HIV and AIDS

Ontario Advisory Committee on HIV/AIDS (OACHA)

The Ministry of Health recognized early in the HIV epidemic that to develop effective policies for a stigmatized epidemic required ongoing engagement with the community and clinical response, in order to access the knowledge gained through community mobilization, clinical services and direct lived experience, which would not be otherwise available to the government.

The Ontario Advisory Committee on HIV/AIDS (OACHA) was created in 1991 and is an advisory agency under the Government of Ontario's Agencies and Appointments Directive (2015). OACHA’s mandate is to provide strategic advice to the Minister of Health on all aspects of HIV-related education, prevention, treatment, care and support in Ontario. OACHA supports and promotes informed decision-making.

The Committee is comprised of two Co-Chairs (one of whom must be a person with HIV) and up to 21 members, appointed by the Minister of Health. At least one-third of the membership will be persons with HIV. Membership must also reflect the lived experience of the populations in Ontario in which there is higher HIV prevalence, and the experience of people working in HIV clinical care services, community-based HIV organizations and public health, HIV research and other perspectives that ensure a level of collective expertise necessary to provide comprehensive advice to the Minister.

Since 1992, OACHA has advised the Minister on a range of important issues in order to reduce stigma and discrimination and strengthen access to the cascade of prevention, care, treatment and community services in place in Ontario to support full health for people living with and vulnerable to HIV. In 2016, OACHA recommended a comprehensive strategy to the Minister in support of a vision in which new HIV infections will be rare in Ontario and people with HIV will lead long, healthy lives, free from stigma and discrimination.

For more information on OACHA, including current membership, see Ontario’s Public Appointments Secretariat.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1–866–532–3161 (Toll–free)
In Toronto, (416) 314–5518
TTY 1–800–387–5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327–4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm

 
  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Le VIH et le sida

Comité consultatif ontarien de lutte contre le VIH et le sida (CCOLVS)

Le ministère de la Santé a reconnu au début de l’épidémie de VIH que l’élaboration de politiques efficaces contre une épidémie stigmatisée nécessitait un engagement continu avec la communauté et une réponse clinique, afin d’accéder aux connaissances acquises grâce à la mobilisation communautaire, aux services cliniques et à l’expérience vécue directe, ce qui ne serait pas autrement à la disposition du gouvernement.

Le Comité consultatif ontarien de lutte contre le VIH et le sida (CCOLVS) a été créé en 1991 et est un organisme consultatif en vertu de la Directive concernant les organismes et les nominations (2015) du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Son mandat est de fournir des conseils stratégiques au ministre de la Santé sur tous les aspects de l’éducation, de la prévention, du traitement, des soins et du soutien associés au VIH en Ontario. Le CCOLVS appuie et préconise une prise de décision éclairée.

Le comité est composé de deux coprésidents (dont l’un doit être une personne atteinte du VIH) et d’un maximum de 21 membres, nommés par le ministre de la Santé. Au moins un tiers des membres doivent être des personnes touchées par le VIH. L’adhésion doit également refléter l’expérience vécue des populations en Ontario où la prévalence du VIH est plus élevée, et l’expérience des personnes travaillant dans les services de soins cliniques associés au VIH, les organismes communautaires de lutte contre le VIH et la santé publique, la recherche sur le VIH et d’autres perspectives qui assurent un niveau d’expertise collective nécessaire pour fournir des conseils exhaustifs au ministre.

Depuis 1992, le CCOLVS a conseillé le ministre sur une gamme de questions importantes afin de réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination et de renforcer l’accès à la cascade de services de prévention, de soins, de traitement et de services communautaires en place en Ontario pour soutenir la pleine santé des personnes vivant avec le VIH et vulnérables au VIH. En 2016, le CCOLVS a recommandé au ministre une stratégie globale à l’appui d’une vision selon laquelle les nouvelles infections par le VIH seront rares en Ontario et les personnes atteintes du VIH mèneront une vie longue et saine, sans stigmatisation ni discrimination.

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant le CCOLVS, y compris les membres actuels, consultez le Secrétariat des nominations publiques de l’Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus

Appelez la ligne Info de ServiceOntario
1 800 268-1154 (sans frais)
À Toronto, composez le 416 314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416 327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h

 
  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS