Public Information

Shorter Absences from Ontario

You may be out of the province for up to 212 days in any 12-month period and still maintain your Ontario health insurance coverage provided that you continue to make Ontario your primary place of residence.

To be eligible for ongoing OHIP coverage you must be an eligible resident of Ontario. This means that you must:

  • be a Canadian citizen, permanent resident or hold an OHIP-eligible immigration document; and
  • be physically present in Ontario for 153 days in any 12-month period; and
  • be physically present in Ontario for at least 153 days of the first 183 days immediately after establishing residency in the province; and
  • make your primary place of residence in Ontario.

You must be able to provide the ministry with documents that show you meet these requirements. For more information about eligibility, please refer to the OHIP Eligibility fact sheet, or contact your local ServiceOntario centre.

How long do I have to stay in Ontario immediately after I apply for coverage?

If you have moved to Ontario from outside Canada, or if you have moved from another Canadian province or territory and were uninsured by that province or territory's health plan, generally you must be physically present for 153 days in the first 183 days immediately following the date residency is established in Ontario (you cannot be absent for more than 30 days during the first 6 months of residency in Ontario).

If I must be away frequently because of my job or studies; am I eligible for OHIP coverage?

You may still be eligible for OHIP coverage as a mobile worker or mobile student if your job or studies require you to leave Ontario frequently and you are unable to be physically present for 153 days in any 12-month period. To maintain your OHIP coverage, you should be able to provide acceptable documents:

  • That show that your work requires frequent travel in and out of Ontario, or that your full-time academic program in Ontario requires travel outside of Ontario; and
  • To show how you make your primary place of residence in Ontario (refer to Ontario Health Insurance Coverage Document List).

New or returning residents to Ontario who qualify as a mobile worker or mobile student are exempt from having to meet the 153-day in the first 183-day physical presence requirement immediately after establishing residency in Ontario.

The above is only a summary of the OHIP eligibility provisions of Regulation 552 for your reference. You should consult the actual regulation for the specific requirements applicable to you. The provisions in Regulation 552 prevail over this summary.

February 2012

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Absences temporaires de l'Ontario

Vous pouvez vous absenter de la province pendant 212 jours au maximum durant n'importe quelle période de 12 mois et rester admissible à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario, à condition que votre principal lieu de résidence continue d'être dans la province.

Pour être admissible à l'Assurance-santé, vous devez être résident admissible de l'Ontario, ce qui signifie que vous devez :

  • être citoyen canadien, résident permanent ou faire partie d'un groupe de Néo-Canadiens au Canada détenir un document d'immigration admissibles à l'Assurance-santé; et
  • être physiquement présent en Ontario pendant 153 jours durant n'importe quelle période de 12 mois; et
  • être physiquement présent en Ontario pendant au moins 153 jours au cours de la période de 183 jours qui suit immédiatement la date à laquelle vous établissez votre résidence dans la province; et
  • établir votre principal lieu de résidence en Ontario.

Vous devez pouvoir produire au ministère des documents qui montrent que vous répondez à ces exigences. Pour plus de détails sur l'admissibilité, consultez la fiche de renseignements intitulée Admissibilité à l'assurance-santé de l'Ontario ou contactez votre bureau de l'Assurance-santé local centre ServiceOntario.

Combien de temps dois-je vivre en Ontario immédiatement après avoir soumis ma demande de couverture?

Si vous venez d'un pays étranger ou d'une autre province ou d'un territoire du Canada et que vous n'étiez pas couvert par le régime d'assurance-maladie de cette province ou de ce territoire, en règle générale, vous doit être physiquement présent en Ontario pendant 153 jours durant la période de 183 jours qui suit immédiatement la date à laquelle vous établissez votre résidence dans la province (vous ne pouvez pas vous absenter pendant plus de 30 jours durant la période de six mois qui suit la date à laquelle vous établissez votre résidence en Ontario).

Je dois m'absenter fréquemment pour mon travail ou mes études, suis-je admissible à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario?

Vous pouvez avoir droit à l'Assurance-santé comme travailleur ou étudiant mobile si votre travail ou vos études vous obligent à vous absenter fréquemment de l'Ontario et que vous soyez dans l'impossibilité doit être physiquement présent dans la province pendant 153 jours durant n'importe quelle période de 12 mois. Pour continuer de bénéficier de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario, vous devez produire des documents acceptables :

Les personnes qui viennent de s'établir ou qui reviennent en Ontario et sont admissibles à titre de travailleurs ou d'étudiants mobiles ne sont pas tenus d'être physiquement présents en Ontario pendant 153 jours au cours de la période de 183 jours qui suit la date à laquelle vous établissez votre résidence dans la province.

Les renseignements ci-dessus ne sont fournis qu'à titre d'information et ne sont qu'un résumé des dispositions du Règlement 552 relatives à l'admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario. Pour connaître les exigences s'appliquant à votre cas particulier, consultez le règlement. Les dispositions du Règlement 552 ont préséance sur cette fiche de renseignements.

Février 2012

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.