Publications

Note :

You will be reimbursed at OHIP rates (or the amount billed if less). The OHIP rate may be less than the amount charged. You are advised to discuss billing fees related to the provision of insured services with the physician in advance of receiving those services.

Studying, Working or Travelling to Another Province or Territory Within Canada

When I travel to another Canadian province or territory without leaving Canada, can I use my Ontario health card if I require medical services?

Generally, to be continuously eligible for OHIP, a person must make their primary place of residence in Ontario and must be physically present in Ontario for 153 days in any given 12-month period. However, a person can travel temporarily outside of Ontario and within Canada and continue to receive OHIP coverage (with some restrictions).

Typically this coverage (while out-of-province but within Canada) is for physician and hospital services only. Therefore, when traveling outside of Ontario but within Canada, the ministry recommends that you obtain private supplementary health insurance for non-physician/non-hospital services.

For physicians’ services:

Physicians in Canada (outside Ontario) do not have to bill Ontario directly for their services. You should show your Ontario health card and ask the physician whether his or her fees will be billed directly to Ontario.

  • If the physician bills OHIP directly, you will likely not be asked to pay anything extra at the time you receive physician services.
  • If the physician does not bill OHIP directly, you will likely have to pay for the physician?s services at the time you receive them and will have to submit documents/invoices to OHIP upon your return and request reimbursement.

For public hospital services :

All provinces and territories participate in reciprocal hospital billing agreements to enable insured residents to receive insured outpatient and insured inpatient hospital services in publicly-funded (i.e., not private) hospitals. You should verify that the hospital participates in a reciprocal hospital billing agreement.

For private health facility services:

With some specific exceptions, OHIP does not cover payments to private hospitals or private health facilities outside Ontario but within Canada. This means, that generally, any services you receive in any private clinic in Canada are not insured (except for the physician component of insured services) and OHIP will not reimburse you upon your return to Ontario.

If you are an insured Ontario resident and you are an inpatient in a publicly-funded (i.e., not private) hospital in another province or territory while temporarily absent from Ontario, you are eligible for Ontario health insurance coverage for the duration of your hospitalization up to a maximum of 12 months. If you require hospitalization beyond the 12 month maximum, you should notify the province or territory where you are hospitalized to provide you with coverage from the 1st day of the 13th month of your hospitalization.

If I had to pay for health care in another part of Canada, how do I get reimbursed?

In the event that you are required to pay for insured hospital or physician services, you must submit a claim for reimbursement to your local ServiceOntario centre within 12 months of the treatment being rendered.

To make a claim to OHIP, you must submit a fully itemized bill that includes all of the following:

  • an original, detailed statement itemizing the fee for service; and
  • your name and current address in Ontario; and
  • your health number including the version code if applicable; and
  • a completed Out of Province/Country Claims Submission form (0951-84). and
  • proof of payment

Note : Before submitting original documents, please make photocopies for your records.

You should also contact your supplemental insurance provider if you have purchased additional health insurance. Some supplementary insurance providers will contact and make claims to OHIP on behalf of their clients with their permission.

What are some of the services not covered by OHIP?

There are a number of services that are not insured by OHIP when provided out-of province. Some of these are :

  • Treatment that is generally accepted, in Ontario, as experimental, for research or a study
  • Cosmetic surgery
  • Home care
  • Prescription drugs
  • Ambulance services

If you have questions as to whether a service you receive is insured when you are out-of-province, please contact your local ServiceOntario centre.

Where can I find out more about private supplementary health insurance?

You can contact a private insurance company or contact:

OmbudService for Life and Health Insurance
401 Bay Street, PO Box 7
Toronto ON M5H 2Y4

Telephone:
In Toronto 416-777-9002 - Toll Free 1-888-295-8112
In Montreal 514-282-2088 - Toll Free in Quebec 1-866-582-2088

Individuals with hearing loss can contact via the free Bell Relay Service at 1-800-855-0511.
Or visit their Website: www.olhi.ca

How long can I be temporarily in another province or territory and still maintain my OHIP?

An insured person leaving Ontario to travel or work temporarily within Canada can continue to receive OHIP coverage for up to 12 months. If you establish permanent residency in another Canadian province or territory, you should apply for health insurance in that jurisdiction.

What if I know that I am going to be in another province or territory temporarily for a longer period?

If you plan to work or travel within Canada for more than 212 days in any 12-month period, you should provide your local ServiceOntario centre with written confirmation of your extended absence including the timing and details of your extended absence as soon as you know that you will be away from Ontario.

You should also advise your local ServiceOntario centre of your new mailing address if you establish temporary residence in another province or territory.

Will OHIP cover me if I go to school in another province or territory?

If you are an insured Ontario resident who leaves Ontario to attend an educational institution full-time in another province or territory within Canada, you are eligible for Ontario health insurance coverage for the duration of your full-time studies, provided that you meet the specific physical presence requirements prior to departure and you do not establish a primary residence outside Ontario.

If you plan to study in another province or territory, you should provide your local ServiceOntario centre with a letter from the educational institution that you will be attending to confirm that you are registered as a full-time student.

Accompanying family members may also be eligible for continuous health insurance coverage if OHIP eligibility requirements are met.

If I must leave Ontario frequently because of my job or studies, am I eligible for OHIP coverage?

If your job or studies require you to leave Ontario frequently and you are unable to be present for 153 days in any 12-month period, you may still be eligible for OHIP coverage as a mobile worker or mobile student. To maintain your OHIP coverage you should be able to provide acceptable documents :

  • From your employer, that shows that your work requires frequent travel in and out of Ontario; or from your educational institution that shows your full-time academic program in Ontario requires travel outside of Ontario; and
  • To show that you make your primary place of residence in Ontario.

What if I am leaving Ontario permanently to move to another Canadian province or territory?

If you are an insured resident moving permanently to another part of Canada, you should apply for health insurance coverage in your new province or territory as soon as possible. Your Ontario health insurance coverage will remain in effect until the last day of the second full month after you establish residence in your new location. You can obtain health insurance coverage from only one province or territory at any time. Your new province or territory will notify ServiceOntario when you apply for your new health insurance coverage.

Will OHIP cover me if I am working or studying in Ontario temporarily from another Canadian province or territory?

If you have left your permanent residence in another province or territory temporarily to work in Ontario, currently, the insurance plan from the province or territory where you maintain your permanent residence will continue to cover insured physician and hospital services to a maximum of 12 months. If you plan to remain in Ontario beyond the 12-month maximum, you should visit your local ServiceOntario Centre to apply for Ontario health insurance coverage. You can reapply for health insurance coverage in your home province or territory upon returning to take up permanent residence.

Will OHIP cover me if I am studying in Ontario temporarily from another Canadian province or territory?

If you are a student from outside Ontario who is in full-time attendance at an educational institution in Ontario, you are eligible for health insurance coverage for insured physician and hospital services for the duration of your studies from your home province or territory where you maintain your permanent residence. You should contact your home province or territory?s health insurance plan to confirm your intent to study in Ontario and to ensure that you maintain continuous health insurance coverage.

If you have any questions about maintaining your health insurance coverage while working or studying in Ontario, please contact your provincial or territorial health insurance plan.

The above is only a summary of the OHIP eligibility provisions of Regulation 552 for your reference. You should consult the actual regulation for the specific requirements applicable to you. The provisions in Regulation 552 prevail over this summary.

 

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Remarque :

Les tarifs de l'Assurance-santé vous seront remboursés (ou le montant facturé s'il est moindre). Le tarif de l'Assurance-santé peut être moindre que le montant facturé. Il est préférable de discuter des tarifs relatifs à la prestation des services assurés avec le médecin avant de recevoir ces services.

Étudier, travailler ou voyager dans une autre province ou un autre territoire du Canada

Lorsque je voyage dans une autre province ou un autre territoire du Canada sans quitter le pays, puis-je utiliser ma carte Santé de l'Ontario si j'ai besoin de services médicaux?

Généralement, pour être admissible de façon continue à l'Assurance-santé, le lieu de résidence principale d'une personne doit être en Ontario et la personne doit physiquement être présente dans la province pendant 153 jours au cours de n'importe quelle période de 12 mois. Cependant, une personne peut voyager temporairement à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et à l'intérieur du Canada et continuer à être couverte par l'Assurance-santé (avec certaines restrictions).

Cette couverture (lorsqu'une personne est à l'extérieur de la province, mais dans le Canada) est généralement valide uniquement pour les services prodigués par un médecin et les services hospitaliers. Par conséquent, lorsque vous voyagez à l'extérieur de l'Ontario tout en restant au Canada, le ministère recommande que vous obteniez une assurance privée complémentaire pour les services qui ne sont pas prodigués par un médecin et pour les services non hospitaliers.

Services prodigués par un médecin :

Les médecins au Canada (à l'extérieur de l'Ontario) n'ont pas à facturer leurs services directement à l'Ontario. Vous devez présenter votre carte Santé de l'Ontario et demander au médecin si ses honoraires seront facturés directement à l'Ontario.

  • Si le médecin facture ses services directement à l'Assurance-santé, vous n'aurez probablement rien à payer lorsque vous recevrez les services du médecin.
  • Si le médecin ne facture pas ses services directement à l'Assurance-santé, vous devrez probablement payer pour les services du médecin au moment où ils vous seront prodigués et devrez présenter des documents et des factures à l'Assurance-santé à votre retour, puis demander un remboursement.

