Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Long-Term Care Homes

Amendments to Emergency Order O. Reg. 95/20, under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act

Memo

July 17, 2020

Memorandum to: Long-Term Care Home Stakeholders

Subject: Amendments to Emergency Order O. Reg. 95/20, under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act

As you are aware, on March 17, 2020, the Government of Ontario declared a state of emergency under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act in an effort to stop the spread of COVID-19 and keep people safe. Following, a number of emergency orders were put in place to protect people, workplaces and communities across the province. Now, the province has begun to reopen its economy in stages and is considering lifting the state of emergency declaration currently in effect until July 15, 2020.

Although the long-term care homes sector continues to stabilize, the effects of the COVID-19 outbreak are still being felt by long-term care homes. To ensure resident care and safety, the Ministry of Long-Term Care is taking a gradual approach to removing the temporary measures implemented in response to COVID-19. These measures include emergency orders under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act and amendments to Ontario Regulation 79/10 under the Long-Term Care Homes Act (LTCHA).

Removing emergency orders and amendments to the regulation in phases will support long-term care homes as they continue to stabilize. As part of this gradual approach, the ministry is removing provisions in the emergency order (O.Reg. 95/20) for streamlining requirements.

The provision regarding the authority to take necessary measures is being removed to clarify that that the emergency order (O. Reg 95/20) streamlines requirements under the Long-Term Care Homes Act only in the specific areas identified in the order.

Reporting and documentation provisions and reverting to requirements under the LTCHA/Regulation are also being removed to:

Full details about these amendments can be found in the frequently-asked-questions document included with this package.  

Should you have any questions, please contact the Licensing and Policy Branch of the Long-Term Care Operations Division at LTC.Info@ontario.ca.  

Thank you for your continued support as we work together to address COVID-19. We remain committed to working with you to protect the health and safety of long-term care residents across our province.

Sincerely,

Originally signed by:

Sheila Bristo
Assistant Deputy Minister
Long-Term Operations
Ministry of Long-Term Care

c:
Mr. Richard Steele, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Long-Term Care 
Mr. Sean Court, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Transformation, Ministry of Health   
Mr. William Hatanaka, Board Chair, Ontario Health  
Mr. Dan Kaniuk, Chair, Board of Directors, Ontario Long-Term Care Home Association  
Ms. Jane Sinclair, Chair, Board of Directors, Advantage Ontario  
Ms. Michelle-Ann Hylton, Director, Capital Planning Branch      
Ms. Stacey Colameco, Director, Long-Term Care Inspections Branch 
Ms. Janet Hope, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Policy Division   

 


 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why are changes being made to the emergency orders?

The ministry is initiating a gradual approach for removing emergency orders and amendments to Regulation 79/10. The LTC homes sector is stabilizing. There is a decreasing number of homes in outbreak. LTC homes are achieving key goals for stabilizing staffing, possessing ongoing availability of personal protective equipment, and implementing infection prevention and control strategies.

Removing emergency orders and amendments to the regulation in phases will allow for LTC homes to continue stabilizing as they transition beyond the current emergency measures. As part of this gradual approach, the ministry is removing provisions in the emergency order (O.Reg. 95/20) for streamlining requirements. 

The provision regarding the "authority to take necessary measures" is being removed to clarify that that the emergency order (O.Reg 95/20) streamlines requirements under the LTCHA, only in the specific areas identified in the order.

"Reporting" and "documentation" provisions and reverting to requirements under the LTCHA/regulation are also being removed to:

How have stakeholders responded to this proposal?

The ministry consulted with the Ontario Long-Term Care Association and AdvantageOntario on these amendments. The associations were supportive of the changes and recommended any amendments continue to focus on resident safety.  The ministry used their feedback when considering these amendments and will continue to work in collaboration with sector partners.

What are the amendments to the Emergency Order (O. Reg. 95/20)?

Amendments to the emergency order for streamlining requirements (O. Reg. 95/20) to remove the following provisions from the order:

  1. Authority to take necessary measures
    1. Licensees shall and are authorized to take any reasonably necessary measure in accordance with this order to respond to, prevent and alleviate the outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19) in a long-term care home.
  2. Reporting
    1. Licensees are not required to report any complaints or other information to the Director, other than critical incident reports and mandatory reports required under the LTCHA and Ontario Regulation 79/10.
  3. Documentation
    1. Licensees are not required to document information unless it involves an incident of a significant nature or is required to ensure the proper care and safety of a resident.
    2. Licensees are not required to immediately document changes to a resident's plan of care required under the LTCHA unless they involve changes of a significant nature or unless there are changes that staff members and others need to be aware of immediately.
    3. Licensees are not required to conduct any survey.
    4. Licensees are not required to post any information in the long-term care home except essential information, such as material related to COVID-19 from the Ministry of Long-Term Care or others.
    5. Regulated documents under the LTCHA are not required to be certified by a lawyer.

