Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Joint Statement: COVID-19 and Health and Safety Measures, including Personal Protective Equipment

PDF


Protecting the health and safety of health care workers and the patients they care for is an imperative for hospitals and the Ontario Nurses’ Association (ONA). During the current COVID-19 pandemic, it is critical that the appropriate steps are taken to protect the health and safety of all health care workers, patients and the public in Ontario, utilizing the precautionary principle and preventing exposure to and transmission of COVID-19.  It is also important to ensure that appropriate health and safety measures, including administrative and engineering controls and Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) are utilized, while also preserving supplies of specialized equipment for when they are required to safely provide care.

This joint statement issued by Chief Medical Officer of Health (CMOH), Ministry of Health (MOH), Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development (MLTSD), and ONA is intended to provide clarity on the approach in Ontario’s hospital system. The parties acknowledge that they are guided by appropriate public health advice including consideration of the guidance on PPE usage from Public Health Ontario.

The parties agree to the following health and safety standards for front-line health care workers in Ontario’s hospitals dealing with suspected, presumed, or confirmed COVID-19 patients:

  1. A point-of-care risk assessment (PCRA) must be performed before every patient interaction. If a health care worker determines, based on their professional and clinical judgement that health and safety measures may be required in the delivery of care to the patient, then the worker shall have access to the appropriate health and safety control measures, including an N95 respirator. The employer will not unreasonably deny access to the appropriate PPE.

  2. At a minimum, contact and droplet precautions must be used by health care workers for all interactions with suspected, presumed or confirmed COVID-19 patients. Contact and droplet precautions includes gloves, face shields or goggles, gowns, and surgical/procedure masks.

  3. All health care workers who are within two metres of suspected, presumed or confirmed COVID-19 patients shall have access to appropriate PPE. This will include access to: surgical/procedure masks, fit tested NIOSH-approved N-95 respirators or approved equivalent or better protection, gloves, face shields with side protection (or goggles), impermeable or, at least, fluid resistant gowns.

    The employers commit to provide all health care workers with information on safe utilization of all PPE and employees shall be appropriately trained to safely don and doff all of these supplies.

  4. The PCRA should include the frequency and probability of routine or emergent Aerosol Generating Medical Procedures (AGMPs) being required. N95 respirators, or approved equivalent or better protection, must be used by all health care workers in the room where AGMPs are being performed, are frequent or probable, or with any intubated patients.

    AGMPs include but are not limited to; Intubation and related procedures (e.g. manual ventilation, open endotracheal suctioning), cardio pulmonary resuscitation, bronchoscopy, sputum induction, non-invasive ventilation (i.e. BiPAP), open respiratory/airway suctioning, high frequency oscillatory ventilation, tracheostomy care, nebulized therapy/aerosolized medication administration, high flow heated oxygen therapy devices (e.g. ARVO, optiflow) and autopsy.

  5. The Organizational Risk Assessment must be continuously refreshed ensuring that it assesses the appropriate health and safety control measures to mitigate the transmission of infections, including engineering, administrative and PPE measures. This will be communicated to the Joint Health and Safety Committee including the review of the environment when a material change occurs.

  6. The parties agree with the importance of conservation and stewardship of PPE and will assess the available supply of PPEs on an ongoing basis. The parties commit to continue to explore all available avenues to obtain and maintain a sufficient supply.

    In the event that the supply of PPEs reach a point where current supplies are anticipated to last for only 30 days (i.e. a shortage), or where utilization rates indicate that a shortage will occur, the government and employers, as appropriate will be responsible for developing contingency plans, in consultation with ONA, to ensure the safety of health care workers.

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Ministry of Health
Health System Emergency Management Branch
1075 Bay Street, Suite 810
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 2B1
Fax : 416-212-4466
TTY : 1-800-387-5559
E-mail : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Health workers and health sector employers can call the Healthcare Provider Hotline for more information
Toll free : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario provides a 24 hour call centre for hospitals to contact on-call specialists; arrange for appropriate hospital bed access and facilitate urgent triage for patients
1-800-668-4357

  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Voir plus >

Situation au ministère: Activation

Déclaration commune : la COVID-19 et les mesures de santé et de sécurité, y compris les équipements de protection individuelle

PDF


La protection de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs de la santé et des patients dont ils s'occupent est un impératif pour les hôpitaux et l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers de l'Ontario (AIIO). Pendant la pandémie actuelle de la COVID-19, il est essentiel que les mesures appropriées soient prises pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de tous les travailleurs de la santé, des patients et du public en Ontario, en appliquant le principe de précaution et en prévenant l'exposition à la COVID-19 et sa transmission. Il est également important de s'assurer que les mesures de santé et de sécurité appropriées, y compris les contrôles administratifs et techniques et l'équipement de protection individuelle (EPI), sont utilisées, tout en préservant les fournitures d'équipement spécialisé pour le moment où elles sont nécessaires pour fournir des soins en toute sécurité.

Cette déclaration commune publiée par le médecin hygiéniste en chef, le ministère de la Santé, le ministère du Travail, de la Formation et du Développement des compétences et l’AIIO vise à clarifier l'approche adoptée dans le système hospitalier de l'Ontario. Les parties reconnaissent qu'elles sont guidées par des conseils de santé publique appropriés, y compris la prise en compte des directives sur l'utilisation de l'EPI de Santé publique Ontario.

Les parties conviennent des normes de santé et de sécurité suivantes pour les travailleurs de la santé de première ligne dans les hôpitaux de l'Ontario qui traitent des cas suspects, présumés ou confirmés de la COVID-19 :

  1. Une évaluation des risques au point de service (ERPS) doit être effectuée avant chaque interaction avec un patient. Si un travailleur de la santé détermine, sur la base de son jugement professionnel et clinique, que des mesures de santé et de sécurité peuvent être nécessaires dans la prestation de soins au patient, il doit alors avoir accès aux mesures de contrôle de santé et de sécurité appropriées, y compris un respirateur N95. L'employeur ne refusera pas de manière déraisonnable l'accès à l'EPI approprié.

  2. Au minimum, les travailleurs de la santé doivent prendre des précautions contre les contacts et les gouttelettes pour toutes les interactions avec des cas suspects, présumés ou confirmés de la COVID-19. Les précautions contre les contacts et les gouttelettes comprennent les gants, les écrans faciaux ou les lunettes de protection, les blouses et les masques chirurgicaux ou de procédure.

  3. Tous les travailleurs de la santé qui se trouvent à moins de deux mètres de cas suspects, présumés ou confirmés de la COVID-19 doivent avoir accès à un EPI approprié. Cela comprendra l'accès à : des masques chirurgicaux ou de procédure, des respirateurs N-95 approuvés par le National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health ou une protection équivalente ou supérieure, des gants, des écrans faciaux avec protection latérale (ou des lunettes de protection), des blouses imperméables ou, au moins, résistantes aux fluides.

    Les employeurs s'engagent à fournir à tous les travailleurs de la santé de l'information sur l'utilisation en toute sécurité de tout l'EPI et les employés doivent être formés de manière appropriée pour enfiler et enlever en toute sécurité tout cet équipement.

  4. L’ERPS devrait inclure la fréquence et la probabilité que des interventions médicales générant des aérosols (IMGA) de routine ou émergentes soient requises. Les respirateurs N95, ou une protection équivalente ou supérieure approuvée, doivent être utilisés par tous les travailleurs de la santé dans la pièce où les IMGA sont effectuées, sont fréquentes ou probables, ou avec tout patient intubé.

    Les IMGA comprennent, sans s'y limiter, l'intubation et les procédures connexes (par exemple, la ventilation manuelle, l'aspiration endotrachéale ouverte), la réanimation cardiopulmonaire, la bronchoscopie, l'induction de l’expectoration, la ventilation non invasive (c.-à-d., BiPAP), l'aspiration des voies respiratoires/air ouvertes, la ventilation oscillatoire à haute fréquence, les soins de trachéotomie, la thérapie par nébulisation ou administration de médicaments par aérosol, les appareils d'oxygénothérapie chauffés à débit élevé (p. ex., ARVO, optiflow) et l'autopsie.

  5. L'évaluation des risques organisationnels doit être continuellement mise à jour afin de s'assurer qu'elle évalue les mesures de contrôle appropriées en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail pour atténuer la transmission des infections, y compris les mesures techniques, administratives et relatives à l'EPI. Cette évaluation sera communiquée au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, y compris l'examen de l'environnement lorsqu'un changement important se produit.

  6. Les parties conviennent de l'importance de la conservation et de la gestion de l'EPI et évalueront en permanence l'offre disponible d'EPI. Les parties s'engagent à continuer d'explorer toutes les voies possibles pour obtenir et maintenir un approvisionnement suffisant.

    Dans le cas où l'offre d'EPI atteindrait un point où les stocks actuels ne devraient plus durer que 30 jours (c.-à-d., une pénurie), ou si les taux d'utilisation indiquent qu'une pénurie se produira, le gouvernement et les employeurs, selon le cas, seront chargés d'élaborer des plans d'urgence, en consultation avec l'AIIO, afin de garantir la sécurité des travailleurs de la santé.

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Ministère de la Santé
Direction de la gestion des situations d'urgence pour le système de santé
1075, rue Bay, bureau 810
Toronto (Ontario)
Canada M5S 2B1
Téléc. : 416-212-4466
ATS : 1-800-387-5559
Courriel : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Les travailleurs et les employeurs du secteur de la santé peuvent appeler le Service de renseignements aux professionnels de la santé
Sans frais : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario est un centre d’appel qui propose des services 24 heures sur 24 aux hôpitaux qui veulent joindre un spécialiste de garde, organiser l’accès à un lit d’hôpital approprié et faciliter le triage urgent des patients.
1-800-668-4357

  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS