Emergency Health Services

Patient Care Models

The Ontario government is launching new 9-1-1 models of care in 33 municipalities across the province. These new models of care will ensure paramedics have more options to provide safe and appropriate treatment for patients while helping to protect hospital capacity as part of Ontario’s COVID-19 response.

Regions or Pilot Project Lead Organization Ambulance Services Model Type Eligible Patients Description
Central East Ontario
  • Kawartha Lakes Paramedic Service;
  • Region of Durham Paramedic Services;
  • Haliburton County Paramedic Service;
  • Northumberland Paramedics;
  • Peterborough County/City Paramedics
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Centre for Paramedic Education and Research
  • Brant & Brantford Paramedic Service;
  • Guelph-Wellington Paramedic Service;
  • Haldimand County Paramedic Service;
  • Norfolk County Paramedic Service;
  • Six Nations Paramedic Service;
  • Region of Waterloo Paramedic Services
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Hamilton
  • Hamilton Paramedic Service
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Health Sciences North
  • Cochrane District Social Services Administration Board;
  • Weeneebayko Area Health Authority;
  • Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board;
  • City of Greater Sudbury Emergency Services;
  • Algoma District Paramedic Services;
  • Nipissing, Temagami, and Mattawa Emergency Medical Service;
  • Parry Sound District Emergency Medical Service;
  • District of Timiskaming Emergency Medical Services;
  • Sault Ste. Marie Paramedic Services
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Regional Paramedic Program of Eastern Ontario
  • Hastings-Quinte Paramedic Services;
  • Lennox and Addington Paramedic Service;
  • Frontenac Paramedic Services;
  • Leeds Grenville Paramedic Service;
  • Renfrew County Paramedic Service;
  • Lanark County Paramedic Service;
  • Cornwall SDG Paramedic Services;
  • Ottawa Paramedic Services;
  • Prescott and Russell Paramedic Services
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
York Region
  • York Region Paramedic Service
Treat and Refer Model Palliative Care Patients Palliative care patients calling 9-1-1 will have the option to be treated on-scene for pain and symptom management, including pain or dyspnea, hallucinations or agitation, terminal congested breathing, and nausea or vomiting. Following treatment on-scene, patients have the option for paramedics to coordinate the patient’s follow-up care directly with the patient’s primary palliative care provider or with a local hospice for further treatment and wrap-around care.

Paramedics are trained to administer a range of medications to address the above symptoms:

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Haloperidol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansetron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Dufferin County
  • Dufferin County Paramedic Service
Alternate Destination Palliative Care Patients Paramedics are able to assess the patient on-scene, including establishing baseline vital signs (e.g. checking blood pressure, heart rate, etc.) and confirming patient consent before assisting in transporting palliative care patients directly to a hospice that they are registered with instead of to the hospital.
Guelph-Wellington
  • Guelph Wellington Paramedic Service
Alternate Destination Palliative Care Patients For palliative care patients, paramedics are able to assess the patient on-scene, including establishing baseline vital signs (e.g. checking blood pressure, heart rate, etc.) and confirming patient consent before assisting in transporting palliative care patients directly to a hospice that they are registered with instead of to the hospital.
Alternate Destination Mental Health and Addictions Patients For patients experiencing symptoms of mental health and addictions challenges, paramedics are also able to provide an on-scene assessment to mental health and addictions patients, including determining if the patient is medically stable and conduct an assessment for appropriateness to be directly transported to and treated at a crisis centre, or other community-based care setting with patient consent.
Middlesex-London
  • Middlesex-London Paramedic Services *
*Middlesex-London Paramedic Services began operating their pilot in 2020.
Alternate Destination Mental Health and Addictions Patients Paramedics are able to provide an on-scene assessment to mental health and addictions patients, including determining if the patient is medically stable and conduct an assessment for appropriateness to be transported to and treated at a crisis centre, or other community-based clinic. If the patient consents, paramedics will be permitted to transport patients directly to the Centre for Mental Health and Addictions in London, Ontario.

The majority of the new models for palliative care patients being piloted are based on the “Ontario Palliative Care Network’s Competency Framework for Paramedics” which is designed to equip paramedics with the skills and knowledge to respond to palliative care needs. The model is federally supported by the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer and Healthcare Excellence Canada (previously the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement).

Please contact your local municipality for further details regarding program rollout and availability in your region.  A complete listing of Ontario municipalities, including contact information, is available online at www.ontario.ca/page/list-ontario-municipalities

For More Information

Emergency Health Services
5700 Yonge Street, 6th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
Canada   M2M 4K5

Tel : 1-800-461-6431 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
In Toronto : (416) 327-7900
Fax: : 416-327-7911
Email : websitecontact.moh@ontario.ca

 

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Services de santé d'urgence

Modèles de soins aux patients

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario lance de nouveaux modèles de soins 9-1-1 dans 33 municipalités de la province. Ces nouveaux modèles de soins offriront aux ambulanciers paramédicaux plus d’options pour s’occuper des patients de façon appropriée et sécuritaire tout en contribuant à préserver la capacité des hôpitaux dans le cadre de la réponse de l’Ontario à la COVID-19.

