Publications

Diseases : Plague

Plague is an infectious disease caused by the bacterium Yersinia pestis, which is found in rodents and their fleas throughout the world. There are three types of plague : bubonic, pneumonic and septicemic.

Bubonic plague is the most common. Infection appears in the lymph nodes, causing them to swell and become painful. Infection results from the bite of an infected flea that has fed on an infected rodent, such as a rat.

Pneumonic plague is the most deadly form of plague but the least common. It occurs when Y. pestis infects the lungs. It can be spread through airborne droplets released through coughs or sneezes by a person or animal, especially a domestic cat, with pneumonic plague.

Septicemic plague can occur with either bubonic or pneumonic plague.

Symptoms

All forms of plague begin with flu-like symptoms. The first signs of illness are fever, chills, headache, weakness and muscle pain, and can include nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and abdominal pain. Pneumonic plague results in pneumonia that causes a cough producing bloody or watery sputum. The pneumonia progresses over two to four days and may cause septic shock and, without early treatment, death.

Treatment*

Several antibiotics can effectively treat plague. Early antibiotic treatment of pneumonic plague is essential. Preventative antibiotic treatment for seven days will protect persons who have had face-to-face contact with infected patients.

Further Information

Anyone with concerns or questions about human plague : please contact your physician or the staff of your local public health unit.

References

The information provided is subject to change. The information was collated from the following three sources :

1. Chin, J. "Control of Communicable Diseases Manual". 17th Edition. 2000. American Public Health Association: Washington D.C.
2. Health Canada website
3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website

*Advice on the most up-to-date treatment should be sought from a clinical expert.

January 2003

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Maladies : Peste

La peste est une maladie infectieuse causée par la bactérie Yersinia pestis, qui est présente chez les rongeurs et leurs puces. Il y a trois types de pestes : bubonique, pneumonique et septicémique.

La peste bubonique est la plus fréquente.L'infection provoque l'enflure des ganglions lymphatiques qui deviennentdouloureux. L'infection est causée par la morsure d'une puce infectéequi se nourrissait sur un rongeur infecté, tel qu'un rat.

La peste pneumonique est la forme la plus mortellede cette maladie, mais aussi la plus rare. L'infection se produitlorsque la bactérie Yersinia pestis envahit les poumons. Celle-ci esttransmise par les gouttelettes en suspension dans l'air qui sontexpulsées lorsqu'une personne ou un animal infecté tousse ou éternue, enparticulier par un chat atteint de la peste pneumonique.

La peste septicémique peut accompagner la peste bubonique ou la peste pneumonique.

Symptômes

Les premiers symptômes de toutes les formes de la peste sontsemblables à ceux de la grippe. Les premiers signes de la maladie sontla fièvre, les frissons, les maux de tête, la faiblesse et les douleursmusculaires, et les symptômes peuvent aussi inclure la nausée, lesvomissements, la diarrhée et les douleurs abdominales. La pestepneumonique provoque une pneumonie qui peut causer une toux accompagnéed'expectorations hémeptoïques ou séreuses. La pneumonie progressependant deux à quatre jours et elle peut provoquer un choc septique et,sans traitement précoce, la mort.

Traitement*

La peste peut être traitée efficacement avec plusieurs antibiotiques.Il est essentiel que le traitement de la peste aux antibiotiques soitentrepris le plus tôt possible. Un traitement préventif auxantibiotiques pendant une période de sept jours permet de protéger lespersonnes qui ont eu un contact direct avec des patients infectés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour toute préoccupation ou question au sujet de la peste humaine,veuillez communiquer avec votre médecin ou avec le personnel du bureaude santé publique de votre localité.

Références

Les renseignements fournis sont sujets à changement. Les renseignements proviennent des trois sources suivantes :

1. Chin, J. "Control of Communicable Diseases Manual". 17th Edition. 2000. American Public Health Association: Washington D.C.
2. Santé Canada
3. Site Web du Center for Disease Control and Prevention

*Les conseils concernant le traitement approprié doivent être obtenus auprès d'un spécialiste clinique.

janvier 2003

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.