Publications

This fact sheet provides basic information for health care providers and the public and should not be construed as legal advice. The authoritative source for OHIP eligibility is the Health Insurance Act and Reg. 552 thereunder.

Cataract and Lens Exchange Surgeries

What OHIP Covers

Cataract and intraocular lens exchange surgeries are insured under OHIP.

OHIP coverage includes the lens that the patient's physician determines is medically necessary for the individual patient at the time of the surgery.

An insured person is entitled to receive these services without charge regardless of the type of facility or setting in which the services are provided.

No amount may be charged to the patient for the medically necessary lens or eye tests, or for other necessary add-ons to the insured services, such as premises, equipment, supplies and personnel that are required to provide the service.

A physician might offer patients:

  • lenses with features that are not medically necessary, such as multi-focal lenses to correct refraction
  • tests that are not medically necessary or for which there is a comparable insured test

The physician must discuss all uninsured services with the patient and give the patient the option of receiving medically necessary tests and lenses without charge.

When a patient makes a voluntary choice to purchase a lens with features that are not medically necessary, the ministry requires that the patient receives a credit for the cost of the medically necessary lens that should appear on the invoice.

Access to insured cataract and lens exchange surgery and tests cannot be made conditional on a person's decision to pay for uninsured services such as eye tests or a lens with features that are not medically necessary.

The Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee published a report that identified lenses that do not provide a significant clinical advantage. For more information, please refer to the Ontario Health Technology Advisory Committee Recommendation "Intraocular Lenses for the Treatment of Age-Related Cataracts", October 2009, which is available on the ministry website at www.health.gov.on.ca.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Information Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Cette fiche de renseignements s'adresse aux fournisseurs de soins de santé et au grand public et ne doit pas être interprétée comme un conseil juridique. L'admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé est régie par la Loi sur l'assurance-santé et le règlement 552 pris en application de cette loi.

Interventions chirurgicales de la cataracte et d'implant intraoculaire

Ce qui est couvert par l'assurance-santé

Les interventions chirurgicales de la cataracte et d'implant intraoculaire sont couvertes par l'Assurance-santé.

Cette couverture comprend les lentilles jugées médicalement nécessaires pour un patient donné au moment de l'intervention.

Toute personne ainsi couverte a droit à ces services sans frais, indifféremment de l'établissement ou de l'endroit où tels services sont dispensés.

Aucun montant ne peut être facturé au patient pour les lentilles ou examens de la vue médicalement nécessaires, ou pour tout autre ajout aux services assurés comme, par exemple, les locaux, l'équipement, les fournitures et le personnel requis pour dispenser le service.

Un médecin peut offrir à ses patients :

  • des lentilles comportant des caractéristiques qui ne sont pas médicalement nécessaires, telles que des lentilles multifocales afin de corriger la réfraction oculaire
  • des tests qui ne sont pas médicalement nécessaires ou pour lesquels il n'existe pas d'examen assuré comparable

Le médecin doit discuter de tout service non assuré avec le patient et lui donner le choix de recevoir les tests et lentilles médicalement nécessaires sans aucuns frais.

Lorsqu'un patient choisit de son plein gré d'acheter des lentilles comportant des caractéristiques qui ne sont pas médicalement nécessaires, le ministère exige que le patient reçoive un crédit correspondant au coût des lentilles médicalement nécessaires, lequel doit être indiqué sur la facture.

L'accès aux interventions chirurgicales de la cataracte et d'implant intraoculaire ainsi qu'aux examens oculaires ne peut être tributaire de la décision du patient d'assumer le coût de services non assurés, tels que des examens de la vue ou des lentilles qui ne sont pas médicalement nécessaires.

Le Comité consultatif ontarien des technologies de la santé a publié un rapport qui précise les types de lentilles qui ne confèrent aucun avantage clinique notable. Pour plus de précisions, consultez les recommandations du Comité consultatif ontarien des technologies de la santé, dans le document intitulé Intraocular Lenses for the Treatment of Age-Related Cataracts, octobre 2009, disponible sur le site Web du ministère à l'adresse www.health.gov.on.ca.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.