Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Ontario’s Fertility Program

Fertility Services

Ontario is contributing funding for one in vitro fertilization (IVF) cycle per eligible patient per lifetime. The new publicly funded program, effective December 21, 2015, offers patients significant savings.  Out-of-pocket costs are reduced through funding of various clinic fees and embryology services that were previously not insured under OHIP.

Ontario is committed to supporting people who are trying to start or expand a family by making IVF treatments more accessible regardless of sex, gender, sexual orientation, or family status. Women under the age of 43 will be eligible for IVF funding, if a health care provider determines this is the most appropriate family-building option for them.

Ontario has removed IVF as well as artificial insemination (AI) as insured services under OHIP, and is funding these as uninsured services through contracts with fertility clinics in the province. In order to track eligibility for the program, patients receiving funded IVF services must have a valid Ontario health card. Physicians can learn more about the new program.

Family physicians and fertility doctors may access continuing medical education on fertility awareness and a clinical approach to patients presenting for preconception counselling or infertility issues.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Professionnels de la santé

Le programme de procréation assistée de l’Ontario

Services de fertilité

L’Ontario finance un cycle de fécondation in vitro (FIV) par patient admissible durant sa vie. Le nouveau programme, qui entrera en vigueur le 21 décembre 2015, promet aux patients des économies appréciables. Le financement de divers honoraires des cliniques et services d’embryologie qui n’étaient jusqu’à présent pas couverts par l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario réduisent les coûts pour les patients.

L’Ontario s’est engagé à appuyer ses citoyens dans leurs projets de famille en rendant les traitements de FIV plus accessibles, indépendamment du sexe, du genre, de l’orientation sexuelle ou de l’état matrimonial de la personne à l’origine de la demande. Les femmes de moins de 43 ans seront admissibles au financement de la FIV une fois qu’elles auront discuté avec leur fournisseur de soins de santé afin de déterminer si la FIV est l’option la plus appropriée pour agrandir leur famille.

L’Ontario a retiré (en anglais seulement) la FIV et l’insémination artificielle de la couverture de l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario et finance plutôt ces services en concluant des ententes de financement avec des cliniques de fertilité réparties dans la province. Pour savoir s’ils sont admissibles à des services de FIV financés par la province, les patients doivent avoir une carte-santé valide de l’Ontario. Les médecins trouveront un complément d’information sur le nouveau programme (en anglais seulement).

Les médecins de famille et les médecins spécialistes en fertilité peuvent accéder au site de formation médicale continue (en anglais seulement) sur la fertilité et l’approche clinique à suivre avec les patients ayant des problèmes d’infertilité ou désirant des conseils avant la conception.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne INFO de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, 416 314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS : 416 327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h