Organisme responsable de la région ou du projet pilote Services d’ambulance Type de modèle Patients admissibles Description
Centre-Est de l’Ontario
  • Kawartha Lakes Paramedic Service;
  • Region of Durham Paramedic Services;
  • Haliburton County Paramedic Service;
  • Northumberland Paramedics;
  • Peterborough County/City Paramedics
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Centre for Paramedic Education and Research
  • Brant & Brantford Paramedic Service;
  • Guelph-Wellington Paramedic Service;
  • Haldimand County Paramedic Service;
  • Norfolk County Paramedic Service;
  • Six Nations Paramedic Service;
  • Region of Waterloo Paramedic Services
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Hamilton
  • Hamilton Paramedic Service
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Horizon Santé-Nord
  • Conseil d’administration des services sociaux du district de Cochrane;
  • Weeneebayko Area Health Authority;
  • Conseil des services du district de Manitoulin-Sudbury;
  • Services d’urgence du Grand Sudbury;
  • Conseil d’administration des services du district d’Algoma;
  • Services médicaux d’urgence de Nipissing, Temagami et Mattawa;
  • Parry Sound District Emergency Medical Service;
  • Services médicaux d’urgence du district de Timiskaming;
  • Sault Ste. Marie Paramedic Services
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Regional Paramedic Program of Eastern Ontario
  • Hastings-Quinte Paramedic Services;
  • Lennox and Addington Paramedic Service;
  • Frontenac Paramedic Services;
  • Leeds Grenville Paramedic Service;
  • Renfrew County Paramedic Service;
  • Lanark County Paramedic Service;
  • Services paramédicaux de Cornwall SDG;
  • Service paramédic d’Ottawa;
  • Service d’urgence de Prescott et Russell
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
York Region
  • York Region Paramedic Service
Modèle de traitement et d’aiguillage Patients de soins palliatifs Les patients de soins palliatifs qui composent le 9-1-1 pourront choisir d’être traités sur place pour gérer leurs douleurs et leurs symptômes, notamment la douleur, la dyspnée, les hallucinations, l’agitation, le râle agonique et les nausées ou vomissements. Après le traitement sur place, les patients peuvent demander aux ambulanciers paramédicaux de coordonner leurs soins de suivi directement avec leur propre fournisseur de soins palliatifs primaires ou de les amener à un hospice local pour recevoir un traitement et des soins complets.

Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont formés pour administrer toute une gamme de médicaments pour traiter les symptômes susmentionnés :

  • Morphine
  • Hydromorphone
  • Salbutamol
  • Halopéridol
  • Midazolam
  • Ondansétron
  • Dimenhydrinate
  • Glycopyrrolate
  • Atropine
Dufferin County
  • Dufferin County Paramedic Service
Autre destination Patients de soins palliatifs Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont en mesure d’évaluer le patient sur les lieux, y compris établir les signes vitaux de base   (p. ex. vérifier la pression artérielle, le rythme cardiaque, etc.) et obtenir confirmation du consentement des patients afin de transporter les patients de soins palliatifs directement à un hospice où ils sont inscrits plutôt que de les transporter à un hôpital.
Guelph-Wellington
  • Guelph Wellington Paramedic Service
Autre destination Patients de soins palliatifs Pour les patients de soins palliatifs, les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont en mesure d’évaluer le patient sur les lieux, y compris établir ses signes vitaux de base (p. ex. vérifier la pression artérielle, le rythme cardiaque, etc.) et obtenir confirmation du consentement des patients afin de transporter les patients de soins palliatifs directement à un hospice où ils sont inscrits plutôt que de les transporter à un hôpital.
Autre destination Patients souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendances En ce qui concerne les patients qui éprouvent des symptômes liés à des problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendances, les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont aussi en mesure de faire une évaluation sur place de l’état de ces patients, y compris déterminer si le patient est médicalement stable et procéder à une évaluation pour déterminer s’il convient de le transporter directement à un centre de crises en santé mentale aux fins de traitement ou à un autre établissement de soins communautaires avec le consentement du patient.
Middlesex-London
  • Middlesex-London Paramedic Services*
*Middlesex-London Paramedic Services a commencé son projet pilote en 2020.
Autre destination Patients souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendances Les ambulanciers paramédicaux sont en mesure de faire une évaluation sur les lieux des patients souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendances, y compris déterminer si le patient est médicalement stable et procéder à une évaluation pour déterminer s’il convient de le transporter directement à un centre de crises en santé mentale aux fins de traitement ou à un autre établissement de soins communautaires. Si le patient y consent, les ambulanciers paramédicaux peuvent le transporter directement au Centre for Mental Health and Addictions à London, en Ontario.

La plupart des projets pilotes portant sur les nouveaux modèles pour les patients de soins palliatifs sont basés sur le « Ontario Palliative Care Networks Competency Framework for Paramedics » (Cadre de compétences pour les ambulanciers paramédicaux du réseau ontarien des soins palliatifs), qui est conçu pour faire en sorte que les ambulanciers paramédicaux possèdent les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins des patients de soins palliatifs. Le modèle est soutenu par le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer et Excellence en santé Canada (anciennement la Fondation canadienne pour l’amélioration des services de santé).

Veuillez communiquer avec votre municipalité locale pour de plus amples détails concernant le déploiement et la disponibilité du programme dans votre région.  La liste complète des municipalités de l’Ontario, ainsi que leurs coordonnées, se trouve à l’adresse : www.ontario.ca/fr/page/liste-des-municipalites-de-lontario.

Pour en savoir plus

Les Services de santé d’urgence
5700 rue Yonge, 6ème étage
Toronto, Ontario
Canada   M2M 4K5

Tel : 1 800-461-6431 (sans frais)
À Toronto : 416 327-7900
Fax: : 416 327-7911
Courriel : websitecontact.moh@ontario.ca

 

Appelez la ligne Info de ServiceOntario
1 800 268-1154 (sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416 327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h

  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS