Publications

Immunization : Measles, Mumps and Rubella MMR Vaccine

Vaccines (or needles or baby shots) are the best way to protect against some very serious infections. The Canadian Paediatric Society and the National Advisory Committee on Immunization strongly recommend routine immunization.

The MMR vaccine is a three-in-one needle that protects against measles, mumps and rubella (German measles). It should be given to children soon after their first birthday. A second dose is given in combination with varicella (chicken pox), as MMRV (a four-in-one needle) at 4-6 years of age. Vaccination against measles, mumps and rubella is required by law for all children attending school in Ontario (unless exempted).

This vaccine should also be given to adults who are not protected against measles, mumps or rubella. Pregnant women who have been told that they are not protected against rubella, should receive MMR vaccine as soon as they are no longer pregnant.

Measles

Measles is a highly contagious viral infection that is spread through the air from person to person. 
Measles lives in the nose and throat mucus of an infected person. It can spread to others through coughing and sneezing. Also, measles virus can remain for up to two hours on a surface or in an airspace where the infected person coughed or sneezed. If other people breathe the contaminated air or touch the infected surface, then touch their eyes, noses, or mouths, they can become infected.

Symptoms of measles begin seven to 21 days, usually 10 to 14 days, after exposure to a case of measles and include fever, runny nose, cough, drowsiness, irritability and red eyes. Small white spots (known as "Koplik's spots") can appear on the inside of the mouth and throat, but are not always present. Then, three to seven days after the start of the symptoms, a red blotchy rash appears on the face and then progresses down the body.  Measles is contagious one day before fever develops and usually four days before the rash appears. Measles remains contagious until four days after the appearance of the rash.

Most people fully recover from measles within two to three weeks. But measles can cause complications in up to 25 per cent of people, such as pneumonia, ear infections, diarrhea, hearing loss, encephalitis (brain swelling), seizures, or, rarely, even death.  Measles can be especially dangerous for infants, those with weakened immune systems and pregnant women.

Mumps

Mumps is a contagious disease that is caused by the mumps virus. Mumps is spread by droplets of saliva or mucus from the mouth, nose, or throat of an infected person, usually when the person coughs or sneezes. Items used by an infected person, such as cups or utensils can also be contaminated with the virus, which may spread to others if those items are shared. In addition, the virus may spread when someone with mumps touches items or surfaces without washing their hands and someone else then touches the same surface and rubs their mouth or nose. 

Symptoms typically appear 16 to 18 days after infection, but this period can range from 12 to 25 days after infection. Mumps is best known for the swelling of the cheeks and jaw that it causes, which is a result of parotitis (inflammation of the salivary glands). Mumps also causes fever and headache. Mumps can be contagious from seven days before and up to five days after the salivary glands begin to swell. Up to half of people who get mumps have very mild or no symptoms, and therefore do not know they were infected with mumps.

People who show symptoms usually recover after a week or two, but mumps can occasionally cause serious complications.  The most common complication is orchitis (swelling of the testicles) in males who have reached puberty; rarely does this lead to fertility problems. Other rare complications include encephalitis (swelling of the brain) and/or meningitis (swelling of the tissue covering the brain and spinal cord) and oophoritis (swelling of the ovaries) in females who have reached puberty and deafness. Mumps infection during the first trimester of pregnancy may increase the risk of a miscarriage.

Rubella (German Measles)

Rubella is a contagious disease caused by a virus. Rubella is spread by contact with an infected person, through coughing and sneezing.

Symptoms typically appear about 14 to 21 days after being exposed to someone who was contagious.
The infection is usually mild with fever, rash, headache, malaise, mild runny nose (coryza) and red eyes (conjunctivitis).  The rash usually starts on the face and spreads to the rest of the body.  These symptoms last approximately three days. Rubella is contagious one week before and at least four days after the appearance of the rash. About half of the people who get rubella do not have symptoms. 

Complications are not common, but they occur more often in adults. Aching joints occur in many cases, especially among young women.  In rare cases, rubella can cause serious problems, including encephalitis (swelling of the brain).  Rubella is most dangerous for a pregnant woman's unborn baby. Infection during pregnancy can cause miscarriage, or birth defects like deafness, blindness, intellectual disability, and heart defects.

How well does MMR vaccine protect against measles, mumps and rubella?

The effectiveness of a single dose of measles-containing vaccine given at 12 or 15 months of age is estimated to be 85 per cent to 95 per cent. With a second dose, effectiveness is approximately 97 per cent. Effectiveness of mumps vaccination after one dose is estimated to be between 62 per cent and 91 per cent and between 76 per cent and 95 per cent after two doses.  At least 95 per cent of individuals develop rubella immunity after a single dose.  Protection from measles, mumps and rubella after getting the vaccine is life-long and further doses are not required.

Is the MMR vaccine safe?

The MMR vaccine is safe and effective. Most individuals will have no reaction. The vaccine can cause a malaise and fever, possibly with a rash, in approximately five per cent of children six to 23 days  after MMR immunization. Allergic reactions to the MMR vaccine are very rare. There is no evidence that the MMR vaccine causes autism.
The vaccine is safe for household members of people with immune system problems and household members of pregnant women. Breastfeeding women can receive the MMR vaccine.
Speak with your health care provider or local public health unit about the benefits and risks of the vaccine, as well as the risks of not getting vaccinated.

Who should not have MMR vaccine?

There are some groups who should generally not be given the vaccine such as, but not limited to:

  • Individuals who are pregnant (Women of childbearing age should be advised to avoid pregnancy for at least 1 month following immunization with MMR vaccine)
  • Individuals who have a history of anaphylaxis after previous administration of the product (or components of the vaccine)
  • Those who have medical conditions that may be contraindicated (for example, individuals with history of convulsions, certain immunosuppressant medications, congenital or hereditary immunodeficiency)

People who have problems with their immune system should speak with their health care provider to determine when MMR vaccine should be given. The vaccine is safe for household members of people with immune system problems.

Who should I talk to if I have any questions?

Talk to your health care provider or call your local public health unit.

Your record of protection

After you or your child receives any immunization, make sure the doctor updates the personal immunization record, the "Yellow Card". This will be your record to keep so that you know what immunizations you have received.

April 2015

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Information Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

L'immunisation :Vaccin ROR antirougeoleux, antiourlien et antirubéoleux

L'administration de vaccins (ou d'injections pour adultes ou pour bébés) est le meilleur moyen de prévenir certaines infections graves. La Société canadienne de pédiatrie et le Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation recommandent vivement de procéder à une immunisation systématique.

Le ROR offre une triple protection contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole. Il est recommandé de vacciner les enfants le plus rapidement possible après leur 1er anniversaire. À l'âge de 4 à 6 ans, on administre une deuxième dose intégrée à un vaccin qui protège contre quatre maladies, soit la rougeole, la rubéole, les oreillons et la varicelle (RROV). Aux termes de la loi, tous les enfants qui fréquentent l'école en Ontario doivent être vaccinés contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole (à moins d'avoir obtenu une dispense).

Le vaccin devrait également être administré aux adultes qui n'ont pas été immunisés contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole. Les femmes enceintes à qui on confirme qu'elles ne sont pas immunisées contre la rubéole devraient recevoir le vaccin ROR le plus tôt possible après l'accouchement.

La rougeole

La rougeole est une infection virale très contagieuse qui se transmet d'une personne à une autre par l'air.  La rougeole vit dans le mucus du nez et de la gorge d'une personne infectée. La toux et les éternuements peuvent constituer des vecteurs de transmission. Le virus de la rougeole peut également survivre jusqu'à deux heures sur une surface ou dans l'air de l'environnement où la personne infectée a toussé ou éternué. D'autres personnes qui respirent l'air contaminé ou qui touchent la surface infectée peuvent devenir à leur tour infectées si elles touchent ensuite leurs yeux, leur nez ou leur bouche.

Les symptômes de la rougeole apparaissent de 7 à 21 jours, généralement de 10 à 14 jours, après l'exposition à une personne infectée et comprennent la fièvre, l'écoulement nasal, la toux, la somnolence, l'irritabilité et des rougeurs aux yeux. De petites éruptions blanches (taches de Koplik) peuvent apparaître à l'intérieur de la bouche et dans la gorge, mais ne sont pas toujours présentes. De 3 à 7 jours après l'apparition des symptômes, une éruption de taches rouges apparaît ensuite sur le visage et se propage progressivement vers le bas du corps. La rougeole est contagieuse un jour après l'apparition de la fièvre et généralement 4 jours avant l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée. Elle demeure contagieuse jusqu'à 4 jours après l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée.

La plupart des gens se rétablissent complètement de la rougeole en 2 à 3 semaines. Jusqu'à 25 % des gens peuvent cependant présenter des complications liées à la rougeole comme la pneumonie, des infections de l'oreille, la diarrhée, la perte de l'ouïe, l'encéphalite (œdème cérébral), des convulsions ou, dans de rares cas, la mort. La rougeole peut être particulièrement dangereuse chez les nourrissons, les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli et les femmes enceintes.

Les oreillons

Les oreillons sont une maladie contagieuse causée par le virus des oreillons. Les oreillons se transmettent par des gouttelettes de salives ou le mucus de la bouche, du nez ou de la gorge d'une personne infectée, habituellement lorsque celle-ci tousse ou éternue. Les articles utilisés par une personne infectée, comme une tasse ou des ustensiles, peuvent aussi être contaminés par le virus, lequel peut se transmettre à d'autres personnes s'ils sont partagés. De plus, le virus peut aussi se propager lorsqu'une personne infectée touche des articles ou des surfaces sans s'être lavé les mains et que quelqu'un d'autre se frotte ensuite la bouche ou le nez après avoir touché cette même surface. 

Les symptômes apparaissent généralement de 16 à 18 jours après l'infection, mais cette période peut s'étendre de 12 à 25 jours après l'infection. Les oreillons sont connus pour le gonflement des joues et de la mâchoire qu'ils entraînent, qui est le résultat d'une parotidite (inflammation des glandes salivaires). Les oreillons peuvent aussi causer de la fièvre et des maux de tête. Ils peuvent être contagieux 7 jours avant et jusqu'à 5 jours après que les glandes salivaires commencent à enfler. Jusqu'à la moitié des personnes qui attrapent les oreillons n'ont que des symptômes très légers ou pas de symptômes du tout, et ignorent donc qu'elles ont été infectées par cette maladie.