Services prodigués dans un hôpital public :

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires participent à des ententes réciproques en matière de facturation hospitalière afin de permettre aux résidents assurés de recevoir des soins aux patients externes et des soins aux patients hospitalisés assurés dans les hôpitaux financés par le public (c.-à-d. non privés). Vérifiez si l'hôpital participe à une entente réciproque en matière de facturation hospitalière.

Services prodigués dans un établissement de santé privé :

À l'exclusion de certaines exceptions spécifiques, l'Assurance-santé ne couvre pas les paiements aux hôpitaux privés ou aux établissements de santé privés qui se trouvent à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, mais au sein du Canada. Cela signifie que, généralement, tous les services reçus dans une clinique privée au Canada ne sont pas assurés (sauf pour la composante des services assurés prodigués par un médecin) et l'Assurance-santé ne vous remboursera pas à votre retour en Ontario.

Si vous êtes un résident de l'Ontario assuré et que vous êtes hospitalisé dans un hôpital financé par les deniers publics (c.-à-d. non privé) dans une autre province ou un territoire alors que vous êtes temporairement absent de l'Ontario, vous êtes admissible à la couverture de l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario pour la durée de votre hospitalisation, jusqu'à concurrence de 12 mois. Si vous devez être hospitalisé au-delà de la période maximale de 12 mois, vous devrez aviser la province ou le territoire où vous êtes hospitalisé de vous fournir une couverture d'assurance dès le 1er jour du 13e mois de votre hospitalisation.

Si je dois payer pour des soins de santé ailleurs au Canada, comment puis-je me faire rembourser?

Si vous devez payer pour des services hospitaliers ou pour les services d'un médecin qui sont assurés, vous devrez présenter une demande de remboursement au bureau de l'Assurance-santé de votre localité dans les 12 mois qui suivent le traitement que vous avez reçu.

A fin de déposer une demande de règlement à l'Assurance-santé, vous devez présenter une facture détaillée qui comprend tous les éléments qui suivent :

Remarque : Avant de présenter des documents originaux, veuillez en faire des photocopies pour vos dossiers.

Vous devez également communiquer avec votre assureur si vous avez souscrit une assurance privée complémentaire. Certains assureurs soumettent directement les demandes de remboursement à l'Assurance-santé au nom de leurs clients, avec la permission de ceux-ci.

Quels sont les services qui ne sont pas couverts par l’Assurance-santé?

Un certain nombre de services ne sont pas assurés par l'Assurance-santé lorsqu'ils sont fournis à l'extérieur de la province. Il s'agit notamment :

  • d'un traitement généralement considéré expérimental en Ontario, ou administré dans le cadre d'une recherche ou d'une étude;
  • de la chirurgie esthétique;
  • des soins à domicile;
  • des médicaments d’ordonnance;
  • des services d’ambulance.

Si vous voulez savoir si un service que vous recevez est assuré lorsque vous êtes à l'extérieur de la province, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau de ServiceOntario.

Où puis-je me renseigner concernant l’assurance privée?

Vous pouvez contacter une compagnie d'assurance privée ou communiquez avec :

Ombudsman des assurances vie et santé
401, rue bay, C.p. 7
Toronto ON M5H 2Y4

Téléphone :
Au Toronto 416-777-9002-sans frais 1-888-295-8112
À Montréal au 514-282-2088-sans frais au Québec: 1-866-582-2088

Personnes ayant une déficience auditive peuvent contacter via le Service de relais Bell gratuit au 1-800-855-0511.
Ou visitez leur site Web : www.olhi.ca

Pendant combien de temps puis-je être dans une autre province ou un territoire tout en étant admissible à l’Assurance-santé?

Une personne assurée qui s'absente de l'Ontario afin de voyager ou de travailler temporairement au Canada peut continuer à être couverte par l'Assurance-santé jusqu'à 12 mois. Si vous établissez votre résidence permanente dans une autre province ou un territoire du Canada, vous devez présenter une demande d'assurance maladie dans cette province ou ce territoire.

Que faire si je prévois rester temporairement dans une autre province ou un territoire plus longtemps?

Si vous planifiez travailler ou voyager au Canada pendant plus de 212 jours sur une période de 12 mois, vous devez faire parvenir à votre bureau de ServiceOntario la confirmation par écrit de votre absence prolongée, y compris le moment et les détails de cette absence, et ce, dès que vous avez connaissance de cette absence prolongée. Visitez https://www.services.gov.on.ca/services/searchServices.do?action=change_language pour trouver le bureau le plus près de chez vous.