Will this change affect Ontario Regulation 79/10 or any other emergency orders?

The remaining provisions in (O. Reg. 95/20) would be retained, and the other emergency orders and amendments to Regulation 79/10 would also be continued. This would allow for a gradual approach of moving LTC homes beyond the emergency measures towards appropriate legislative and regulatory requirements. LTC homes can continue to manage their workforces and maintain staffing resources to ensure resident safety.

Would these amendments pose any risk to the long-term care sector?

Overall, the situation in the LTC homes sector is stabilizing. There is a decreasing number of homes in outbreak. LTC homes are achieving the key goals for stabilizing staffing, possessing ongoing availability of personal protective equipment, and implementing available infection control and prevention strategies such as isolating sick residents.

The ministry will continue to work with Ontario Health, associations representing LTC homes and individual LTC homes to monitor to situation in LTC homes (e.g. the number of LTC homes experiencing a COVID-19 outbreak, staffing shortages, LTC homes' ability to comply with the resumed "reporting" and "documentation" requirements).

 

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1–866–532–3161 (Toll–free)
In Toronto, (416) 314–5518
TTY 1–800–387–5559.
In Toronto, TTY (416)327–4282
Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm

 
  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Ministère des Soins de longue durée

Avis requis aux termes de l'article 184 de la Loi de 2007 sur les foyers de soins de longue durée

Note de service

Le 17 juillet 2020

Note de service à l'intention des : intervenants des foyers de soins de longue durée

Objet : Modifications au décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20), en vertu de la Loi sur la protection civile et la gestion des situations d'urgence.

Comme vous le savez, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a déclaré, le 17 mars 2020, l'état d'urgence en vertu de la Loi sur la protection civile et la gestion des situations d'urgence dans le but d'enrayer la propagation de la COVID-19 et d'assurer la sécurité des gens. Par la suite, le gouvernement a mis en place un certain nombre de décrets d'urgence visant à protéger les gens, les lieux de travail et les communautés dans l'ensemble de la province. La province a maintenant commencé à rouvrir son économie par étapes et songe à lever la déclaration d'état d'urgence en vigueur jusqu'au 15 juillet 2020.

Bien que la situation dans le secteur des foyers de soins de longue durée continue de se stabiliser, les effets de la pandémie de la COVID-19 se font encore sentir dans les foyers de soins de longue durée. Afin d'assurer les soins et la sécurité des résidents, le ministère des Soins de longue durée adopte une approche graduelle afin d'éliminer les mesures temporaires mises en œuvre en réponse à la COVID-19. Ces mesures comprennent des décrets d'urgence promulgués en vertu de la Loi sur la protection civile et la gestion des situations d'urgence et les modifications apportées au Règlement de l'Ontario 79/10 en vertu de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée.

L'élimination par étapes des décrets d'urgence et des modifications permettra aux foyers SLD de continuer de se stabiliser. Dans le cadre de cette approche graduelle, le Ministère supprime des dispositions qui figurent dans le décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) afin de simplifier les exigences. 

La disposition relative au « pouvoir de prendre les mesures nécessaires » sera supprimée afin de préciser que le décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) simplifie les exigences en vertu de Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée seulement dans certains domaines indiqués dans le décret.

Les dispositions à la « déclaration » et à la « documentation » et le rétablissement des exigences en vertu de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée/règlement seront également supprimés afin de :

Vous trouverez tous les détails de ces modifications dans la Foire aux questions jointe au présent document.  

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des permis et des politiques de la Division des opérations relatives aux soins de longue durée à l'adresse LTC.Info@ontario.ca.  

Nous vous remercions de votre soutien continu dans la lutte collective que nous menons contre la pandémie de COVID-19. Nous demeurons résolus à travailler avec vous afin de protéger la santé et la sécurité des résidents des foyers de soins de longue durée dans l'ensemble de la province.

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par :

Sheila Bristo
Sous-ministre adjointe
Opérations des immobilisations dans le secteur des soins de longue durée
Ministère des soins de longue durée

C.c. :
M. Richard Steele, sous-ministre, ministre des Soins de longue durée
M. Sean Court, sous-ministre adjoint, Renouvellement du système de santé, ministère de la Santé
M. William Hatanaka, président du Conseil, Santé Ontario
M. Dan Kaniuk, président, Conseil d'administration, Ontario Long-Term Care Home Association
Mme Jane Sinclair, présidente, Conseil d'administration, Advantage Ontario
Mme Michelle-Ann Hylton, directrice, Direction de la planification des dépenses en capital
Mme Stacey Colameco, directrice, Direction de l'inspection des foyers de soins de longue durée
Mme Janet Hope, sous-ministre adjointe, Division des politiques en matière de soins de longue durée

 


 

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi apporte-t-on des modifications aux décrets d'urgence?

