuels, consultez la page des membres du conseil.

Présentation de normes

Pour présenter une norme au CONIS en vue de son évaluation, veuillez consulter le Guide de présentation de dossier et d’évaluation du CONIS.

Veuillez faire parvenir les dossiers par voie électronique au secrétariat du CONIS, à ohisc@ontario.ca.

Vous recevrez un accusé de réception dans les deux jours ouvrables. Si le secrétariat du CONIS ne vous a pas répondu dans ce délai, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec lui pour confirmer que votre dossier est à l’étude.

Renseignements

Conseil ontarien des normes d’informatique de la santé
a/s du secrétariat du CONIS
1075, rue Bay, 13e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M5S 2B1

Courriel : ohisc@ontario.ca

Autres ressources

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h