Publications

OHIP Coverage for Eye Care Services

Eye Care Services Not Covered

Routine eye examinations provided by either an optometrist or physician, for patients aged 20 to 64, are not covered by OHIP. These individuals are responsible for payment for these examinations or have the cost covered by private insurance.

However, under the Ministry of Community and Social Services (MCSS), persons receiving assistance through the Ontario Disability Support Program, Ontario Works, or the Family Benefits Program will receive coverage for routine eye examinations once every two years. If you have any questions about the coverage provided under these programs, please call Client Services at MCSS at 1 888 789-4199 (toll free) or 416 325-5666 (Toronto) or 1 800 387-5559 (TTY).

Eye Care Services Covered

  • People 65 years and older and those younger than 20, are covered by OHIP for a routine eye examination provided by either an optometrist or physician once every 12 months plus any follow-up assessments that may be required.
  • Specified ophthalmology services for patients of any age with specified medical conditions or diseases affecting the eyes are insured.
  • Insured persons aged 20 to 64 years with specified medical conditions affecting the eye can receive an OHIP insured regular eye examination once every 12 months.
    • Insured persons aged 20 to 64 with any of the following conditions can go directly to their optometrist or physician to receive an OHIP insured eye examination: diabetes mellitus, glaucoma, cataract, retinal disease, amblyopia, visual field defects, corneal disease, strabismus, recurrent uveitis or optic pathway disease.
    • Insured persons aged 20 to 64 who have certain medical conditions not listed above may also be covered for regular eye examinations. They should discuss this with their primary health care provider.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are insured persons between 20 and 64 exempt from paying for eye examinations if they have certain specific medical conditions?

Patients aged 20 to 64 years who have any of the following medical conditions can go to their optometrist or physician and receive an OHIP insured eye examination once every 12 months : diabetes mellitus, glaucoma, cataract, retinal disease, amblyopia, visual field defects, corneal disease, strabismus, recurrent uveitis or optic pathway disease.

I am 71 and have glaucoma. Does OHIP still cover my eye examinations?

Yes. OHIP covers one eye examination every 12 months for insured persons 65 years and older, provided by either an optometrist or physician. Any follow-up assessments that may be required are also covered.

Do persons aged 20 to 64 with other medical conditions that may affect their eyes need to get a physician referral in order to see their optometrist now?

Insured persons aged 20 to 64 who have conditions not listed above may also be covered by OHIP for a regular eye examination.

They should discuss this with their primary health care provider (e.g. family doctor or nurse practitioner). If their primary care provider determines they have a medical condition that requires regular monitoring, a requisition will be provided where appropriate for an OHIP covered eye examination. A requisition is valid for up to five years.

I am 52 and have diabetes. How often will OHIP pay for me to see my eye care physician or optometrist?

OHIP pays for you to have one regular eye examination every 12 months. OHIP also covers any related follow-up assessments you require before you have your next major eye examination.

How much will routine optometry eye examinations cost for people who are not covered by OHIP? Will the cost be regulated?

The optometrist determines patient fees. The ministry does not regulate these fees.

If you have any questions regarding eye care services that you have been charged for please contact: Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care at 613 536-3103 (collect calls are accepted) or toll-free at 1 888 662-6613.

April 2013, Reference Number 018198

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Information Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Couverture des services de soins ophtalmologiques par l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario

Les examens ophtalmologiques de routine effectués par un optométriste ou un médecin pour les patients âgés de 20 à 64 ans ne sont pas couverts par l'Assurance-santé. Ces personnes doivent payer ces examens ou faire couvrir ces coûts par une assurance privée.

Cependant, sous l'égide du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires (MSSC), les examens de routine de la vue des prestataires du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées, d'Ontario au travail ou du Programme de prestations familiales sont pris en charge tous les deux ans. Si vous avez des questions sur la couverture offerte dans le cadre de ces programmes, appelez les Services à la clientèle du MSSC au 1 888 789-4199 (sans frais) ou 416 325-5666 (Toronto) ou 1 800 387-5559 (ATS).

Services couverts

  • Un examen ophtalmologique de routine effectué par un optométriste ou un médecin tous les 12 mois, ainsi que tout examen de suivi nécessaire, est couvert par l'Assurance-santé pour les 65 ans et plus et les moins de 20 ans.
  • Les services d'ophtalmologie déterminés pour les patients de tous âges ayant des troubles médicaux ou maladies déterminés qui touchent les yeux sont assurés.
  • Les personnes assurées âgées de 20 à 64 ans ayant des troubles médicaux précisés qui touchent les yeux peuvent avoir un examen régulier de la vue assuré par l'Assurance-santé tous les 12 mois.
    • Les personnes assurées âgées de 20 à 64 ans ayant un des troubles ci-dessous peuvent aller voir directement leur optométriste ou leur médecin pour avoir un examen de la vue assuré par l'Assurance-santé : diabète, glaucome, cataracte, maladie de la rétine, amblyopie, anomalies du champ visuel, maladie de la cornée, strabisme, uvéite récurrente ou maladie des voies optiques.
    • Des examens réguliers de la vue des personnes âgées de 20 à 64 ans qui ont des troubles médicaux non indiqués ci-dessus peuvent être couverts. Ces personnes devraient en parler à leur fournisseur de soins primaires.

Questions fréquentes

Est-ce que les personnes âgées de 20 à 64 ans qui ont des troubles médicaux déterminés sont exemptées de payer les examens de la vue?

Les patients âgés de 20 à 64 ans ayant un des troubles ci-dessous peuvent aller voir directement leur optométriste ou leur médecin pour avoir un examen de la vue assuré par l'Assurance-santé : diabète, glaucome, cataracte, maladie de la rétine, amblyopie, anomalies du champ visuel, maladie de la cornée, strabisme, uvéite récurrente ou maladie des voies optiques.

J'ai 71 ans et je suis atteint de glaucome. Est-ce que l'Assurance-santé couvre mes examens de la vue?

Oui. L'Assurance-santé couvre un examen des yeux des personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus effectué par un optométriste ou un médecin tous les 12 mois ainsi que tout examen de suivi nécessaire.

Est-ce que les personnes âgées de 20 à 64 ans qui ont d'autres troubles médicaux qui peuvent toucher les yeux doivent maintenant avoir une recommandation d'un médecin afin de voir leur optométriste?

Les personnes assurées âgées de 20 à 64 ans qui ont des troubles non indiqués ci-dessus peuvent aussi être couvertes pour un examen régulier des yeux.

Elles devraient en parler à leur fournisseur de soins primaires (p. ex., médecin de famille ou infirmière praticienne). Si le fournisseur de soins primaires détermine que leur trouble médical exige une surveillance régulière, il fournira au besoin une demande d'examen ophtalmologique couvert par l'Assurance-santé. Une demande est valide cinq ans.

J'ai 52 ans et je suis diabétique. À quelle fréquence, l'Assurance-santé paiera-t-elle un examen ophtalmologique effectué par un médecin ou un optométriste?

L'Assurance-santé paie un examen régulier des yeux tous les 12 mois. Elle couvre également tout examen de suivi nécessaire avant le prochain examen ophtalmologique majeur.

Combien coûte les examens ophtalmologiques de routine pour les personnes qui ne sont pas couvertes par l'Assurance-santé? Est-ce que les coûts sont réglementés?

L'optométriste détermine les frais; le Ministère ne les réglemente pas.

Si vous avez des questions sur les frais des services de soins ophtalmologiques que vous avez payés, appelez le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée au 613 536-3103 (les appels à frais virés sont acceptés) ou au 1 888 662-6613 (sans frais).

Avril 2013, Numéro de référence : 018199

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.