Publications

Lyme Disease : Frequently Asked Questions

Risk Areas

1. In what areas of Ontario am I at a higher risk of encountering blacklegged ticks and contracting Lyme disease?

While low, there is always a potential risk of contracting Lyme disease (disease agent: Borrelia burgdorferi) anywhere in Ontario; however, the risk increases where there are established or endemic populations of the tick that transmits the agent of Lyme disease (blacklegged or deer ticks, Ixodes scapularis). In Ontario, blacklegged ticks are more commonly found in areas along the north shores of Lake Erie, Lake Ontario, and the St. Lawrence River.

Locations with endemic populations of ticks are: Long Point Provincial Park, Turkey Point Provincial Park, Rondeau Provincial Park, Point Pelee National Park, Prince Edward Point National Wildlife Area, Wainfleet Bog Conservation Area, and in the St. Lawrence Islands National Park area.

2. What is the difference between an "established" and "endemic" population of blacklegged ticks?

The yearly recurrence of Lyme disease is dependent on an endemic population of ticks breeding in an area. An established population is defined as an annually recurring, reproducing tick population wherein all stages of development are present (i.e., larvae, nymphs, and adults), with no Lyme disease. An endemic population is defined as an established population that exhibits evidence of Lyme disease transmission between the blacklegged ticks and resident animal populations.

3. I live close to, but not in an area with an endemic population of blacklegged ticks; am I still at risk of contracting Lyme disease? Are the borders of established regions well defined?

The precise boundaries of these tick populations are difficult to define and will eventually expand into neighbouring areas, given suitable climate and habitat conditions.

Blacklegged ticks are known to feed on migratory birds and, as a result, can be transported throughout Ontario, originating from endemic populations within the province and the US. It is possible for people to encounter blacklegged ticks almost anywhere in the province; however, as one travels further from regions with endemic tick populations, the risk diminishes.

4. I travel throughout Ontario, Canada, and the US; what areas have endemic populations of blacklegged ticks?

In North America, the greatest risk of exposure to Lyme disease-associated ticks occurs in the North-eastern (e.g., Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and New York) and Midwest (e.g., Minnesota and Wisconsin), US. In Canada, blacklegged ticks are known to be found in south-western Quebec, southern and eastern Ontario, south-eastern Manitoba, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia as well as much of southern British Columbia. Note: In British Columbia the vector tick is called the western blacklegged tick or Ixodes pacificus.

Ontarians travelling to high-risk areas must take personal protection precautions when outdoors. Blacklegged ticks infected with the agent of Lyme disease are much more common in the US compared to the relatively limited areas in southern and eastern Ontario. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), and its partners continue to research to identify new and emerging tick populations in Ontario and to assess public health risks through prevalence of the Lyme disease agent.

Diagnosing, Testing and Treatment

1. What are the current methods for testing people for Lyme disease? Are the current methods widely accepted in public health and science?

The Public Health Ontario Laboratories (PHO) conducts serological (blood) testing for the causative agent of Lyme disease - B. burgdorferi.

PHO follows a scientifically-validated two-tier testing protocol (i.e., enzyme immunoassay (EIA) and Western immunoblot assay). This process is in alignment with Canadian Public Health Laboratory Network recommendations, and uses Health Canada-approved test kits.

2. Private laboratories offer Lyme disease testing; do their tests meet scientifically-validated Canadian and American standards?

Private laboratories may not follow the same testing protocols and recommendations as the majority of Canadian or American laboratories.

Private testing facilities have been known to use testing methods which have not been fully established.

3. Are blood tests and their results the only factors used by doctors to diagnose Lyme disease?

Serology is just one of several methods physicians evaluate when diagnosing Lyme disease and should never be used as the sole defining factor in diagnosis.

Physicians interpret serology test results in conjunction with clinical signs and symptoms, along with a detailed tick-exposure history for the patient.

4. Who is responsible for conducting serology tests for Lyme disease in Ontario?

Lyme disease testing is conducted by the OAHPP PHL. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and provincial health units do not perform Lyme disease tests, nor are they the governing bodies of the PHL.

If you want more information on testing or have any concerns about your test results, please contact your physician.