Vous devez également informer votre bureau de ServiceOntario de votre nouvelle adresse postale si vous établissez votre résidence temporaire dans une autre province ou un territoire.
Serai-je couvert par l’Assurance-santé si je vais à l’école dans une autre province ou un territoire?

Si vous êtes un résident de l'Ontario assuré et que vous vous absentez de la province pour étudier à temps plein dans un établissement d'enseignement dans une autre province ou un territoire du Canada, vous êtes admissible à l'Assurance-santé pendant la durée de vos études, pourvu que vous répondiez aux exigences en matière de présence physique avant votre départ et que vous n'établissiez pas votre résidence permanente à l'extérieur de l'Ontario

Si vous planifiez étudier dans une autre province ou un territoire, vous devez fournir à votre bureau de ServiceOntario une lettre de l'établissement d'enseignement que vous fréquenterez afin de confirmer votre inscription comme étudiant à temps plein. Visitez Visitez ServiceOntario.ca/trouver des services pour trouver le bureau le plus près de chez vous.

Les membres de la famille qui accompagnent l'étudiant peuvent également demeurer admissibles à l'Assurance-santé si les critères d'admissibilité de l'Assurance-santé sont satisfaits.

Ai-je droit à la protection offerte par l’Assurance-santé si je dois m’absenter souvent pour des raisons professionnelles ou pour mes études?

Si votre travail ou vos études vous obligent à quitter souvent l'Ontario et si vous ne pouvez pas être présent pendant 153 jours au cours d'une période quelconque de 12 mois, vous pourriez quand même être admissible à l'Assurance-santé en tant que travailleur ou étudiant mobile. Afin de rester admissible à la couverture de l'Assurance-santé, vous devrez présenter ce qui suit :

  • une lettre de votre employeur, afin de démontrer que votre travail nécessite des déplacements fréquents à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, ou une lettre de l'établissement d'enseignement pour prouver que votre programme d'enseignement à temps plein en Ontario exige que vous vous déplaciez à l'extérieur de la province;
  • des documents qui prouvent que votre résidence principale est en Ontario.

Qu’arrive-t-il si je quitte l’Ontario définitivement pour m’établir dans une autre province ou un territoire du Canada?

Si vous êtes un résident assuré et que vous déménagez de façon permanente ailleurs au Canada, vous devez présenter une demande pour être couvert par le programme d'assurance maladie de votre nouvelle province ou nouveau territoire dès que possible. Vous serez couvert par l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario jusqu'au dernier jour du deuxième mois complet après que vous ayez établi votre résidence dans votre nouvelle localité. Vous pouvez être couvert par l'assurance maladie d'une seule province ou d'un seul territoire à la fois. Votre nouvelle province ou votre nouveau territoire avisera ServiceOntario lorsque vous présenterez une demande pour votre nouvelle protection d'assurance-santé.

Serai-je couvert par l’Assurance-santé si je travaille ou que j’étudie en Ontario temporairement et que je suis résident d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada?

Si vous avez quitté temporairement votre résidence permanente dans une autre province ou un territoire afin de travailler en Ontario, le régime d'assurance de votre province ou votre territoire où vous avez conservé votre résidence permanente continuera à couvrir les services prodigués par un médecin et les services hospitaliers qui sont assurés pendant une période maximale de 12 mois. Si vous planifiez demeurer en Ontario plus longtemps que la période maximale de 12 mois, visitez votre bureau de ServiceOntario afin de présenter une demande d'admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez faire une nouvelle demande d'assurance maladie dans votre propre province ou votre propre territoire en y retournant et y établissant votre résidence permanente.

Serai-je couvert par l'Assurance-santé si j'étudie temporairement en Ontario et que je suis résident d'une autre province ou d'un territoire du Canada?

Si vous êtes un étudiant de l'extérieur de l'Ontario et que vous fréquentez à temps plein un établissement d'enseignement en Ontario, vous êtes admissible à l'assurance maladie de votre province ou votre territoire de résidence pour la durée de vos études pour les services assurés prodigués par un médecin ou à l'hôpital. Communiquez avec le régime d'assurance maladie de votre province ou votre territoire de résidence afin de confirmer votre intention d'étudier en Ontario et pour vous assurer de demeurer admissible à la protection de l'assurance maladie.

Si vous avez des questions concernant le maintien de votre admissibilité à l'assurance maladie pendant que vous travaillez ou étudiez en Ontario, veuillez communiquer avec le régime d'assurance maladie de votre province ou territoire.

Le texte qui précède n'est qu'un sommaire des dispositions du règlement 552 (en anglais seulement) qui traitent de l'admissibilité à l'Assurance-santé. Vous devriez consulter le règlement afin de connaître les exigences spécifiques qui s'appliquent à votre situation. Les dispositions du règlement 552 l'emportent sur le présent sommaire.

 

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.