Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Research at the Ministry of Health

Applied Health Research Question Program

An Applied Health Research Question (AHRQ) is a question posed by a health system policy maker or provider in order to obtain research evidence to inform planning, policy and program development that will benefit the entire Ontario health system.

Ministry-Funded Research Organizations/Programs/Projects

Research organizations/programs/projects funded by the Ministry of Health, through the Tailored Evidence Supports Stream of the Applied Health Evidence Program (AHEP), field Applied Health Research Questions from the broader health care system. For AHRQ contacts see the funded research organizations/programs/projects.

If questions cannot be answered by the ministry-funded organizations/programs/projects listed below, the RAEB may be able to provide assistance in identifying other research providers. Please contact the Research Planning and Management Unit at ResearchUnit@Ontario.ca for further information.

Research Provider Contact List

Program Name Review Brief Description ConfirmAHRQ Contact
ICES ICES is an independent not-for-profit research institute made up of a highly accomplished community of research, data, clinical and health system experts who work in a network of seven sites across Ontario. ICES collaborates with data custodians, government, policy makers, health system stakeholders and members of the public to secure data and generate trusted evidence to improve health care. ICES is entrusted with and provides secure access to health-related data for Ontario’s population, including population-based health surveys, anonymous patient records, administrative and clinical databases, and holdings of non-health related data such as indicators of the social determinants of health. ICES supports health system priorities such as evaluation, research, and data and analytic supports for Ontario Health Teams, Ontario Health, Ontario Medical Association negotiations, mental health and addictions transformation, and Indigenous health. Lisa Ishiguro
Email: ahrq@ices.on.ca
Rapid Improvement Support and Exchange (RISE) McMaster University (in partnership with Ottawa Hospital Research Institute and Trillium Health Partners) RISE is the main partner providing Ontario Health Teams (OHTs) at all stages with rapid learning and improvement supports. This includes supporting collaboratives and coaching, convening events like stakeholder dialogues and preparing products like RISE briefs, sharing tools and resources through a dedicated RISE website, webinars and newsletters, and supporting the COVID-19 response with rapid-evidence profiles and with resources like the inventory of ‘best evidence syntheses’.

Heather Bullock

Email: bullochl@mcmaster.ca
Patient Engagement and Evaluation (Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis [CHEPA]) McMaster University The patient engagement program team will co-create a patient engagement evaluation framework, indicators, guidance documents, tools and iKT activities for stakeholders (Ontario Health, OHTs, etc.) via a working group of patient advisors (patients, caregivers, family), academics and health system partners.

Julia Abelson

Email: abelsonj@mcmaster.ca

ADVANCE (Accountability, shareD leadership and goVernANCE)

University of Toronto
The ADVANCE program team will provide collaborative leadership training and coaching at all stages of the OHT trajectory to enable teams to advance their shared decision-making.

Ross Baker

Email: ross.baker@utoronto.ca
Ontario Health Teams Central Evaluation and Supports; evaluation of Bundled Care and Health Links (Health System Performance Network [HSPN]) University of Toronto HSPN will undertake rapid cycle evaluations of implementation on site to inform OHT candidate’s real-time decisions and provide a comparative evaluation to demonstrate performance of the integrated care model across the Province. HSPN will supply learning supports, resources and guidance materials to OHTs to improve implementation. HSPN will undertake evaluation of Bundled Care for Hip and Knee Replacements and evaluation of Health Links using the Provincial Registry of Health Links enrolled patients to assess whether programs have achieved health system goals.

Natasha Kachan

Email: n.kachan@alum.utoronto.ca

Primary Health Care Supports; (INnovations Supporting PrImary Healthcare through Research [INSPIRE-PHC]) Queen’s University INSPIRE-PHC supports collaboration and vertical integration between primary health care (PHC) and health system and social care sectors, facilitates rapid early stage evaluation of PHC renewal initiatives, links PHC capacity to population health needs, and supports emerging OHTs with analysis customized to their area/populations of focus.

Eliot Frymire

Email: frymire@queensu.ca

Ontario Drug Policy Research Network (ODPRN); high cost drugs and beneficiaries, opioids

St. Michael’s Hospital
ODPRN will expand its network of knowledge users to include OHT candidates; respond to OHT specific projects under an expanded Applied Health Research Question (AHRQ) program. Two research priority areas (opioids and high cost drug beneficiaries) will support OHTs in their understanding of population health costs and their drivers.

Samantha Singh

Email: Samantha.Singh@unityhealth.to

Applied Health Research Question (AHRQ) Guidelines

The funding agreements established by the Research, Analysis and Evaluation Branch through the Applied Health Research Program (AHEP) require most research institutes, centres, programs, and projects to set aside a portion of their annual MOH research funding towards Applied Health Research Questions (AHRQs).

An AHRQ is a question posed by a health system policy maker or provider in order to obtain research evidence to inform planning, policy, and program development that will benefit the broader Ontario health care system.

The AHRQ process:

  • Facilitates the direct interaction and dialogue between policy makers, providers, development/planning staff and researchers.
  • Identifies research needs and gaps in research evidence across the health care system.
  • Informs priority setting for research projects by supporting research within these areas.
  • Disseminates research findings broadly.

Principles

  • Research Excellence – The AHRQ process and its participants strive for excellence in research.
  • Relevance – Questions must address an identified research need or gap that will directly or indirectly benefit (i.e., provide research evidence to) agents and service providers in the Ontario health care system.
  • Collaboration – Areas of research need and questions are initiated by Knowledge Users; however, the specific research scope and question are defined through collaboration by Knowledge Users and the Research Providers.
  • Accessibility and Knowledge Translation – Summaries of synthesized and new research evidence stemming from the AHRQ process are made accessible upon request to a broad audience.

Participants

  • Knowledge Users: Individuals representing Ontario organizations that are seeking research evidence to inform planning, the provision of services, policy and/or program development in health and the health care system.
  • Research Providers: Research institutes, centres, programs or projects that receive funding from the Research, Analysis and Evaluation Branch through the Applied Health Evidence Program (AHEP) under a Transfer Payment Accountability Agreement.
  • Research Planning and Management Unit in the Research, Analysis and Evaluation Branch: Oversees AHEP and functions as the coordinator and evaluator of the AHRQ process. The Research Planning and Management Unit's role is to facilitate direct contact between Knowledge Users and Research Providers. The Research Planning and Management Unit is available as support if questions or issues arise, e.g., demand exceeds the organization's available funds or capacity to respond, insufficient demand, poor alignment of question with organization's expertise, advice on prioritizing, etc.

Three Types of Research Provider Responses

  • Rapid response – Preliminary information in one week or less providing a "first blush" response, e.g., expert opinion or relevant systematic reviews, articles or reports on a given policy topic.
  • Research report or technical brief – Approximately 4-8 weeks of work to quickly synthesize the existing research evidence on a given topic. The final product could be a presentation or a report. Upon conclusion of the AHRQ, the researcher will complete the AHRQ Summary of Findings Form which will be disseminated broadly.
  • Research project – Where it has been confirmed that new knowledge must be generated, i.e., existing knowledge is not sufficient for planning or policy development requirements, new research projects will be initiated. The duration may be months or years, depending on the project. For longer-term projects it is expected that some information be provided within the funded year. Institutions should contact the Research Planning and Management Unit prior to undertaking any longer-term projects. Organizations should not initiate new multi-year projects if they have one-year funding agreements unless they can produce some interim or preliminary findings during the funded period. At the end of the project, the researcher will complete an AHRQ Summary of Findings Form which will be disseminated broadly. Interim or preliminary findings will not be disseminated.

It is understood that not every question will result in a research response.

Process and Timing

The AHRQ process will be ongoing throughout the funding year. Knowledge Users should be mindful of the fact that as the funding year progresses, Research Providers might have less capacity to take on new projects as they expend their funding related to AHRQs. Research Providers should limit their work to projects that will have some results within the period for which they have confirmed funding.

The Responsibilities of Knowledge Users

Knowledge Users will:

  • Initiate direct contact with Research Providers before submitting a Knowledge User AHRQ Request form for all three types of responses. (The Research Provider Contact List should be used to identify appropriate research providers)
  • Work with Research Providers to identify which of the three AHRQ responses is most appropriate given their information need and timeline for decision.
  • Contact Research Planning and Management Unit for assistance if questions/issues arise (e.g., Research Provider is unable to take on the AHRQ).
  • Provide the Research Provider with a brief summary of the background and purpose of the actual question being proposed (more detail provided in the Knowledge User AHRQ Request Form).
  • Develop research question and obtain approvals from senior decision maker (e.g., assistant deputy minister, executive director) to ensure that research questions reflect the need for knowledge in the Ontario health care system. Questions based on personal interest or other non-system purposes are not suitable for the AHRQ process.
  • Participate in the Research Provider-led meeting/call before the final product is delivered for type 2 and type 3 responses.
  • Potentially participate in a short telephone survey about the AHRQ process.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1–866–532–3161 (Toll–free)
In Toronto, (416) 314–5518
TTY 1–800–387–5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327–4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm

 
  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

La recherche au ministère de la Santé

Programme de questions de recherche appliquée en santé

Une Question de recherche appliquée en santé (QRAS) est une question posée par un décideur ou un fournisseur dans le système de santé afin d’obtenir des données probantes issues de la recherche pour éclairer la planification, les politiques et l’élaboration de programmes qui seront utiles à l’ensemble du système de santé de l’Ontario.

Organismes/programmes/projets de recherche financés par le Ministère

Des organismes/programmes/projets de recherche financés par le ministère de la Santé, dans le cadre du volet Mesures de soutien personnalisées et fondées sur des données probantes du Programme de recherche appliquée fondée sur des données probantes sur la santé (PRADPS), soumettent des questions de recherche appliquée en santé provenant du système de soins de santé dans son ensemble. Pour les coordonnées des personnes-ressources à l’égard des QRAS, veuillez consulter les organismes/programmes/projets financés.

Si les organismes/programmes/projets financés par le Ministère qui sont mentionnés ci-dessous ne peuvent pas répondre à vos questions, la Direction de la recherche, de l’analyse et de l’évaluation pourrait peut-être vous aider à trouver d’autres fournisseurs de recherche qui seraient en mesure d’y répondre. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’Unité de la planification et de la gestion pour la recherche, à l’adresse suivante : ResearchUnit@Ontario.ca.

Liste des personnes-ressources des fournisseurs de recherche

Nom du programme Brève description Personne-ressource à l’égard des QRAS
ICES L’ICES est un institut de recherche indépendant à but non lucratif composé d’un groupe de spécialistes de haut niveau en matière de recherche, de données, d’expériences cliniques et de systèmes de soins de santé, qui travaillent au sein d’un réseau de sept sites en Ontario. L’ICES collabore avec des consignataires de données, des instances gouvernementales, des décideurs politiques, des intervenants du système de santé et des membres du public pour obtenir des données et générer des connaissances fiables susceptibles d’améliorer les soins de santé. L’ICES fournit l’accès sécurisé aux données sur la santé qui lui sont confiées au sujet de la population de l’Ontario, y compris des enquêtes démographiques sur la santé, des dossiers anonymes de patients, des bases de données cliniques et administratives, ainsi que des données non liées à la santé, comme des indicateurs des déterminants sociaux de la santé. L’ICES appuie les priorités du système de santé, notamment l’évaluation, la recherche, ainsi que les soutiens à l’information et aux analyses pour les Équipes Santé Ontario, Santé Ontario, les négociations de l’Ontario Medical Association, la transformation des services en matière de santé mentale et de toxicomanie et la santé des Autochtones.