Le Ministère amorce une approche graduelle visant à éliminer les décrets d'urgence et les modifications au Règlement de l'Ontario 79/10. La situation dans les foyers SLD est stable. Le nombre d'éclosions dans les foyers est en baisse. Les foyers SLD atteignent leurs objectifs en ce qui a trait à la stabilisation des effectifs, à la disponibilité continue de l'équipement de protection individuelle et à la mise en œuvre des stratégies de prévention et de lutte contre l'infection.

L'élimination par étapes des décrets d'urgence et des modifications au Règlement permettra aux foyers SLD de continuer à se stabiliser alors qu'ils effectuent la transition au-delà des mesures d'urgence actuelles. Dans le cadre de cette approche graduelle, le Ministère supprime des dispositions qui figurent dans le décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) afin de simplifier les exigences.

La disposition relative au « pouvoir de prendre les mesures nécessaires » sera supprimée afin de préciser que le décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) simplifie les exigences en vertu de Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée seulement dans certains domaines indiqués dans le décret.

Les dispositions relatives à la « déclaration » et à la « documentation » et le rétablissement des exigences en vertu de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée/Règlement seront également supprimés afin de :

Comment les intervenants ont-ils répondu à cette proposition?  

Le Ministère a tenu des consultations avec l'Ontario Long-Term Care Association et Advantage Ontario concernant ces modifications. Les associations étaient favorables aux modifications et elles ont recommandé que toute modification continue soit axée sur la sécurité des résidents. Le Ministère a tenu compte de leurs commentaires lorsqu'il a examiné ces modifications et continuera à collaborer avec les partenaires du secteur.

Quelles sont les modifications apportées au décret d'urgence (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20)?

Modifications au décret d'urgence visant à simplifier les exigences (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) afin de supprimer les dispositions suivantes du décret :

  1. Pouvoir de prendre les mesures nécessaires
    1. Les titulaires de permis devront prendre toute mesure nécessaire raisonnable, et sont autorisés à le faire, conformément à ce décret, afin de prévenir et d'atténuer la pandémie de coronavirus (COVID-19), et d'y faire face, dans un foyer de soins de longue durée.
  2. Déclaration
    1. Les titulaires de permis ne sont pas tenus de déclarer toute plainte ou autre information au directeur, hormis les rapports d'incident critique et les rapports requis en vertu de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée et le Règlement de l'Ontario 79/10.
  3. Documentation
    1. Les titulaires de permis ne sont pas tenus de consigner l'information à moins qu'elle porte sur un incident de nature importante ou qu'elle soit requise pour assurer la prestation de soins appropriés ou la sécurité d'un résident.
    2. Les titulaires de permis ne sont pas tenus de consigner immédiatement les changements apportés au plan de soins d'un résident requis en vertu de la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée, à moins qu'il s'agisse de changements importants ou de changements dont les membres du personnel et autres personnes doivent être informés immédiatement.
    3. Les titulaires de permis ne sont pas tenus de réaliser un sondage.
    4. Les titulaires de permis ne sont pas tenus de publier toute information dans le foyer de soins de longue durée, à l'exception des renseignements essentiels, tels que des documents liés à la COVID-19 du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée ou autres.
    5. Il n'est pas nécessaire de faire attester par un avocat les documents régis par la Loi sur les foyers de soins de longue durée.

Ces modifications auront-elles une incidence sur le Règlement 79/10 ou tout autre décret d'urgence?

Les autres dispositions (Règl. de l'Ont. 95/20) seraient conservées, et les autres décrets d'urgence et modifications au Règlement de l'Ontario 79/10 seraient également maintenus. Cela permettrait d'adopter une approche graduelle permettant aux foyers SLD de progresser au-delà des mesures d'urgence vers les exigences législatives et réglementaires appropriées. Les foyers SLD peuvent continuer à gérer leurs effectifs et à maintenir les ressources en personnel afin d'assurer la sécurité des résidents.

Ces modifications présenteraient-elles un risque pour le secteur des foyers de soins de longue durée?

Dans l'ensemble, la situation dans le secteur des foyers SDL est stable. Le nombre d'éclosions dans les foyers est en baisse. Les foyers SLD atteignent leurs objectifs en ce qui a trait à la stabilisation des effectifs, à la disponibilité continue de l'équipement de protection individuelle et à la mise en œuvre des stratégies de prévention et de lutte contre l'infection, telles que l'isolement des résidents malades.

Le Ministère continuera à collaborer avec Santé Ontario, les associations représentant les foyers SDL et chaque foyer SDL afin de surveiller la situation dans les établissements de soins de longue durée (p. ex. le nombre de foyers SDL qui sont aux prises avec une éclosion de COVID-19, les pénuries de personnel, la capacité des foyers SDL de se conformer aux exigences de « déclaration » et de « documentation »).

 

Pour en savoir plus

Appelez la ligne Info de ServiceOntario
1 800 268-1154 (sans frais)
À Toronto, composez le 416 314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416 327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h

 
  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS