Ontario's hospitals provide round-the-clock care to patients, including emergency and surgical as well as specialized chronic care and rehabilitation. Hospitals work with other parts of the health care system to provide coordinated care to patients.

Ontario has three different hospital types::

  1. Public hospitals
  2. Private hospitals
  3. Specialty psychiatric hospitals.

These hospitals are governed by legislation and directives such as:

  1. Public Hospitals Act (and its regulations) provides the framework within which public hospitals operate
  2. Private Hospitals Act provides the framework within which private hospitals operate
  3. Mental Health Act includes requirements pertaining to matters such as psychiatric facilities
  4. Healing Arts Radiation Protection Act

General Hospitals under the Public Hospitals Act

Private Hospitals under the Private Hospitals Act

Psychiatric Hospital under the Mental Health Act

Healing Arts Radiation Protection Act

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1–866–532–3161 (Toll–free)
In Toronto, (416) 314–5518
TTY 1–800–387–5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327–4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS