Publications

Diseases : Anthrax

Anthrax is an acute infectious disease caused by the spore-forming bacterium Bacillus anthracis. It is primarily a disease of sheep, goats, cattle and swine, but it can also infect humans. Symptoms of the disease usually occur within seven days after exposure and will vary depending on how the disease was contracted. The three serious forms of human anthrax are cutaneous anthrax (skin), inhalation anthrax (nasal passages), and intestinal anthrax.

Cutaneous anthrax is the most common form of the disease and occurs when a person comes into contact with an infected animal and the bacterium enters a cut or abrasion on their skin. The skin infection begins as a raised itchy bump resembling an insect bite that develops into a skin bubble within one to two days and then a painless open sore with a black centre.

Inhalation anthrax occurs when the spores are inhaled through the nasal passages. Initial symptoms may resemble a common cold. After several days, the symptoms may progress to severe breathing problems and shock.

Intestinal anthrax is rare and more difficult to recognize. It is caused by eating contaminated food and results in acute inflammation of the intestinal tract. Symptoms include nausea, loss of appetite, vomiting, and fever followed by abdominal pain, vomiting of blood, and diarrhea.

Exposure

A person cannot catch anthrax from someone who is infected with the disease. Therefore, there is no need to treat those around someone ill with anthrax (such as family, friends or co-workers) unless they were also exposed to the same source of the infection.

Treatment*

Giving preventative antibiotics to a person exposed to anthrax may prevent infection. Early antibiotic treatment (within 24 hours) is essential since any delay lessens the chance for survival. The decision to offer preventative antibiotics to those persons exposed is dependent upon the level of exposure.

An anthrax vaccine may also prevent anthrax disease. However, Health Canada advises that there is no need to vaccinate anyone who has not been exposed to the disease.

Further Information

Anyone with concerns should consult their physician or their local public health unit.

References

The information provided is subject to change. The information was collated from the following three sources :

1. Chin, J. "Control of Communicable Diseases Manual". 17th Edition. 2000. American Public Health Association: Washington D.C.
2. Health Canada website
3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website

*Advice on the most up-to-date treatment should be sought from a clinical expert.

January 2003

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Renseignements sur la maladie du charbon

C'est une maladie infectieuse aiguë causée par une bactérie sporulée, le Bacillus anthracis. Il s'agit principalement d'une maladie présente chez les moutons, les chèvres, le bétail et les porcs. Cependant, elle peut également infecter les êtres humains. Les symptômes de la maladie se manifestent d'habitude dans les sept jours après l'exposition et varient en fonction du mode de transmission de la maladie. Il existe trois types graves de maladie du charbon chez l'être humain. Il s'agit de la forme externe du charbon ou cutanée (peau), du charbon pulmonaire (voies nasales) et du charbon intestinal.

Forme externe du charbon (cutanée) : Il s'agit de la forme la plus répandue de la maladie. Elle se produit lorsque la bactérie pénètre dans une coupure ou une lésion cutanée après un contact avec les tissus d'animaux infectés. L'infection cutanée débute par une cloque prurigineuse qui ressemble à une piqûre d'insecte et qui se transforme en vésicule en l'espace d'une à deux journées, puis en plaie ouverte avec une escarre au centre.

Charbon pulmonaire : Cette forme de la maladie se manifeste lorsque les spores sont respirées par les voies nasales. Les symptômes initiaux peuvent être similaires à ceux du rhume. Après plusieurs jours, les symptômes peuvent évoluer et se transformer en détresse respiratoire et en état de choc.

Charbon intestinal : Cette forme de charbon est relativement rare et plus difficile à reconnaître. Elle est causée par l'ingestion d'aliments contaminés et entraîne une inflammation aiguë du tractus intestinal. Les symptômes incluent la nausée, la perte d'appétit, des vomissements et de la fièvre suivis de douleurs abdominales, de vomissements de sang et de diarrhée.

Exposition

La maladie ne se transmet pas de personne à personne. Par conséquent, il n'est pas nécessaire de traiter l'entourage d'une personne qui a contracté cette maladie (par exemple les membres de la famille, les amis ou les collègues de travail), à moins qu'ils n'aient été exposés à la même source de contamination.

Traitement

L'antibiothérapie administrée à une personne ayant été exposée à la maladie du charbon peut prévenir l'infection. Une antibiothérapie rapide (dans les 24 heures) s'impose, car tout délai diminue les chances de survie. La décision d'administrer des antibiotiques de façon préventive aux personnes exposées à la maladie dépend du degré d'exposition.

La vaccination peut également prévenir la manifestation de la maladie du charbon. Cependant, Santé Canada a indiqué qu'il n'était pas nécessaire de faire vacciner les personnes qui n'ont pas été exposées à la maladie.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Les personnes ayant des questions ou des observations à propos du botulisme sont priées de communiquer avec leur médecin ou avec le personnel du bureau de santé publique de leur localité.

References

1. Chin, J. "Control of Communicable Diseases Manual". 17th Edition. 2000. American Public Health Association: Washington D.C.
2. Santé Canada
3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

January 2003

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.