What is Salmonella?
Salmonella is a bacteria that can cause food-borne infection called Salmonellosis. Symptoms include sudden onset of fever, headache, diarrhea, stomach cramps, nausea and sometimes vomiting. Symptoms can occur from 6 to 72 hours after becoming infected.

How is Salmonellosis spread?
Salmonella infection is spread by eating food contaminated by feces of an infected animal or person, or by drinking contaminated water. It can also be spread from person-to-person. Proper hand washing and safe food handling are key to preventing food-borne illnesses such as Salmonellosis. 

Where is Salmonella found?
Salmonella is found in domestic and wild
animals, including poultry, wild birds, swine, cattle, and rodents. Reptiles such as iguanas, bearded dragons, turtles, and domestic pets such as chicks, dogs and cats may harbour the bacteria. Humans are carriers of certain types of salmonella.

How are Salmonella outbreaks caused?
Outbreaks have been caused by inadequately cooked poultry and poultry products, uncooked or lightly cooked foods containing egg and egg products, raw milk and dairy products including dried milk. Foods have been contaminated with feces from infected food handlers. Salmonella infections have been caused by foods such as meat and poultry products processed or prepared with contaminated utensils or on contaminated work surfaces.

Salmonella outbreaks have also been linked to raw fruits and vegetables (including sprouts) and unpasteurized milk and milk products such as raw milk cheese. 

Contaminated water supplies can also cause salmonella infections. Fecal-oral transmission may be the cause when diarrhea is present in infants.

How Can You Prevent Salmonellosis?

  • Wash hands thoroughly before, during and after food preparation.
  • If you have diarrhea do not prepare food, care for hospitalized patients, the elderly or children.
  • Cook ground poultry and poultry pieces to a minimum temperature of 74°C (165°F). Whole poultry must be cooked to 82°C (180°F). Cook other ground meats to 71°C (160°F). Use a probe thermometer to verify cooking temperatures.
  • Place cooked foods on clean surfaces to prevent recontamination.
  • Do not leave food at room temperature for longer than two hours.
  • Use only pasteurized milk and milk products.
  • Thoroughly cook eggs.  Do not consume raw eggs or inadequately cooked eggs (over easy, or sunny side up). Do not use an egg if it appears that the shell has been broken or damaged before you handle it.
  • Avoid eating raw eggs (as in homemade ice cream or eggnog). Commercially manufactured ice cream and eggnog are made with pasteurized eggs.  
  • Thoroughly wash fruits and vegetables before eating them.
  • When buying, preparing and storing food, keep raw meats separate from fruits, vegetables, cooked foods and ready-to-eat foods.
  • Reptiles have been associated with Salmonellosis; always wash your hands after handling them. Reptiles, including turtles, are not appropriate pets for children.
  • Salmonella infections can be serious in infants and young children, pregnant women and their unborn babies, and older adults, who are at a higher risk for food-borne illness, as are people with weakened immune systems (such as those with HIV/AIDS, cancer, diabetes, kidney disease, and transplant patients).

For more information on Salmonella Prevention, visit Health Canada's website

See also :

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

La salmonellose

Que sont les salmonelles?
Les salmonelles sont des bactéries susceptibles de provoquer la maladie d'origine alimentaire appelée salmonellose. Les symptômes sont les suivants : poussées de fièvre subites, maux de tête, diarrhée, crampes abdominales et nausées pouvant aller jusqu'aux vomissements. Ces symptômes peuvent survenir de 6 à 72 heures après l'infection.

Comment la salmonellose se contracte-t-elle?
La maladie provoquée par les salmonelles se contracte en consommant des aliments contaminés par les matières fécales d'animaux ou de personnes contaminés, ou en buvant de l'eau contaminée. Elle peut également se transmettre de personne à personne. Un bon lavage des mains et la manipulation sécuritaire de la nourriture sont essentiels afin d'éviter les maladies d'origine alimentaire telles que la salmonellose.

Quelles sont les sources de salmonelles?
Les salmonelles se développent chez les animaux domestiques et sauvages, notamment la volaille, les oiseaux sauvages, les porcs, le bétail et les rongeurs. Certains reptiles, comme l'iguane, le lézard à barbe, la tortue et des animaux domestiques tels que les poussins, les chiens et les chats peuvent véhiculer la bactérie. Les humains sont porteurs de certaines variétés de salmonelles.

Quelles sont les causes d'épidémies dues aux salmonelles?
Les épidémies sont causées par la consommation de volaille ou de produits à base de volaille mal cuits, d'aliments crus ou légèrement cuits contenant des œufs ou des produits à base d'œufs, du lait cru et des produits laitiers comme le lait en poudre. Il arrive que des aliments soient infectés par les excréments de préposés à la manutention des aliments contaminés. L'infection par les salmonelles peut être provoquée par des aliments, tels que des produits à base de viande ou de volaille, manipulés ou préparés à l'aide d'ustensiles ou sur des plans de travail contaminés.

Certaines épidémies de salmonelles ont également été attribuées à la consommation de fruits ou de légumes frais (notamment les choux), et de lait et de produits laitiers non pasteurisés comme le fromage au lait cru.

La contamination des ressources en eau peut également être à l'origine d'une maladie provoquée par les salmonelles. La propagation des matières fécales à la bouche est susceptible d'en être la source lorsque des diarrhées se déclarent chez les nourrissons.

Comment prévenir la salmonellose?

  • Lavez-vous bien les mains avant, pendant et après avoir fait la cuisine.
  • Ne cuisinez pas, ne soignez pas de patients hospitalisés, ni de personnes âgées ou d'enfants si vous avez la diarrhée.
  • Cuisez le hachis et les morceaux de volaille à une température minimum de 74°C (165°F). Les volailles entières doivent être cuites à 82°C (180°F). Cuisez les autres viandes hachées à 71°C (160°F). Utilisez un thermomètre pour vérifier la température de cuisson.
  • Entreposez les aliments cuits sur des surfaces propres pour éviter qu'ils soient une nouvelle fois contaminés.
  • Ne laissez pas les aliments à température ambiante pendant plus de deux heures.
  • N'utilisez que du lait et des produits laitiers pasteurisés.
  • Faites bien cuire vos œufs. Ne consommez pas d'œufs crus ou mal cuits (œufs tournés ou au plat). N'utilisez pas un œuf dont la coquille semble avoir été brisée ou endommagée.
  • Évitez de manger des œufs crus (crème glacée ou lait de poule maison). La crème glacée et le lait de poule industriels sont fabriqués avec du lait pasteurisé.
  • Lavez minutieusement les fruits et légumes avant de les consommer.
  • Lorsque vous achetez, préparez et entreposez des aliments, veillez à séparer les viandes crues des fruits, légumes, aliments cuits et plats préparés.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la prévention de la salmonellose, visitez le site Web de Santé Canada.

Liens connexes

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.