Publications

OHIP Eligibility of Canadian-Born Children of OHIP-ineligible Parents

Even if you are not eligible for the Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP), but you live in Ontario, your newborn or child may be eligible if they were born in Canada and are Canadian citizens. For Ontario born children to be eligible for OHIP, the parent(s) must show that they make Ontario their primary place of residence.

If your baby is born in an Ontario hospital or at home and attended by registered midwife…

There is a special registration process in place for babies born in Ontario birthing hospitals, or at home and attended by a registered midwife. Immediately after the birth of your baby, hospital staff or a registered midwife will give you an Ontario Health Coverage Infant Registration (form 4440-82) to complete. This form requests information regarding your baby such as the baby's name, birth date and mailing address. Information is also requested regarding the parent/guardian who is completing the form. You will be asked to confirm that the child:

  • has a primary place of residence in Ontario, and
  • will be physically present in Ontario for at least 153 days in any twelve-month period to retain health insurance coverage.

The bottom of this form is detachable and should be retained by you. It is pre-printed with a health number assigned to your baby. You should keep this record and use it until you receive your baby's plastic Ontario health card. Tourists, transients and visitors are not eligible for OHIP coverage.

If your baby is born in Canada, but not in an Ontario birthing hospital or at home attended by Ontario registered midwife...

You will need to visit ServiceOntario centre to register the child for Ontario health insurance coverage. Go to ServiceOntario.ca/findservices to find the centre nearest you. Proof of your child's Canadian citizenship, your residency in Ontario and your identity will be required.

If you visit a ServiceOntario centre within 90 days of the birth of your child you need to bring all of the following documents :

  • confirmation of the baby's birth in Ontario, through either a letter from the facility or attending physician which confirms the child's name, date of birth, place of birth and parents' names, or a Certified Statement of Live Birth from a provincial office of the Registrar-General;
  • a completed Registration for Ontario Health Coverage (form 0265-82);
  • your residency document; and
  • your identity document.

If you visit your ServiceOntario centre more than 90 days after the birth of your child you need to bring all of the following documents :

For a complete listing of approved documents as required above, refer to the Ontario Health Coverage Document List (form 9998E-82). You may be asked for additional documents. Only original documents are accepted - photocopies are not acceptable.

If you have additional questions about your own eligibility for OHIP coverage, please refer to the fact sheet OHIP Eligibility. Staff at your local ServiceOntario centre can also help you determine whether or not you or your child are eligible for Ontario health insurance coverage. Go to ServiceOntario.ca/findservices to find the centre nearest you.

The above is only a summary of the OHIP eligibility provisions of Regulation 552 for your reference. You should consult the actual regulation for the specific requirements applicable to you. The provisions in Regulation 552 prevail over this summary.


November 2011

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications

Admissibilité à l'assurance-santé des enfants nés au Canada de parents inadmissibles à l'assurance santé

Même si vous êtes inadmissible au Régime d'assurance-santé de l'Ontario (Assurance-santé), mais que vous résidez en Ontario, votre nouveau-né ou votre enfant peut être admissible s'il est né au Canada et est citoyen canadien. Pour que les enfants nés en Ontario puissent être admissibles à l'Assurance-santé, les parents doivent prouver que leur résidence principale est en Ontario.

Si votre bébé est né dans un hôpital de l'Ontario ou à domicile en présence d'une sage-femme inscrite...

Un processus d'inscription spécial est prévu pour les bébés qui naissent dans les hôpitaux de naissance de l'Ontario ou à domicile en présence d'une sage-femme inscrite. Immédiatement après la naissance de votre bébé, le personnel de l'hôpital ou une sage-femme inscrite vous donnera à remplir le formulaire Inscription des nouveau-nés à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario (formulaire 4440-82). Ce formulaire demande des renseignements au sujet de votre bébé, notamment son nom, sa date de naissance et son adresse postale.

Des renseignements sur le parent/le tuteur qui remplit le formulaire sont également exigés. Vous devez confirmer que :

  • le domicile principal permanent de l'enfant se trouve en Ontario;
  • l'enfant sera physiquement présent en Ontario pendant au moins 153 jours au cours de toute période de 12 mois afin de demeurer admissible à l'Assurance-santé.

La partie inférieure du formulaire est détachable afin que vous puissiez la conserver. Un numéro de carte Santé y est imprimé pour votre bébé. Vous devez garder cette partie et l'utiliser jusqu'à ce que vous receviez la carte Santé plastifiée de l'Ontario de votre bébé. Les touristes, les personnes de passage ou les visiteurs ne sont pas admissibles à l'Assurance-santé.

Si votre bébé est né au Canada, mais pas dans un hôpital de naissance de l'Ontario ni à domicile en présence d'une sage-femme inscrite en Ontario...

Vous devez vous rendre à un centre ServiceOntario pour inscrire votre enfant à l'Assurance-santé. Visitez ServiceOntario.ca/trouverdesservices pour trouver le centre le plus près de chez vous. Il est nécessaire de prouver la citoyenneté canadienne de votre enfant, la résidence en Ontario et votre identité.

Si vous vous rendez à un centre ServiceOntario dans les 90 jours qui suivent la naissance de votre enfant, vous devez apporter tous les documents suivants :

  • la confirmation de la naissance de l'enfant en Ontario, soit au moyen d'une lettre de l'hôpital ou du médecin traitant qui confirme le nom de l'enfant, la date de naissance, le lieu de naissance et les noms des parents ou un acte de naissance vivante d'un bureau provincial du registraire général de l'état civil;
  • un formulaire d'inscription à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario rempli (formulaire 0265-82);
  • une preuve de résidence;
  • une pièce d'identité.

Si vous vous rendez à un centre ServiceOntario plus de 90 jours après la naissance de votre enfant, vous devrez apporter tous les documents suivants :

  • le certificat de citoyenneté canadienne de votre enfant;
  • un formulaire d'inscription à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario rempli (formulaire 0265-82);
  • une preuve de résidence;
  • une pièce d'identité.

Pour connaître la liste complète des documents qui sont acceptés, consultez la Liste de documents pour l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario (formulaire 9998E-82). Il est possible que l'on vous demande de présenter des documents supplémentaires. Seuls des documents originaux sont acceptés; les photocopies sont refusées.

Pour toute question supplémentaire au sujet de votre admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé, consultez la fiche d'information Admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario. Le personnel du centre ServiceOntario de votre région peut vous aider à déterminer votre admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario ou celle de votre enfant. Visitez ServiceOntario.ca/trouverdesservices pour trouver le centre le plus près de chez vous.

Les renseignements fournis ci-dessus le sont à titre d'information seulement et ne constituent qu'un sommaire des dispositions du Règlement 552 relatives à l'admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario. Vous devriez consulter les règlements en vigueur concernant les exigences particulières qui s'appliquent à votre situation. Les dispositions du Règlement 552 ont préséance sur ce sommaire.


Novembre 2011

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.