Publications

Sexually Transmitted Diseases : Genital Herpes (hur-peez)

What is it ?

Genital herpes is a viral infection. It causes ulcers (sores) in the genital area. It is related to the virus that causes cold sores (fever blisters) around the mouth. An infected person stays infected for life. He or she may have repeated attacks of genital ulcers.

How did I get it ?

Through direct contact, usually sexual, with an infected person who has blisters or sores. Very rarely, infected people without sores may transmit the virus to others. People with sores may spread the virus to other parts of their own body with their hands. So it is important to wash and dry hands thoroughly after touching herpes sores.

What can it do to me ?

Herpes can cause blister-like sores in the genital area. With the first infection there may also be fever, joint pain, flu-like signs, pain when passing urine, itching, or tingling. The sores are sometimes very painful. They generally heal in 1 to 2 weeks without scarring. However, the virus is still there and the sores can come back. When they do come back, they are usually less painful and heal faster.

How is it treated ?

There is no medical cure at the present time. Keep the area clean and dry. This helps the sores to heal faster. Soaking in a shallow tub of salty water may ease the discomfort. Wear cotton underwear. Synthetics hold in moisture and slow the healing process. You can spread the virus to other parts of your body (especially your eyes) with your hands. Wash your hands well after touching sores.

Your doctor may treat your first infection with pills. They can make the sores go away faster if taken early. They do not stop the sores from coming back. If you have serious disease, your doctor may prescribe pills to be taken as soon as you feel the sores recurring.

Could I give it to other people ?

Yes. Herpes is usually spread by contact with the sores. Even when you have no sores, there is a small chance you may pass the infection on to a sex partner. Many people tell a new partner they have had herpes because they have respect for the other person.

If you are pregnant, tell your doctor that you have herpes. The virus can spread to your baby, especially around the time of birth. Your doctor may need to take specific action during pregnancy and at the time of delivery.

When can I have sex again ?

When the sores are gone.   You should not have sex when the sores are present because you can infect your partner(s).

Remember :

Most media stories about herpes are exaggerated. Herpes is a nuisance condition in adults, but it is life-threatening to infants.

Because the virus stays in the body, herpes sores can come back. Here are some things you can do to avoid this :

  • Get enough rest and exercise;
  • Try to eat good food;
  • Take good care of your body and avoid stress;
  • Return for check-up visits as your doctor or clinic asks;
  • Tell people you have had sex with during the past 2 years. They should be examined and counselled;
  • Use condoms to lower the chance of infections in the future.

If you are worried or have more questions, call your local health unit or STD clinic.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Maladies transmises sexuellement : L'herpès génital

De quoi s'agit-il ?

L'herpès génital est une infection due a un virus très proche de celui qui cause les boutons de fièvre autour de la bouche. Elle provoque des lésions dans la région génitale. La personne infectée demeure porteuse du virus pendant toute sa vie et peut subir plusieurs récidives.

Comment peut-on contracter l'herpès ?

Par contact direct, habituellement sexuel, avec une personne infectée qui présente des lésions. Il est très rare que les personnes infectées qui n'ont pas de lésions puissent le transmettre. Il faut se laver les mains soigneusement et bien les sécher après avoir touché les lésions car on risque d'infecter d'autres parties du corps.

Quels sont les effets de l'herpès ?

L'herpès peut provoquer des lésions vésiculaires (ampoules) dans la région génitale. L'infection initiale peut s'accompagner de fièvre, de douleurs articulaires, de symptômes rappelant la grippe, d'une douleur en urinant, de démangeaisons, ou de chatouillements. Les lésions guérissent habituellement en une semaine ou deux sans laisser de cicatrices. Les récidives d'herpès sont en général moins douloureuses et guérissent plus vite.

Quel est le traitement préconisé ?

Il n'existe pas actuellement de traitement médical de l'herpès. Gardez propre et sèche la région infectée pour accélérer la cicatrisation. Les bains de siège dans l'eau salée peuvent soulager les symptômes. Portez des sous-vêtements en coton car les tissus synthétiques conservent l'humidité et ralentissent la guérison. Lavez-vous les mains soigneusement après avoir touché les lésions car vous risquez d'infecter d'autres parties du corps, en particulier les yeux.

Le médecin peut prescrire des comprimés pour traiter la première infection; s'ils sont pris assez tôt, les lésions se cicatriseront plus rapidement. Cependant, ce médicament n'empêche pas les récidives. Les personnes gravement atteintes peuvent prendre des comprimés dès qu'elles constatent le retour des lésions.

L'herpès est-il transmissible ?

Oui, habituellement par contact avec les lésions. Même en l'absence de lésions, la personne infectée peut transmettre l'infection à son partenaire sexuel, mais cela ne se produit que rarement. Beaucoup de gens préviennent tout nouveau partenaire sexuel qu'ils ont déjà souffert d'herpès. C'est une question de respect.

Les femmes enceintes infectées doivent prévenir leur médecin. Le virus peut se transmettre au bébé, surtout à la naissance. Le médecin prendra les mesures nécessaires pendant la grossesse et au moment de l'accouchement.

Quand peut-on recommencer à avoir des rapports sexuels ?

Une fois les lésions cicatrisées. En présence de lésions, il ne faut pas avoir de rapports sexuels car on risque de contaminer le ou la partenaire.

Ne pas oublier :

Les médias exagèrent souvent les conséquences de l'herpès. Il s'agit d'une infection désagréable, mais qui ne met pas la vie en danger, sauf chez les jeunes enfants.

  • Faire de l'exercise et se reposer suffisamment;
  • Essayer de suivre un régime alimentaire équilibré;
  • Prendre soin de son corps et éviter le stress;
  • Suivre des examens de contrôle à la demande du médecin ou du centre du traitement;
  • Prévenir les partenaires sexuels des deux dernières années. Ils doivent être examinés et conseillés, le cas échéant;
  • À l'avenir, utiliser un condom pour réduire les risques d'infection.

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquer avec le bureau de santé ou le centre de traitement des MTS.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.