5. What are the recommended treatments for Lyme disease?

Physicians are responsible for treating their patients according to their signs, symptoms and laboratory results. The most common treatment of Lyme diseases is a course of antibiotics. The MOHLTC does not give specific recommendations on treatment as the responsibility lies with the treating physician.

6. Who is responsible for doctor awareness and education regarding Lyme disease and its diagnosis?

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO)., the Ontario Medical Association (OMA), and medical schools across Ontario remain the most appropriate bodies through which physicians are provided information.

7. I am worried about Lyme disease and I sometimes find ticks on my family members and even our pets; can I get these ticks tested for Lyme disease?

People who find ticks on themselves are encouraged to submit the ticks to their local health unit; physicians and public health officials can submit human-borne ticks to the PHL for identification.

If a tick is identified as Ixodes scapularis (blacklegged or deer tick), it is sent to the National Microbiology Laboratory and tested for the agent of Lyme disease. Ticks collected from animals are not sent for identification or Lyme disease testing.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Maladie de Lyme : Foire aux questions

Régions présentant un risque

1. Quelles régions de l'Ontario présentent le risque le plus élevé de rencontrer des tiques à pattes noires et de contracter la maladie de Lyme?

Même s'il est faible, il y a toujours un risque potentiel de contracter la maladie de Lyme (agent causal : Borrelia burgdorferi) partout en Ontario; cependant, le risque augmente là où on retrouve des populations établies ou endémiques de la tique qui transmet l'agent de la maladie de Lyme (la tique à patte noire ou tique du cerf, Ixodes scapularis). En Ontario, les tiques à pattes noires se trouvent plus fréquemment dans les régions situées le long de la côte nord du lac Érié, du lac Ontario et du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Voici les endroits où on retrouve des populations endémiques de tiques : le parc provincial Long Point, le parc provincial Turkey Point, le parc provincial Rondeau, le parc national Pointe-Pelée, la réserve nationale de faune de Prince Edward Point, l'aire de conservation Wainfleet Bog, ainsi que la région du parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent.

2. Quelle est la différence entre une population « établie » et une population « endémique » de tiques à pattes noires?

La récurrence annuelle de la maladie de Lyme dépend de la présence d'une population endémique de tiques qui se reproduisent dans une région. Une population établie se définit comme une population de tiques récurrente annuellement et qui se reproduit, au sein de laquelle on retrouve tous les stades de développement (c.-à-d. des larves, des nymphes et des adultes), sans que la maladie de Lyme soit présente. Une population endémique est une population établie qui présente des cas de transmission de la maladie de Lyme entre les tiques à pattes noires et des populations animales résidentes.

3. J'habite près, mais à l'extérieur, d'une région où est présente une population endémique de tiques à pattes noires; est-ce que je présente de même un risque de contracter la maladie de Lyme? Les limites des régions établies sont-elles bien définies?

Les limites précises de ces populations de tiques sont difficiles à définir et s'étendront éventuellement vers d'autres régions voisines, si le climat et les conditions de l'habitat sont favorables.

On sait que les tiques à pattes noires se nourrissent sur les oiseux migrateurs et peuvent, par conséquent, être transportées partout en Ontario, à partir de populations endémiques dans la province et aux États-Unis. Il est possible de retrouver des tiques à pattes noires presque partout dans la province; cependant, plus on se déplace loin des régions où sont présentes des populations endémiques de tiques, plus le risque diminue.

4. Je voyage partout en Ontario, au Canada et aux États-Unis; quelles sont les régions où on retrouve des populations endémiques de tiques à pattes noires?

En Amérique du Nord, les régions qui présentent le plus grand risque d'exposition aux tiques associées à la maladie de Lyme sont dans le nord-est (p. ex. Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey et New York), ainsi que dans le Midwest (p. ex. Minnesota et Wisconsin). Au Canada, les tiques à pattes noires se retrouvent dans le sud-ouest du Québec, le sud et l'est de l'Ontario, le sud-est du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi que dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Remarque : En Colombie-Britannique, la tique vectrice est appelée la tique occidentale à pattes noires ou Ixodes pacificus.

Les Ontariennes et les Ontariens qui voyagent dans des régions présentant un risque élevé doivent adopter des précautions lorsqu'ils vont à l'extérieur. Les tiques à pattes noires infectées par l'agent de la maladie de Lyme sont beaucoup plus fréquentes aux États-Unis comparativement aux régions relativement limitées du sud et de l'est de l'Ontario. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, l'Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC) et leurs partenaires continuent à faire de la recherche afin d'identifier les populations de tiques nouvelles et émergentes en Ontario et à évaluer les risques pour la santé publique grâce à la prévalence de l'agent de la maladie de Lyme.

Diagnostic, analyses et traitement

1. Quelles sont les analyses utilisées pour diagnostiquer la maladie de Lyme? Ces analyses sont-elles largement acceptées par la santé publique et la science?

Les laboratoires de santé publique de l'Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé font des analyses sérologiques (sanguines) pour détecter l'agent responsable de la maladie de Lyme - B. burgdorferi.

Les laboratoires de santé publique suivent un protocole d'analyse en deux volets (c.-à-d. un essai immunoenzymatique et une épreuve immunoblot). Ce procédé est conforme aux recommandations du Réseau des laboratoires de santé publique du Canada et utilise des trousses d'analyses approuvées par Santé Canada.

2. Des laboratoires privés offrent des analyses pour la maladie de Lyme; ces analyses respectent-elles les normes canadiennes et américaines scientifiquement validées?

Les laboratoires privés peuvent ne pas suivre les mêmes protocoles d'analyses et recommandations que la plupart des laboratoires canadiens et américains.

On a constaté que des établissements privés effectuant des analyses utilisaient des méthodes d'analyse qui n'étaient pas totalement éprouvées.

3. Les analyses sanguines et leurs résultats sont-ils les seuls éléments dont les médecins disposent pour diagnostiquer la maladie de Lyme?

La sérologie n'est qu'un des nombreux facteurs diagnostics que les médecins évaluent lorsqu'ils examinent la possibilité qu'une personne soit atteinte de la maladie de Lyme. Elle ne devrait jamais être utilisée comme facteur unique de diagnostic.

Les médecins interprètent les résultats d'analyses sérologiques parallèlement aux signes et symptômes cliniques, ainsi qu'avec un examen détaillé des antécédents d'exposition aux tiques du patient.

4. Qui a la responsabilité d'effectuer les analyses sérologiques pour la maladie de Lyme en Ontario?

Les analyses pour la maladie de Lyme sont effectuées par les laboratoires de santé publique de l'Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et les bureaux de santé provinciaux ne font pas d'analyses pour la maladie de Lyme et ne régissent pas les laboratoires de santé publique.

Si vous désirez obtenir plus de renseignements sur les analyses ou si vous avez des préoccupations concernant les résultats de vos analyses, parlez-en à votre médecin.

5. Quels sont les traitements recommandés pour lutter contre la maladie de Lyme?

Les médecins sont responsables de traiter leurs patients en fonction de leurs signes, symptômes et résultats de laboratoire. Le traitement le plus fréquent pour la maladie de Lyme est une cure d'antibiotiques. Le MSSLD ne fait pas de recommandations particulières aux médecins en matière de traitement puisque cette responsabilité repose sur le médecin traitant.

6. Qui a la responsabilité de sensibiliser et de former les médecins sur la maladie de Lyme et son diagnostic?

L'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, l'Ontario Medical Association (OMA) et les écoles de médecine de tout l'Ontario demeurent les organismes les plus appropriés grâce auxquels les médecins reçoivent de l'information.

7. La maladie de Lyme m'inquiète et il m'arrive de trouver des tiques sur les membres de ma famille et nos animaux domestiques; est-il possible de faire analyser ces tiques pour la maladie de Lyme?

Les personnes qui trouvent des tiques sur elles sont encouragées à les apporter à leur bureau de santé local; les médecins et les fonctionnaires de la santé publique peuvent envoyer des tiques trouvées sur des humains à des laboratoires de la santé publique à des fins d'identification.

Si on identifie une tique Ixodes scapularis (tique à pattes noires ou tique du cerf), elle est envoyée au Laboratoire national de microbiologie et analysée pour l'agent de la maladie de Lyme. Les tiques recueillies sur les animaux ne sont pas envoyées pour être identifiées ou pour subir des analyses pour la maladie de Lyme.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.