Les personnes présentant des symptômes se rétablissent après une semaine ou deux, mais les oreillons peuvent parfois entraîner des complications graves. La complication la plus fréquente est l'orchite (gonflement des testicules) chez les hommes ayant atteint l'âge de la puberté, conséquence n'entraînant que rarement des problèmes de fertilité. L'encéphalite (oedème du cerveau), la méningite (oedème du tissu recouvrant le cerveau et la moelle épinière), l'ovarite (gonflement des ovaires) chez les femmes ayant atteint l'âge de la puberté et la surdité sont d'autres complications rares des oreillons. Les oreillons peuvent accroître le risque de fausse couche durant le premier trimestre de grossesse.

La rubéole

La rubéole est une maladie contagieuse causée par un virus. La rubéole se transmet par contact avec une personne infectée, lorsqu'elle tousse et éternue.
Les symptômes apparaissent généralement de 14 à 21 jours après l'exposition à une personne contagieuse.

L'infection est généralement bénigne et se traduit par de la fièvre, une éruption cutanée, un sentiment de malaise, un écoulement nasal (rhinite) et des rougeurs dans les yeux (conjonctivite). L'éruption cutanée débute habituellement sur le visage et se propage au reste du corps. La durée des symptômes est d'environ 3 jours. La rubéole est contagieuse une semaine avant et jusqu'à au moins 4 jours après l'apparition de l'éruption cutanée. Environ la moitié des gens qui attrapent la rubéole n'ont aucun symptôme. 

Les complications ne sont pas fréquentes et surviennent le plus souvent chez les adultes. Des douleurs articulaires surviennent dans plusieurs cas, en particulier chez les jeunes femmes. Dans de rares cas, la rubéole peut entraîner de graves problèmes, notamment une encéphalite (gonflement du cerveau). La rubéole est particulièrement dangereuse pour l'enfant à naître d'une femme enceinte. L'infection durant la grossesse peut causer une fausse couche, des anomalies congénitales comme la surdité, la cécité, la déficience intellectuelle et des cardiopathies.

Quel degré de protection le vaccin ROR assure-t-il contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole?

On estime que l'efficacité d'une dose unique du vaccin antirougeoleux administrée entre l'âge de 12 à 15 mois, varie de 85 % à 95 %. Avec l'administration d'une deuxième dose, l'efficacité est d'environ 97 %. On estime que l'efficacité de la vaccination contre les oreillons après l'administration d'une dose varie de 62 % à 91 %, et de 76 % à 95 % après l'administration de deux doses.  Au moins 95 % des personnes deviennent immunisées contre la rubéole après l'administration d'une dose unique.  Après la vaccination, la protection contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole est permanente et aucune autre dose n'est nécessaire.

Le vaccin ROR est-il sûr?

Le vaccin ROR est très sûr et efficace. La plupart des personnes n'ont aucune réaction. L'administration du vaccin ROR peut causer une impression de malaise et de la fièvre, possiblement avec une éruption cutanée, chez environ 5 % des enfants, de 6 à 23 jours après la vaccination. Les réactions allergiques au vaccin ROR sont très rares.

Le vaccin est sûr pour les membres du ménage des personnes dont le système immunitaire présente des problèmes, ainsi que pour les membres du ménage des femmes enceintes. Les femmes qui allaitent peuvent recevoir le vaccin ROR.

Il n'y a aucune preuve démontrant que le vaccin ROR cause l'autisme.

Discutez avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou votre bureau de santé des avantages et des risques liés au vaccin, ainsi que des risques de ne pas être vacciné.

Qui ne devrait pas recevoir le vaccin ROR?

En général, certains groupes ne doivent pas recevoir le vaccin, notamment les suivants :

  • les femmes enceintes (les femmes en âge de procréer devraient être informées d'éviter toute grossesse pendant au moins un mois après l'administration du vaccin ROR);
  • les personnes ayant des antécédents d'anaphylaxie après une précédente administration du produit (ou des composantes du vaccin);
  • les personnes présentant des troubles médicaux pouvant constituer des contre-indications (par exemple les personnes ayant des antécédents de convulsions, certains médicaments immunosuppresseurs, l'immunodéficience congénitale ou héréditaire).

Les personnes dont le système immunitaire présente des problèmes devraient discuter avec leur fournisseur de soins de santé afin de décider du moment où le vaccin ROR devrait leur être administré. Le vaccin est sûr pour les membres du ménage des personnes dont le système immunitaire présente des problèmes.

À qui dois-je m'adresser si j'ai d'autres questions?

Adressez-vous à votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou appelez votre bureau de santé publique.

Votre dossier de protection

Après que vous ou votre enfant ayez été vaccinés, assurez-vous que le médecin mette à jour la fiche d'immunisation personnelle (carte jaune). Vous devrez la conserver afin d'être au fait des vaccins que vous avez reçus.

avril 2015

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.