Lisa Ishiguro

Courriel :
ahrq@ices.on.ca
Réseau Rapid Improvement Support and Exchange (RISE) de la McMaster University (en partnenariat avec l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa et Partenaires de santé Trillium) Le réseau RISE est le principal partenaire offrant aux Équipes Santé Ontario (ESO), à toutes les étapes de leur trajectoire, des outils favorisant l’apprentissage et l’amélioration rapides. Ce soutien comprend l’appui à différentes formes de collaboration et d’encadrement, l‘organisation d’événements comme les dialogues entre les intervenants et la préparation de produits tels des documents d’information de RISE, le partage d’outils et de ressources par l’intermédiaire d’un site Web consacré à RISE, de webinaires et de bulletins d’information, ainsi que l’appui à la réponse à la COVID-19 au moyen de profils rapides de données probantes et de ressources comme le répertoire des synthèses des « meilleures données  probantes ».

Heather Bullock

Courriel :
bullochl@mcmaster.ca
Programme d’engagement des patients et évaluation connexe (Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis [CHEPA]) McMaster University L’équipe du programme d’engagement des patients participera à la création d’un cadre d’évaluation de l’engagement des patients comprenant des indicateurs, des documents d’orientation, des outils et des activités d’application des connaissances intégrée pour les intervenants (Santé Ontario, ÉSO, etc.), par l’entremise d’un groupe de travail composé de conseillers auprès des patients (patients, soignants, membres de la famille), d’universitaires et de partenaires du système de santé.

Julia Abelson

Courriel : abelsonj@mcmaster.ca

Programme ADVANCE (responsabilité, partage du leadership et gouvernance)

Université de Toronto
L’équipe chargée du programme ADVANCE offrira de la formation et de l’encadrement axés sur la collaboration à toutes les étapes de la trajectoire des ÉSO afin de permettre aux équipes d’améliorer leurs pratiques de partage de prise des décisions.

Ross Baker

Courriel : ross.baker@utoronto.ca
Centralisation de l’évaluation et du soutien des Équipes Santé Ontario, évaluation des soins regroupés et des maillons santé (Health System Performance Network [HSPN]) (Réseau d’amélioration de la performance des systèmes de santé) Université de Toronto Le HSPN mènera des évaluations cycliques rapides de la mise en œuvre à différents emplacements afin d’éclairer les décisions en temps réel des candidats au titre d’ÉSO et de fournir une évaluation comparative pour démontrer le rendement du modèle des soins intégrés dans l’ensemble de la province. Le HSPN fournira des outils d’apprentissage, des ressources et des guides d’orientation aux ÉSO afin de leur permettre d’améliorer leur mise en œuvre. Il fera également une évaluation des soins regroupés pour les remplacements du genou et de la hanche ainsi qu’une évaluation des maillons santé à l’aide du registre provincial des patients inscrits aux maillons santé afin de savoir si les programmes ont atteint les objectifs du système de santé.

Natasha Kachan

Courriel : n.kachan@alum.utoronto.ca
Soutien aux soins de santé primaires ; (innovations soutenant les soins de santé primaires par la recherche [INSPIRE-PHC]) Queen’s University Le programme INSPIRE-PHC soutient la collaboration et l’intégration verticale entre les intervenants des soins de santé primaires (SSP) et ceux du système de santé et des services sociaux, facilite l’évaluation rapide des initiatives de renouvellement en matière de SSP, relie la capacité des SSP aux besoins de la population en matière de santé et soutient les nouvelles ÉSO au moyen d’analyses adaptées aux secteurs et aux populations qu’elles desservent.

Eliot Frymire

Courriel :
frymire@queensu.ca

Réseau « Ontario Drug Policy Research Network» (ODPRN); médicaments onéreux et bénéficiaires, opioïdes

Hôpital St. Michael
L’ODPRN étendra son réseau d’utilisateurs pour couvrir les candidats au titre d’ÉSO; répondra aux projets spécifiques des ÉSO dans le cadre d’un programme élargi de questions de recherche appliquée en santé (QRAS). Les recherches menées sur deux sujets prioritaires (bénéficiaires qui consomment des opioïdes et des médicaments onéreux) aideront les ÉSO à comprendre les coûts de la santé et leurs facteurs.

Courriel de Samantha

Singh : Samantha.Singh@unityhealth.to

Lignes directrices relatives aux questions de recherche appliquée en santé (QRAS)

Les ententes de financement établies par la Direction de la recherche, de l’analyse et de l’évaluation dans le cadre du Programme de recherche appliquée fondée sur des données probantes sur la santé (PRADPS) exigent que la plupart des instituts, des centres, des programmes et des projets consacrent une partie de leurs fonds annuels de recherche versés par le ministère de la Santé à des questions de recherche appliquée en santé (QRAS).

Une QRAS est une question posée par un décideur ou un fournisseur dans le système de santé afin d’obtenir des données probantes issues de la recherche pour éclairer la planification, les politiques et l’élaboration de programmes qui seront utiles à l’ensemble du système de santé de l’Ontario.

Le processus des QRAS :

  • Facilite l’interaction directe et le dialogue entre les décideurs, les fournisseurs, le personnel chargé du développement et de la planification et les chercheurs;
  • Permet de déterminer les besoins en matière de recherche et les lacunes que comportent les données probantes issues des recherches dans l’ensemble du système de santé;
  • Éclaire l’établissement des priorités des projets de recherche en appuyant les recherches dans ces domaines;
  • Assure une large diffusion des résultats des recherches.

Principes

  • Excellence en recherche – Le processus des QRAS et les personnes qui y participent visent l’excellence en recherche.
  • Pertinence – Les questions doivent se rapporter à une lacune reconnue ou à un besoin relevé en matière de recherche de manière à profiter directement ou indirectement (c.-à-d. à fournir des données probantes de recherche) aux représentants et aux fournisseurs de services du système de santé de l’Ontario.
  • Collaboration – Les domaines dans lesquels il existe des besoins en matière de recherche et les questions sont déterminés par les utilisateurs des connaissances; toutefois, la portée et la question particulière de la recherche sont déterminées entre les utilisateurs des connaissances et les fournisseurs de recherche sur une base de collaboration.
  • Accessibilité et transfert des connaissances – Les sommaires des synthèses et des nouvelles données probantes de recherche découlant du processus de QRAS sont mis à la disposition d’un vaste auditoire.

Participants

  • Utilisateurs des connaissances : les personnes représentant des organismes ontariens qui sont à la recherche de données probantes afin d’éclairer la planification, la prestation de services et l’élaboration de politiques ou de programmes dans le domaine de la santé et du système de santé.
  • Fournisseurs de recherche : Les instituts, les centres, les programmes et les projets de recherche qui reçoivent des fonds de la Direction de la recherche, de l’analyse et de l’évaluation, dans le cadre du Programme de recherche appliquée fondée sur des données probantes sur la santé (PRADPS), aux termes d’une entente de responsabilisation en matière de paiements de transfert.
  • Unité de la planification et de la gestion pour la recherche de la Direction de la recherche, de l’analyse et de l’évaluation : supervise le PRADPS et agit en qualité de coordonnateur et d’évaluateur du processus des QRAS. Le rôle de l’Unité de la planification et de la gestion pour la recherche consiste à faciliter les contacts directs entre les utilisateurs des connaissances et les fournisseurs de recherche. L’Unité peut apporter son aide si des questions ou des problèmes sont soulevés, p. ex. la demande dépasse les fonds disponibles ou la capacité de l’organisme à y répondre, la demande est insuffisante, la question ne correspond pas à l’expertise de l’organisation ou aux conseils sur l’établissement des priorités, etc.

Trois types de réponses par les fournisseurs de recherche

  • Réponse rapide – Des renseignements préliminaires sont fournis en une semaine ou moins à l’aide d’une réponse « à première vue », p. ex. opinion d’expert ou examens systématiques, articles ou rapports pertinents sur un sujet donné en matière de politique.
  • Rapport de recherche ou document d’information technique – De quatre à huit semaines de travail pour faire une synthèse rapide des données probantes existantes sur un sujet donné. Le produit final peut être un exposé ou un rapport. Au terme de la QRAS, le chercheur remplira le Résumé des conclusions de la QRAS, qui sera largement diffusé une fois rempli.
  • Projet de recherche – Lorsqu’il est confirmé que de nouvelles connaissances doivent être générées, c.-à-d. que les connaissances existantes ne permettent pas de répondre aux besoins en matière de planification ou d’élaboration des politiques, de nouveaux projets de recherche seront mis sur pied. Ceux-ci pourront durer plusieurs mois ou plusieurs années, selon le projet. Dans le cas des projets à plus long terme, on s’attend à ce que des renseignements soient fournis au cours de l’exercice pour lequel le financement a été accordé. Les établissements doivent communiquer avec l’Unité de la planification et de la gestion pour la recherche avant d’entreprendre des projets à long terme. Les organismes ne doivent pas entreprendre de projets de recherche échelonnés sur plusieurs années lorsqu’ils disposent d’une entente de financement d’une année, à moins qu’ils ne soient en mesure de produire des conclusions intérimaires ou préliminaires au cours de la période de financement.  À la fin du projet, le chercheur remplira le Résumé des conclusions de la QRAS, qui sera largement diffusé. Les conclusions intérimaires ou préliminaires ne seront pas diffusées.

Il est entendu que ce ne sont pas toutes les questions qui donneront lieu à une recherche.

Processus et calendrier

Le processus des QRAS se poursuivra tout au long de l’année de financement. Les utilisateurs des connaissances doivent se rappeler qu’au fur et à mesure que l’année de financement progresse, les fournisseurs de recherche seront peut-être moins en mesure d’entreprendre de nouveaux projets, parce qu’ils auront épuisé leurs fonds consacrés aux QRAS. Les fournisseurs de recherche devraient limiter leurs travaux aux projets qui donneront certains résultats au cours de la période pour laquelle le financement est confirmé.

Les responsabilités des utilisateurs des connaissances

Les utilisateurs des connaissances devront :

  • établir un contact direct avec les fournisseurs de recherche avant de présenter le formulaire de demande d’une QRAS par l’utilisateur des connaissances pour les trois types de réponses (il y a lieu d’utiliser la liste des coordonnées des fournisseurs de recherche afin de déterminer les fournisseurs de recherche appropriés);
  • collaborer avec les fournisseurs de recherche afin de déterminer laquelle des trois réponses possibles aux QRAS est la plus appropriée, compte tenu de l’information dont ils ont besoin et du calendrier de prise des décisions;
  • communiquer avec l’Unité de la planification et de la gestion pour la recherche afin d’obtenir de l’aide en cas de questions ou de problèmes (p. ex. le fournisseur de recherche n’est pas en mesure de s’occuper de la QRAS);
  • soumettre au fournisseur de recherche un résumé du contexte et du but de la question qui est proposée (pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter le forrmulaire de demande d’une QRAS par l’utilisateur des connaissances);
  • développer une question de recherche et veiller à ce qu’elle soit approuvée par un décideur de niveau supérieur (p. ex. sous-ministre adjoint, directeur général) afin de s’assurer que les questions de recherche reflètent le besoin de connaissances du système de santé de l’Ontario; les questions liées à un intérêt personnel ou à d’autres fins qui ne touchent pas le système ne conviennent pas au processus des QRAS;
  • participer à la réunion ou à la conférence téléphonique organisée par le fournisseur de recherche avant la livraison du produit définitif, dans le cas des réponses de type 2 ou 3;
  • participer éventuellement à un court sondage téléphonique concernant le processus des QRAS.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 
  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS