Publications

Sexually Transmitted Infection : Gonorrhea (gon-or-ee-ah)

This fact sheet provides basic information only. It must not take the place of medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Always talk to a healthcare professional about any health concerns you may have.

Background information for patients

Bacterial infections, including sexually transmitted infections, can be treated with antibiotics. In the past, some bacteria became resistant to different antibiotic medications that were used, and treatment guidelines were adjusted to ensure effectiveness. Antibiotic resistance happens worldwide, including in Ontario, and has been seen in relation to gonorrhea infections.  As a result, Ontario is recommending:

    • a different form of treatment (injection plus oral medication);
    • a repeat-test, under certain conditions, to make sure the infection is treated effectively.

These changes will help ensure that any gonorrhea infection is treated as effectively and quickly as possible to decrease complications such as pelvic inflammatory disease and infertility, and to prevent further transmission of the infection.

What is gonorrhea?

Gonorrhea is a sexually transmitted infection caused by bacteria. The infection can become serious if not treated early. Men may have a burning feeling when passing urine. They may also have a discharge from the penis. Women may have vaginal discharge and irritation, or pain when passing urine. Most women and some men will have no early symptoms.

How do I get it?

Gonorrhea is passed on through direct contact with the sexual fluids of an infected person. The infection can be transmitted through unprotected oral, anal or vaginal sex with an infected person, whether or not the person has symptoms.

What can it do to me?

In women, gonorrhea can cause a serious infection of the womb and tubes (pelvic inflammatory disease). It can lead to infertility and ectopic or tubal pregnancy. In men, gonorrhea can cause sterility and difficulty passing urine. Gonorrhea may also cause eye infection and arthritis. If you are pregnant, gonorrhea can also be passed onto your baby during vaginal birth. This can lead to a serious eye infection in the infant.  Early and appropriate treatment protects against these problems.

How is it diagnosed?

There are a few ways you can be tested for gonorrhea.  A swab can be taken from the cervix, urethra, rectum, throat or eye.  It is also possible to test for gonorrhea through a urine sample.  It is important that you talk to your health care provider about the appropriate testing for you.

How is it treated?

Gonorrhea is treated with antibiotics, usually an injection in combination with pills. You must follow the directions given with your medicine. Do not drink alcohol when taking antibiotics. The signs and symptoms may go away in a few days but it takes approximately seven days to get rid of the infection. Free treatment is available at your local public health unit.

What about sexual partners?

It is very important that people with whom you have had sex during the past two months be told about the possible exposure to gonorrhea infection. Men may not have signs of the disease for several days and women often have no signs, so they may have the infection and not know it. They will need to be tested and will need treatment if they have gonorrhea. Your public health nurse can contact your sexual partner(s), if you prefer. Your name will be kept confidential.

When can I have sex again?

You can become sexually active seven days after you and your current sexual partner(s) have received treatment.

Is follow-up important?

Yes, in some cases, you should be tested again to make sure your infection has been treated successfully. You should consider getting tested for gonorrhea whenever you have unprotected sex because you could have an infection and not know it. 

Remember :

  • In Ontario, recommended treatment for gonorrhea is an intramuscular injection with additional pills to take.
  • Avoid alcohol while taking antibiotics.
  • Return for a check-up with your doctor/clinic when requested.
  • People with whom you have had sex in the past two months should be advised of possible exposure to infection. They should be tested and treated.
  • Use condoms to lower the chance of infections in future.
  • The birth control pill, patch and/or vaginal ring do NOT protect you from getting gonorrhea or any sexually transmitted infection.    

If you are worried or have more questions, contact your local public health unit.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Infection transmissible sexuellement – La gonorrhée

Cette fiche d'information fournit des renseignements de base uniquement. Elle ne remplace pas un avis médical, un diagnostic ou un traitement. Parlez toujours à un professionnel de la santé de toute préoccupation que vous pouvez avoir sur votre santé.

Renseignements généraux pour les patients

Les infections bactériennes, y compris les infections transmissibles sexuellement, peuvent être traitées avec des antibiotiques. Étant donné que certaines bactéries ont développé une résistance à différents antibiotiques, les lignes directrices pour le traitement ont été adaptées afin d'assurer l'efficacité du traitement. La résistance aux antibiotiques arrive partout dans le monde, y compris en Ontario, et a été constatée dans le traitement de la gonorrhée. Par conséquent, l'Ontario recommande :

  • une forme différente de traitement (injection plus médicament oral);
  • un nouveau dépistage, dans certaines circonstances, afin de vérifier que le traitement de l'infection a été efficace.

Ces changements contribueront à traiter la gonorrhée aussi efficacement et rapidement que possible afin de réduire les complications, comme une atteinte inflammatoire pelvienne et l'infertilité, et de prévenir sa transmission.

Qu'est-ce que la gonorrhée?

La gonorrhée est une infection transmissible sexuellement causée par une bactérie. Elle peut devenir grave si elle n'est pas traitée dès le début. Les hommes peuvent ressentir une sensation de brûlure quand ils urinent, ainsi qu'un écoulement du pénis. Les femmes peuvent avoir des écoulements vaginaux et de l'irritation vaginale ou de la douleur quand elles urinent. La plupart des femmes et certains hommes n'ont aucun symptôme.

Comment s'attrape la gonorrhée?

La gonorrhée se transmet lors d'un contact direct avec les secrétions des organes génitaux d'une personne infectée. L'infection peut se propager lors de relations sexuelles orales, vaginales ou anales avec une personne infectée, même si elle n'a pas de symptômes.

Qu'est-ce qui peut m'arriver?

Chez les femmes, la gonorrhée peut provoquer une infection grave de l'utérus et des trompes (atteinte inflammatoire pelvienne), l'infertilité et une grossesse ectopique ou tubaire. Chez les hommes, elle peut entraîner l'infertilité et de la difficulté à uriner. Elle peut aussi causer une infection des yeux et de l'arthrite. Si vous êtes enceinte, l'infection peut être transmise pendant l'accouchement vaginal et entraîner une grave infection des yeux de votre bébé. Le traitement précoce et approprié protège contre ces problèmes.

Comment est-elle diagnostiquée?

Il existe plusieurs moyens de dépister la gonorrhée : prélèvement sur le col de l'utérus, dans l'urètre, l'anus, la gorge ou les yeux, ou analyse d'urine. Il est important de voir avec votre professionnel de la santé le dépistage qui vous convient.

Quel est le traitement?

La gonorrhée se traite avec des antibiotiques, habituellement en injection combinée à des comprimés. Vous devez suivre les instructions qui accompagnent votre médicament. Ne buvez pas d'alcool quand vous prenez des antibiotiques. Les signes et symptômes peuvent disparaître en quelques jours mais il faut environ sept jours pour se débarrasser de l'infection. Votre bureau de santé publique local offre le traitement gratuitement.

Et mes partenaires sexuels?

Il est très important que les personnes avec lesquelles vous avez eu des relations sexuelles au cours des deux derniers mois soient averties de l'exposition possible à la gonorrhée. Les hommes peuvent n'avoir aucun signe de la maladie pendant plusieurs jours et les femmes n'ont souvent aucun signe, ce qui fait que ces personnes peuvent être infectées mais ne pas le savoir. Elles devront faire effectuer un dépistage et auront besoin de se faire traiter si elles sont infectées. Votre infirmière de santé publique peut communiquer avec votre ou vos partenaires sexuels si vous préférez. Votre nom demeurera confidentiel.

Quand puis-je reprendre les relations sexuelles?

Vous pouvez reprendre les relations sexuelles sept jours après que vous et votre ou vos partenaires actuels aurez terminé le traitement.

Est-ce que le suivi est important?

Oui, dans certains cas, vous devriez faire effectuer un autre dépistage pour vérifier que l'infection a disparu. Vous devriez envisager un dépistage de la gonorrhée chaque fois que vous avez des relations sexuelles non protégées parce que vous pourriez avoir une infection et ne pas le savoir.

N'oubliez pas

  • En Ontario, le traitement recommandé de la gonorrhée est une injection intramusculaire combinée à la prise de comprimés.
  • Évitez l'alcool quand vous prenez des antibiotiques.
  • Retournez chez le médecin ou à la clinique pour un suivi quand on vous le demande.
  • Les personnes avec qui vous avez eu des relations sexuelles aux cours des deux derniers mois devraient être averties de l'exposition possible à l'infection. Elles devraient faire effectuer un dépistage et se faire traiter au besoin.
  • Utilisez des condoms pour réduire le risque futur d'infection.
  • La pilule contraceptive, le timbre contraceptif ou l'anneau vaginal ne protègent PAS contre la transmission de la gonorrhée ou de toute autre infection transmissible sexuellement.

Si vous avez des inquiétudes ou des questions, adressez-vous à votre bureau de santé publique local.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.