Publications

Ontario Programs for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention

Health promotion and disease prevention play a key role in Ontario's health system. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care works to develop community-based programs in co-operation with Public Health Units across Ontario and a wide range of local partners, such as health service providers, health and community organizations, schools, businesses, and volunteers. These programs are designed to address specific local needs while mobilizing broader community participation and resources in support of health promotion activities :

Alcohol and Substance Abuse Prevention
Heart Health
Tobacco Use Reduction
Promoting Physical Activity
Protecting Children
Nutrition

Back to top

Alcohol and Substance Abuse Prevention

The Focus Community Program

Alcohol and other substance abuse is a serious problem that takes its toll on individuals, families and society as a whole. The estimated cost to Ontario of alcohol and substance abuse is 9.2 billion per year in health care, law enforcement, and lost labour productivity. Alcohol use alone accounts for about one-half of these costs. It is estimated that 10 percent of all deaths in Ontario result, directly or indirectly, from alcohol consumption.

The Ministry has developed a five-year, $12-million Focus Community Program to prevent alcohol and other drug abuse 21 communities across Ontario that have demonstrated a commitment to addressing this issue. Children and youth are key audiences, with each project being asked to allocate at least one third of its budget to reaching young people.

The Focus Community Program builds on the success of a demonstration project to prevent alcohol and substance abuse at sites in 11 communities. An evaluation found that the demonstration project provided a promising model for preventing alcohol and other substance abuse. Based on these findings, as well as national and international research, the Ministry has developed a 5-year provincial Focus Community Program for implementation at the 11 existing sites, as well as at 10 new ones.

In all of the sites, a local agency with a mandate to prevent substance abuse will take the lead in implementing Focus. The Addiction Research Foundation, a division of the Addiction and Mental Health Services Corporation, has participated in the development of the Focus program and the selection of the sites. At the invitation of the Ministry, these agencies prepared their Focus applications in conjunction with local partners, such as injury prevention coalitions, businesses, schools, health agencies, recreation centres, police, and voluntary groups. About 220 groups in total are partners in a Focus Community Program.

Ministry funding will support program costs and staff resources. The participating communities have matched ministry funding with local in-kind resources on a 1:1 basis. As a result, the local program partners have contributed resources valued at over $2.5 million for the first year of programming.

The existing Focus sites include four in Toronto (Black Creek in the Jane and Finch area; Parkdale; Regent Park; and O'Connor). The others are located in Vanier (Ottawa); Windsor; Port Colborne/Wainfleet; North Bay; Sault Ste. Marie; Wawa; and West Bay First Nation (Manitoulin Island).

The new Focus sites are located in Fort Francis; Ignace; Kingston; Muskoka/Parry Sound; Walkerton; Red Lake/Ear Falls; Renfrew Country; Simcoe County; Smith Falls and Thunder Bay.

Action, the Alcohol, Cannabis and Tobacco Health Promotion Project for Youth, is a program to prevent the use of these substances among grade 7, 8 and 9 students. The program includes a teacher's kit , a community kit and a CD-ROM for students. A three-year grant has been provided to the Ontario Physical and Health Education Association (OPHEA) to assist educators and health professionals across Ontario to implement Action in their communities.

The Ontario Drug Awareness Partnership (ODAP) coordinates the annual drug awareness week campaign in Ontario. Working with groups such as the Ontario Secondary School Students' Association, Parents Against Drugs, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Partnership supports the efforts of 75 local Drug Awareness Week Committees which have planned approximately 500 different activities in communities across Ontario, many of which target youth.

The Family and Youth Information Program (FYI) at Parents Against Drugs (PAD), offers support to families concerned about their adolescent's or young adult's use of alcohol and/or drugs. FYI's goal is to develop, initiate, deliver and promote quality prevention information, educational programs and health promotion activities for children, their families and their communities.

Preventive Education Programs and Information Services at the Council on Drug Abuse (CODA) is designed to increase awareness and understanding of the effects of alcohol and other drug abuse through education, information dissemination and networking. Emphasis is placed on providing education to youth and those associated with youth including parents and teachers.

The Alcohol Policy Network (APN) of the Ontario Public Health Association (OPHA) supports communities to prevent alcohol abuse. The network works with public and community health professionals to ensure they acquire the skills and knowledge required for more effective alcohol prevention. The APN develops resource materials, coordinates a web site and organizes professional development workshops. In 1998-1999, materials will be distributed to over 800 people and over 500 professionals will be reached through training programs.

Back to top

Heart Health

The Heart Health Program, a $17 million, five year investment in preventing cardiovascular disease, is delivered through public health units and their local partners across the province. It is the largest program of its kind ever undertaken in North America, and makes Ontario the leading jurisdiction for heart health programming. The program's goal is to raise public awareness of the three key lifestyle factors linked to a reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and cancer. It encourages people to make the positive changes necessary to protect their health-avoiding tobacco use, eating a healthy low-fat diet with plenty of fruits and vegetables, and staying active throughout life.

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care provides funding for the Heart Health Resource Centre at the Ontario Public Health Association. The Centre provides consultation, training and resources to Heart Health programs across Ontario. It also houses the Heart Health Network, a provincial network of health professionals working in the field of cardiovascular disease prevention.

Back to top

Tobacco Use Reduction

The Province of Ontario takes a comprehensive approach to curbing tobacco use that has served as a model for other provinces, including Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. The three main elements are: prevention of tobacco use; protection from exposure to environmental smoke, particularly among children and adolescents; and support for smoking cessation.

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care funds four Tobacco Strategy resource centres to support health professional and community agencies to design and implement effective anti-tobacco use programsĀ :

  • The Council for a Tobacco-Free Ontario supports 55 voluntary local tobacco-free councils, and organizes activities in Ontario for National Non-Smoking Week and World No-Tobacco Day.
  • The Canadian Council for Tobacco Control is a central source of information on tobacco and supports an internationally acclaimed website on tobacco-related issues.
  • The Program Training and Consultation Centre provides expert advice and training workshops to assist health units, local tobacco-free councils, and voluntary agencies in implementing tobacco use reduction programs.
  • The Smoking and Health Action Foundation conducts tobacco policy research and legislative analysis at the provincial, national and international levels.

The Strategy also entails aggressive enforcement of tobacco control legislation. Since 1994, more than 2,400 tickets have been issued and an additional 2,288 charges laid for offenses related to selling tobacco to minors. That's more than in all other provinces in Canada combined.

The government's overall strategy for children includes a commitment to ensure that children at risk get a better start in life. A number of programs are working to achieve this goal.

Back to top

Promoting Physical Activity

The Summeractive Campaign is a seasonal provincial initiative to increase awareness and understanding of the benefits of regular physical activity. Over a three-year period, ParticipAction Ontario will provide over 5,000 community leaders and volunteers in local organizations such as schools, boards of health and workplaces with promotional and consumer education materials and contest ideas to implement community-based physical activity programs from May to June, on an annual basis.

Active Schools is a four year initiative to increase the number of active children and youth across the province. The Ontario Physical and Health Education Association is supporting the coordinated implementation of school-based and co-curricular programs, with the cooperation of key provincial partners from education, health, recreation, academia and non-governmental sectors.

Over the past four years, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the Ministry of Citizenship, Culture and Recreation have jointly funded the Active Living Community Action Project. Through regional training, consultation, community mobilization and communication support, the project assists over 8,500 community leaders with 500 organizations in 250 communities in implementing effective programs to increase the number active Ontarians.

Back to top

Protecting Children

The Best StartĀ : Community Action for Healthy Babies Program works to lower the number of babies born underweight, a key indicator of poor maternal and infant health. Low birth weight has been statistically linked with the development of long-term disabilities.

Two Best Start sites - one in Barrie and the other in the District of Algoma - promote the health of women and families before, during, and after pregnancy, by delivering programs in schools, workplaces, and other settings. Tobacco use prevention, healthy nutritional habits, alcohol-abuse prevention, and preventing teen pregnancy are key themes. The Best Start Resource Centre, housed at the Ontario Prevention Clearinghouse in Toronto, provides training, information, and consultation to the sites. The Best Start: Community Action for Healthy Babies Program receives annual funding of $900,000 from the province.

Better Beginnings, Better Futures serves families with young children living in high-risk neighbourhoods. The program teaches parenting skills while giving children supports to do better in school.

Healthy Babies/Healthy Children is designed to give children a better start in life. Its aim is to identify and care for families with young children at risk of physical, emotional or learning problems. This $10 million program provides home visits to newborns by public health nurses and trained home visitors.

The Preschool Speech and Language Services program has received $20 million to ensure that double the number of children with speech and language disorders will get help before they start school. The goal is to provide preschool speech and language services for 75,000 children by 2002, up from about 20,000 in 1997.

Back to top

Nutrition

A Provincial Food Service Program to promote healthy eating, food safety and reduce exposure to second-hand smoke is being developed by Toronto Public Health and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario, with funding of $108,750 from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. Planned with the Ontario Restaurant Association, the program will support volunteers and boards of health to implement effective programs in local food service establishments.

The Healthy Eating Program facilitates the effective use of an adult education resource in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario, local boards of health and the Ontario Public Health Association. Its supports community leaders and volunteers to encourage the adoption of healthy eating habits, with annual funding of $50,000.

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care co-funds the Community Advisor Program, an initiative of the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food. The program is currently being carried out in 16 communities, and provides skills training to volunteers on healthy eating, food safety, food selection, preparation and storage, with Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care funding of $75,000 in 1998/99.

Food Steps, a self-help healthy eating program to reduce dietary fat intake in adults is being developed by the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit, in partnership with selected boards of health, the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario. It includes self-help guides for men and women and a community leader's guide to assist local groups and volunteers in implementing the program. A provincial launch of the program is planned in the Fall of 1998.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Programmes ontariens de promotion de la santé et de prévention de la maladie

La promotion de la santé et la prévention de la maladie jouent un rôle clé dans le système de santé ontarien. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée s'applique à mettre sur pied des programmes communautaires en collaboration avec les Bureaux de santé publique des différentes régions de l'Ontario et un large éventail de partenaires locaux, comme les fournisseurs de services de santé, les organismes de santé et de services communautaires, les écoles, les entreprises et les bénévoles. Ces programmes sont conçus pour répondre à des besoins locaux particuliers tout en mobilisant la participation et les ressources de l'ensemble de la collectivité pour appuyer les activités de promotion de la santé.

Prévention de l'alcoolisme et de la toxicomanie

Programme Communautés cibles

L'alcoolisme et l'abus d'autres substances est un grave problème qui coûte cher aux personnes touchées, à leurs familles et à la société dans son ensemble. On estime que les coûts en soins de santé, en application de la loi et en perte de productivité au travail attribuables à l'alcoolisme et à la toxicomanie s'élèvent à 9,2 milliards de dollars par année en Ontario. Environ la moitié de ces coûts sont associés à l'alcoolisme seulement. On estime que 10 % de tous les décès en Ontario découlent, directement ou indirectement, de la consommation d'alcool.

Le Ministère a élaboré un programme quinquennal de 12 millions de dollars, le programme Communautés cibles, pour prévenir l'alcoolisme et l'abus d'autres drogues dans les 21 collectivités de l'Ontario qui ont pris l'engagement de s'attaquer à ce problème. Les enfants et les adolescents sont particulièrement visés par cette initiative, avec au moins un tiers du budget de chaque projet devant servir à rejoindre cette clientèle.

Le programme Communautés cibles s'appuie sur le succès remporté par un projet pilote de prévention de l'alcoolisme et de la toxicomanie mené dans 11 collectivités. L'évaluation du projet a démontré qu'il s'agissait d'un modèle prometteur de prévention de l'alcoolisme et de la toxicomanie. Partant de ces conclusions et des recherches nationales et internationales menées sur le sujet, le Ministère a mis au point un programme Communautés cibles d'envergure provinciale, échelonné sur cinq ans, qui doit être mis en oeuvre dans les 11 collectivités existantes plus 10 nouvelles.

Dans les 21 collectivités sélectionnées, un organisme local oeuvrant pour la prévention de la toxicomanie dirigera le processus de mise en place du programme. La Fondation de la recherche sur la toxicomanie, une division du Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale, a participé à l'élaboration du programme Communautés cibles et à la sélection des collectivités. Ces organismes ont été invités par le Ministère à préparer leur proposition conjointement avec des partenaires locaux, comme les coalitions pour la prévention des blessures, les entreprises, les écoles, les organismes de santé, les centres de loisirs, la police et les groupes bénévoles. Au total, environ 220 groupes sont des partenaires du programme Communautés cibles.

L'appui financier du Ministère est affecté aux coûts du programme et aux ressources en personnel. Les collectivités participantes fournissent une contribution équivalente à celle du ministère sous forme de ressources locales autres que financières. Les ressources fournies par les partenaires locaux totalisent en bout de ligne plus de 2,5 millions de dollars pour la première année du programme.

Parmi les 11 collectivités existantes du programme, on en compte quatre à Toronto (Black Creek dans le secteur Jane et Finch; Parkdale; Regent Park et O'Connor) et une aux endroits suivants : Vanier (Ottawa), Windsor, Port Colborne/Wainfleet, North Bay, Sault Ste-Marie, Wawa et Première nation de West Bay (île Manitoulin).

Les nouvelles collectivités choisies pour la mise en oeuvre du programme sont situées à Fort Francis, Ignace, Kingston, Muskoka/Parry Sound, Walkerton, Red Lake/Ear Falls, comté de Renfrew, comté de Simcoe, Smith Falls et Thunder Bay.

Action, L'Alcool, le cannabis et le tabac - Un projet pour la promotion de la santé auprès des jeunes, est un programme destiné à prévenir la consommation de ces substances auprès des élèves de 7e, 8e et 9e année. Le programme comporte une trousse pour les enseignants, une trousse communautaire et un CD-ROM pour les élèves. Une subvention de trois ans a été versée à l'Association pour la santé et l'éducation physique de l'Ontario pour aider les éducateurs et les professionnels de la santé de partout en Ontario à instaurer le programme Action dans leurs collectivités respectives.

Le Partenariat ontarien de sensibilisation aux drogues coordonne la campagne annuelle menée en Ontario dans le cadre de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux drogues. Avec l'appui de groupes comme l'Association des étudiants d'école secondaire de l'Ontario, Parents Against Drugs et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, le Partenariat soutient les efforts de 75 comités organisateurs locaux de la Semaine de sensibilisation aux drogues, qui ont planifié environ 500 activités différentes un peu partout en Ontario, dont un grand nombre à l'intention des jeunes.

Le Family and Youth Information Program (FYI) de Parents Against Drugs (PAD) est un programme de soutien pour les familles qui s'inquiètent des habitudes de consommation d'alcool ou de drogues de leurs adolescents ou jeunes adultes. Le but du programme FYI est de mettre au point, d'offrir et de promouvoir des programmes éducatifs, de l'information sur la prévention et des activités de promotion de la santé de qualité à l'intention des enfants, de leurs familles et de leurs collectivités.

Les programmes d'éducation préventive et les services d'information du Conseil sur l'usage abusif de la drogue cherchent à faire mieux connaître et comprendre les effets de l'alcoolisme et de la toxicomanie au moyen de l'éducation, de la diffusion de renseignements et du réseautage. L'accent est mis sur l'éducation des jeunes et des personnes de leur entourage, y compris les parents et les enseignants.

Le Alcohol Policy Network (APN) de l'Association pour la santé publique de l'Ontario (ASPO) apporte son appui aux collectivités dans leurs efforts de prévention de l'alcoolisme. Le réseau collabore avec des professionnels de la santé publique et communautaire pour faire en sorte qu'ils possèdent les compétences et les connaissances requises pour prévenir plus efficacement l'alcoolisme. prépare des ressources documentaires, coordonne un site web et organise des ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel. En 1998-1999, on prévoyait distribuer des ressources à plus de 800 personnes et rejoindre plus de 500 professionnels par l'entremise des programmes de formation.

Santé cardiovasculaire

Le Programme de santé cardiovasculaire est un investissement sur cinq ans de 17 millions de dollars destiné à prévenir les maladies cardiovasculaires. Le programme est offert par les bureaux de santé publique et leurs partenaires locaux à la grandeur de la province. Il s'agit du plus imposant programme du genre jamais entrepris en Amérique du Nord, ce qui fait de l'Ontario un chef de file en matière de programmes de santé cardiovasculaire. Le but du programme est de sensibiliser davantage le public aux trois principales habitudes de vie associées à un risque réduit de maladie cardiovasculaire et de cancer. Il encourage les gens à apporter les changements positifs nécessaires dans leur vie pour protéger leur santé, c'est-à-dire éviter de fumer, adopter une alimentation saine faible en gras et riche en fruits et légumes, et faire de l'activité physique toute sa vie.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée verse 400 000 $ au centre de ressources sur la santé cardiovasculaire de l'Association pour la santé publique de l'Ontario. Le centre fournit des services de consultation et de formation ainsi que des ressources aux programmes de santé cardiovasculaire de partout en Ontario. Il loge aussi le Heart Health Network, un réseau provincial de professionnels de la santé qui travaillent dans le domaine de la prévention des maladies cardiovasculaires.

Réduction de l'usage du tabac

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a adopté une approche globale de réduction de l'usage du tabac qui a servi de modèle à d'autres provinces, comme le Québec, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Nouveau-Brunswick. Cette approche comporte trois éléments principaux : la prévention de l'usage du tabac, la protection contre l'exposition à la fumée dans l'environnement, surtout pour les enfants et les adolescents, et le soutien des efforts d'abandon du tabac.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée finance quatre centres de ressources de la Stratégie antitabac afin de soutenir les professionnels de la santé et les organismes communautaires dans leurs efforts pour mettre au point et instaurer des programmes efficaces de lutte contre l'usage du tabac :

Le Conseil anti-tabagisme de l'Ontario appuie 55 conseils anti-tabagisme locaux et bénévoles, en plus d'organiser des activités dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale des non-fumeurs et de la Journée mondiale sans tabac.

Le Centre national de documentation sur le tabac et la santé est une source centrale d'information sur le tabac. Le Centre a un site web sur les questions relatives au tabac qui a été acclamé internationalement.

Le Centre de formation et de consultation donne des conseils d'experts et des ateliers de formation pour aider les bureaux de santé, les conseils anti-tabagisme locaux et les organismes bénévoles à mettre en oeuvre des programmes de réduction du tabagisme.

La Fondation pour la lutte contre le tabac effectue des recherches en matière de politiques sur le tabac et des analyses législatives aux niveaux provincial, national et international.

La Stratégie comporte aussi des mesures vigoureuses d'application de la loi sur le contrôle du tabagisme. Depuis 1994, plus de 2 400 contraventions ont été données, sans compter les 2 228 accusations portées pour violation des règles concernant la vente de tabac à des mineurs. Ces chiffres sont supérieurs à ceux de toutes les autres provinces du Canada réunies.

Dans sa stratégie globale à l'intention des enfants, le gouvernement a pris l'engagement de veiller à ce que les enfants à risque puissent avoir un meilleur départ dans la vie. Un certain nombre de programmes contribuent à la réalisation de cet objectif.

Promotion de l'activité physique

La Campagne étéactif est une initiative provinciale saisonnière visant à faire mieux connaître et comprendre les bienfaits de l'activité physique régulière. Participaction Ontario fournira, sur une période de trois ans, du matériel promotionnel et éducatif ainsi que des suggestions de concours à plus de 5 000 dirigeants communautaires et bénévoles d'organisations locales, comme les écoles, conseils de santé et lieux de travail, pour encourager la mise en oeuvre de programmes communautaires d'activité physique de mai à juin chaque année.

Active Schools est une initiative d'une durée de quatre ans destinée à augmenter le nombre d'enfants et d'adolescents actifs dans l'ensemble de la province. L'Association pour la santé et l'éducation physique de l'Ontario facilite la mise en oeuvre coordonnée des programmes en milieu scolaire et parascolaires, avec la collaboration d'importants partenaires provinciaux du domaine de l'éducation, de la santé et des loisirs, du milieu universitaire et du secteur non gouvernemental.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée a financé le Programme communautaire de promotion de l'activité physique en Ontario, conjointement avec le ministère des Affaires civiques, de la Culture et des Loisirs. Ce programme aide plus de 8 500 dirigeants communautaires oeuvrant avec 500 organisations dans 250 collectivités à mettre en oeuvre des programmes efficaces pour accroître le nombre d'Ontariennes et d'Ontariens actifs, grâce à une formation régionale, un service de consultation, une mobilisation communautaire et un soutien à la communication.

Protection des enfants

Le programme Meilleur départ : Action communautaire pour la santé des bébés tente de réduire le nombre de bébés de faible poids à la naissance, un indicateur clé d'une mauvaise santé de la mère et du bébé. Sur le plan statistique, un faible poids à la naissance est associé au développement d'incapacités de longue durée.

Deux emplacements du programme Meilleur départ - un à Barrie et l'autre dans le district d'Algoma - font la promotion de la santé des femmes et des familles avant, pendant et après la grossesse, par la mise en place de programmes à cet effet dans les écoles, les lieux de travail et d'autres milieux. Les principaux thèmes abordés par le programme sont la prévention du tabagisme, les bonnes habitudes alimentaires, la prévention de l'alcoolisme et la prévention de la grossesse chez les adolescentes. Le centre de ressources du programme Meilleur départ, logé au Centre ontarien d'information en prévention de Toronto, offre des services de formation, d'information et de consultation aux collectivités qui offrent le programme. Le gouvernement provincial verse un financement annuel de 900 000 $ au programme Meilleur départ : Action communautaire pour la santé des bébés.

Partir d'un bon pas, pour un avenir meilleur s'adresse aux familles de jeunes enfants qui vivent dans des quartiers à risque élevé. Le programme dispense une formation en compétences parentales et apporte une aide aux enfants pour qu'ils réussissent mieux à l'école.

Bébés en santé, enfants en santé est un programme conçu pour permettre aux enfants d'avoir un meilleur départ dans la vie. L'objectif du programme est de détecter les familles ayant de jeunes enfants exposés à des problèmes physiques, affectifs ou d'apprentissage, et d'apporter un soutien à ces familles. Avec un budget de 10 millions de dollars, le programme offre une visite des nouveau-nés à domicile par des infirmières en santé publique et d'autres personnes spécialement formées.

L'Initiative préscolaire de rééducation du langage et de la parole a reçu un budget de 20 millions pour faire en sorte que deux fois plus d'enfants ayant des troubles du langage et de la parole reçoivent une aide avant de commencer l'école. L'objectif visé est d'offrir des services de rééducation dans ce domaine à 75 000 enfants d'âge préscolaire d'ici 2002, comparativement à environ 20 000 en 1997.

Nutrition

Un Programme de promotion de la santé dans le secteur de la restauration est en voie d'élaboration par le Service de santé publique de Toronto et la Fondation de l'Ontario des maladies du coeur, grâce à une aide financière de 108 750 $ du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Le programme vise à promouvoir une saine alimentation, la sécurité des aliments et la réduction de l'exposition à la fumée secondaire. Le programme est planifié avec la collaboration de l'Ontario Restaurant Association et apportera un soutien aux bénévoles et aux conseils de santé pour la mise en oeuvre de programmes efficaces dans les établissements de restauration locaux.

Le Programme pour manger sainement promouvoit l'utilisation efficace d'une ressource éducative pour adultes, en partenariat avec la Société canadienne du cancer, division de l'Ontario, la Fondation de l'Ontario des maladies du coeur, les conseils de santé locaux et l'Association pour la santé publique de l'Ontario. Grâce à un financement annuel de 50 000 $, le programme soutient les dirigeants communautaires et les bénévoles dans leurs efforts pour encourager l'adoption de saines habitudes alimentaires.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée collabore au financement du Programme des conseillers communautaires en alimentation, une initiative du ministère ontarien de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales. Grâce à ce programme, actuellement offert dans 16 collectivités, des bénévoles acquièrent des compétences en matière de saine alimentation, de sécurité des aliments, de sélection, de préparation et d'entreposage de la nourriture. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée a versé 75 000 $ au programme en 1998-1999.

Nutri-Pas est un programme autonome de bonnes habitudes alimentaires qui vise à réduire la consommation de gras chez les adultes. Il est mis au point par le Bureau de santé du comté de Windsor-Essex, en partenariat avec certains conseils de santé, la division de l'Ontario de la Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation de l'Ontario des maladies du coeur. Le programme comporte des guides d'auto-apprentissage pour les hommes et les femmes ainsi qu'un guide d'animation communautaire pour aider les bénévoles et les groupes locaux dans leurs démarches pour instaurer ce programme dans leur milieu. Le lancement provincial du programme est prévu pour l'automne 1998.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info du ministère
de la Santé au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Les heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 

Visitez SanteOntario.com, le portail d'information sur la santé à l'intention des consommateurs.